Using the CBU-97 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2019, 06:21 AM   #1
Xtacy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Default Using the CBU-97

I understand if BA is not settable yet in day 1 EA...but it seems like the set BA of 500 feet is broken.

If I drop bombs on targets at sea level, they work fine...but if the target is around 500 ft ASL or above...no damage occurs to the targets. AFAIK BA should be the setting for AGL.
Xtacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 08:04 AM   #2
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,600
Default

I dropped the CBU-97 on targets at 30ft ASL and it did not do any damage to them.
It works fine with the A-10C, so must be something wrong with the F-16 and not with the weapon itself.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:23 AM   #3
Mikkall
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 75
Default

Don't waste your time with CBU's if you aren't in an A-10. They'll get around to them one day.
Mikkall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:25 AM   #4
Sniper175
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 602
Default

For some reason setting them to nose fuze seems to work. Check and see if that helps
__________________
I7-8700 @5GHZ, 32GB 3000MHZ RAM, 1080TI, Rift S, ODYSSEY +. SSD DRIVES, WIN10
Sniper175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:59 AM   #5
pimp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,030
Default

I'm having a blast with the 97s. We can't change the BA yet, but I still get a lot kills in one pass with the 97s like I used to in the A-10. Too bad the Navy never bought them. The 105s were also my favorite when I used to fly the A-10.
__________________
i9 9900k @5.1GHz h100i |Asus ROG Strix Z390 E-Gaming | Samsung NVMe m.2 970 Pro 512GB | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3 Ultra | Reverb | HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Flight Pedals
pimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:01 AM   #6
launchedsquid
Junior Member
 
launchedsquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 72
Default

they work for me.
https://youtu.be/eC5-MNL3Rbk
launchedsquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:16 AM   #7
lobo**
Member
 
lobo**'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by launchedsquid View Post
Clearly you had a tape deck strapped to your leg and the rock'in soundtrack made it all work!
__________________
Lobo's DCS A-10C Normal Checklist & Quick Reference Handbook current version 8D available here:
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/files/172905/
lobo** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:48 AM   #8
backspace340
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
I dropped the CBU-97 on targets at 30ft ASL and it did not do any damage to them.
It works fine with the A-10C, so must be something wrong with the F-16 and not with the weapon itself.
I think it's launch speed - if you drop the bombs at too high a speed then the bomblets hit the ground before they have a chance to pop. ED should set the height to 900ft or so as the default (until we can change it ourselves), should be much more reliable then. I see the same thing at low level - if I drop them at 500kts, then the hit the ground before popping, but if I drop at 350kts they work fine.
backspace340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:56 AM   #9
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,841
Default

You want to drop them when you are flying as level as possible, if you try and drop them while diving on a target they will hit the ground before going off.
__________________
i7 9700k@ 5GHZ - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 04:38 AM   #10
backspace340
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StandingCow View Post
You want to drop them when you are flying as level as possible, if you try and drop them while diving on a target they will hit the ground before going off.
I dropped some in a CCRP drop from 20kft and they still hit the ground before going off, it's not as simple as dive vs level drop. Pretty sure the speed you / the bomb is going is what's deciding whether it pops or hits the ground.
backspace340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.