HUD & TGP Cursors out of sync workaround? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2019, 09:07 PM   #1
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,063
Question HUD & TGP Cursors out of sync workaround?

Hi All,

I know this has already been reported but the thread had been closed. Using the cursor in the HUD does not line up the same as the view in the TGP. Currently I have to cheat with labels and external views to find the targets using the TGP. Starting the mission with the jet hot did not work for me. So I'm asking is there a workaround for this issue until it's resolved?

Thanks!
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 10:27 PM   #2
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Some video mentioned that you should input your position coordinates when you start your INS alignment. However, I've noticed that if you do not input the coordinates during alignment, the HUD & TGP cursors are not out of sync as much. They're still are not pointing at the same position as each other but it's not as bad. So I would not recommend inputting those coordinates during INS alignment.
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 11:06 AM   #3
Kappa
Member
 
Kappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 143
Default

This was exactly what I was asking to my self... There is a workaround??

AFAIK misalignment increases with the flight time.

So if you'll make some tests keep in mind that you will get different resoults if you don't keep this in your mind.

With a 100nm navigation the misalignment is very evident, it makes impossible even the use of LGB's since the HUD gives you incorrect drop parameters that will make you drop a bomb far away from the target and it will not be able to spot the TGP laser because of the distannce or maybe the bomb has a completely wrong angle...

Unfortunally this bug makes the F-16 almost useless in A-G for now... Hope they'll fix it soon.
__________________
--


36° Stormo Virtuale - Italian Virtual Flight Community
www.36stormovirtuale.net

Last edited by Kappa; 12-02-2019 at 07:55 AM.
Kappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 11:16 AM   #4
ebabil
Veteran
 
ebabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkiye/Istanbul
Posts: 3,141
Default

yeah i noticed this too. my hud target indicator showed a runway whereas my tgp points a lake
__________________
FC3 | UH-1H | Mi-8MTV2 | A-10C | F/A-18C | Ka-50 | F-14A/B | F-16C | F-4E
Nevada | Syria
NS-430 | Carriers

Youtube
Z390 / i5 9400F / Gtx1070 / 16 GB Ram / 500 gb SSD and 1 tb HDD // CH Fighterstick - MS FFB2 - TM Warthog Throttle - CH Pro Pedals - TrackIR 4
ebabil is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 02:16 AM   #5
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,219
Default

You need to do complete INS alignment to avoid this problem. Just do stored heading aligment for quick alignment (only 90 sec) and wait til align text flashing on the HUD and RDY on DED is also flashing.
Other than that I've no idea what might cause the problem. Never had this problem anymore.

Good luck
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 04:09 AM   #6
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceandar View Post
You need to do complete INS alignment to avoid this problem. Just do stored heading aligment for quick alignment (only 90 sec) and wait til align text flashing on the HUD and RDY on DED is also flashing.
Other than that I've no idea what might cause the problem. Never had this problem anymore.

Good luck
Thanks, but obviously we're doing a complete alignment. Which is why there's already a bug report for this issue. Also, stored heading alignment is not part of the Viper module.
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 06:57 PM   #7
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,406
Default

I discovered this issue yesterday and I think I can see the problem. In real F-16 the steerpoint does get moved by moving the SPI around but it does so in layers. The SPI shift is accomplished by a layer called system deltas (delta being the common Greek letter used in engineering for change or difference). The steerpoint position is the sum of all the layers added.

What should happen is that moving the TGP around should generate some non-zero system deltas. The waypoint is the destination (original coordinates) plus the deltas. Setting the steerpoint back to the destination involves zeroing these deltas. The MFD formats should have a "CZ" action which highlights when the deltas aren't zero. After cursor zero action the waypoint would return to it's original position before cursor slewing. That system delta/CZ layer is currently missing in DCS so your slewing is practically irreversible.
Frederf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 12:10 AM   #8
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp View Post
......Also, stored heading alignment is not part of the Viper module.
Stored heading alignment is there for the Viper. If you mean in Mission Editor like in the Tomcat I honestly no idea. I have not played around with it for the Viper.
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 06:23 PM   #9
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceandar View Post
Stored heading alignment is there for the Viper. If you mean in Mission Editor like in the Tomcat I honestly no idea. I have not played around with it for the Viper.
Care to share where this is located for the Viper?
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 06:38 PM   #10
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pocari Pocky
Posts: 4,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
That system delta/CZ layer is currently missing in DCS so your slewing is practically irreversible.
This is what I run to a lot when accidentally moving my TGP away from a steer point; the newly crated location is often times far away from the initial steer point intended for my CCRP bomb-run, and I end up getting lost and unable to locate my target again. I had hoped there was a way to reset this, but I guess we'll have to wait until this is addressed in DCS.

Thanks for the detailed info as well - very useful.
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.0GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | 32GB DDR4 RAM | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Glear: HP Reverb | Jetseat 908 | Monstertech MTX Sim Rig | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II w/ MCG PRO (center mount) | VKB Gunfighter /w SCG-R Premium (side mount)
rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.