There appears to be a defect in Clear Trim (ctrl + T) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2019, 11:48 PM   #1
Reticuli
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Default There appears to be a defect in Clear Trim (ctrl + T)

There appears to be a defect in Clear Trim (ctrl + T), as it's not just clearing the manual trim state of the internal DCS virtual cyclic when the stick is actually being deflected at that moment, but appears to be either resetting the SAS values in that moment or doing something else that's causing a slight wiggle. So I have the new AutoTrimmer OFF, no manual trim set as I have already cleared it once before, and am using either GlovePIE or just applying a constant stick pressure with the GlovePIE script OFF, yet still this slight immediate alteration of the helo attitude happens specifically with ctrl + T. At first I thought something was messed up in my GlovePIE auto trimming script, but I just looked at the values while pressing crtl + T and they do not change. Something funky is going on with your Clear Trim. This happens in all three DCS Options-Special-Ka-50 trimmer modes, by the way.
__________________
X65 and X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=reticuli&CatID=miscmisc

http://library.avsim.net/register.php

X52 + Silicone Grease = JOY stick
Reticuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 05:23 PM   #2
fudabidu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Would you mind elaborating what's going on with your automatic trimmer script? If you use GlovePIE to deal with the trimming, what do you need the in-game reset for?
Also, the in-game trimmer sets parameters for the autopilot on top of re-setting the stick center, so you should really be using that if you want to fly properly.
fudabidu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 10:21 PM   #3
Reticuli
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fudabidu View Post
Would you mind elaborating what's going on with your automatic trimmer script? If you use GlovePIE to deal with the trimming, what do you need the in-game reset for?
Also, the in-game trimmer sets parameters for the autopilot on top of re-setting the stick center, so you should really be using that if you want to fly properly.
This defect has nothing to do with the GlovePIE script. I just notice that when I clear the in-DCS manual trim using crtl+T, it's still wobbling the helo regardless of GlovePIE being used or not. I was just pointing that out in case people thought it was specifically from using the autotrimming in GlovePIE or in DCS's own new not-quite-right autotrimmer. I don't clear trim often, usually only once when first jumping into the helo. I just noticed if I do it later it still makes the helo wobble a little in flight even though DCS has no manual trim set at that moment... which is weird, like the SAS or something is being reset.
__________________
X65 and X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=reticuli&CatID=miscmisc

http://library.avsim.net/register.php

X52 + Silicone Grease = JOY stick

Last edited by Reticuli; 08-24-2019 at 10:23 PM.
Reticuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 09:37 PM   #4
Alec Delorean
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 317
Default

As far as i know, trim reset is only advised to be used on the ground after landing. Avoid using it when airborne.
Alec Delorean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 11:52 PM   #5
HC_Official
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alec Delorean View Post
As far as i know, trim reset is only advised to be used on the ground after landing. Avoid using it when airborne.

I call it the crash button, once pressed it goes pretty bad after that

Last edited by HC_Official; 08-27-2019 at 07:16 AM.
HC_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 12:17 AM   #6
Ranma13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 447
Default

All trim reset does is return the virtual joystick position back to the center so that your joystick movements will start back at the center point. It's useful if your trimmed virtual joystick position is somewhere off in the corner and you need to quickly bring it back to center. It's a "control" that doesn't exist in the real aircraft and is only useful for spring-based joysticks without FFB.
Ranma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 10:04 PM   #7
Reticuli
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranma13 View Post
All trim reset does is return the virtual joystick position back to the center so that your joystick movements will start back at the center point. It's useful if your trimmed virtual joystick position is somewhere off in the corner and you need to quickly bring it back to center. It's a "control" that doesn't exist in the real aircraft and is only useful for spring-based joysticks without FFB.
It seems to be either doing more or doing just what you're saying with a lag, possibly because it's oddly momentarily sending the virtual joystick to the center position with a slight delay prior it picking back up your joystick's actual position.
__________________
X65 and X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=reticuli&CatID=miscmisc

http://library.avsim.net/register.php

X52 + Silicone Grease = JOY stick

Last edited by Reticuli; 08-29-2019 at 10:08 PM.
Reticuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 11:16 AM   #8
Ranma13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 447
Default

I tried it just now and there doesn't seem to be any issues with trim reset. On the right is my physical joystick position and on the left is the virtual position of the cyclic. When I trim away from the center point and reset the trim, the virtual position correctly jumps back to center, and all my joystick movements are once again relative to the center position:

Ranma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 05:13 PM   #9
Kang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,060
Default

Perhaps you should just try it out without several home-brewn scripts of automatisation. That sort of modification is notorious for introducing some 'lag' either by adding actual latency or by trying to buffer things that aren't supposed to be buffered.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:04 PM   #10
Reticuli
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranma13 View Post
I tried it just now and there doesn't seem to be any issues with trim reset. On the right is my physical joystick position and on the left is the virtual position of the cyclic. When I trim away from the center point and reset the trim, the virtual position correctly jumps back to center, and all my joystick movements are once again relative to the center position:

Yes, that's exactly what I see with the controls indicator, but the helo still wobbles a little. Does it not wobble for you? Try holding a physical joystick position (very still or with same pressure) when you do it while in flight.
__________________
X65 and X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=reticuli&CatID=miscmisc

http://library.avsim.net/register.php

X52 + Silicone Grease = JOY stick
Reticuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.