HP's Reverb VR Pro Headset - Page 382 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2019, 08:44 PM   #3811
Wali763
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglecash867 View Post
The water looks fantastic in the Reverb. It has depth to it, and as I was skimming the surface of it in the Viper, I noticed that I could actually see the contrails of the C-17s flying above me, reflected off the water.

(edit): Just remembered something about the water in VR in the Reverb. If you get at just the right angle to the sun's reflection on the water, it will cause you to instinctively put your hand up to shade your eyes. Can't get that on a pancake.

Ok thx for your quick answers. Im going to give it a try. Just need to wait for my dealers answer, if he still has the old or the new verrsion in stock...
__________________
Win 10, I5-9600K, RTX2070S, 32GB Ram, 512GB SSD, TrackIRpro 4, TM Warthog, VKB T-Rudder Mk IV
Wali763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 09:33 PM   #3812
Der Hirte
Member
 
Der Hirte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Posts: 238
Default

Try to buy from the original HP store and use the "HPREVERB1XX" coupon code, 639€ all in all until end of October (German HP store).
I've received a unit without a dead pixel, no cable issue, no overheating issue, no flickering. There you have the highest probability to get the fixed ones.

If you don't have a powered USB card/hub get one. I have this one:
https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07P6MPXJ7?...302_E_DDE_dt_1 Flawless.
Der Hirte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 12:00 PM   #3813
Wali763
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
Try to buy from the original HP store and use the "HPREVERB1XX" coupon code, 639€ all in all until end of October (German HP store).
I've received a unit without a dead pixel, no cable issue, no overheating issue, no flickering. There you have the highest probability to get the fixed ones.
Hi.


Tried that last week (german holiday on Oct 3rd I believe) on the german HP-webpage and it did not work, since im from Austria and only german-adress-based people can buy from them.


Austrian HP-Shop on the other hand does not sell stuff directly but only links to some sellers, that in the Reverbs- case actually do not offer it.


I contacted the shop, I usually buy from (and that offers the Reverb actually quite cheaply) yesterday, but they could not tell me, if the Reverbs they sell, are the updated version, since they just receive the items from their dealer upon someones order.

Is there a way so see from the outside of the package (therefore not opening it), if the item is an updated one? Like production week higher than XX, etc??


It somehow seems, that HP dont want to sell me their products! I contacted them some time ago via their webpage and they did not answer and I cant order from the directly to get a revised Reverb for sure. Along with my general uncertainty, if VR is the way for me (after only a mediocre frist impression of the RiftS), this does not help me decide.


I will contact another dealer this afternoon and if he supply a updated Reverb. If he cant, I will postpone the whole thing for another month or so...


Edit 2hrs later: dealer has only old stock. So Ill wait...
__________________
Win 10, I5-9600K, RTX2070S, 32GB Ram, 512GB SSD, TrackIRpro 4, TM Warthog, VKB T-Rudder Mk IV

Last edited by Wali763; 10-14-2019 at 04:23 PM.
Wali763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 12:02 PM   #3814
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wali763 View Post
Hi.


Tried that last week (german holiday on Oct 3rd I believe) on the german HP-webpage and it did not work, since im from Austria and only german-adress-based people can buy from them.


Austrian HP-Shop on the other hand does not sell stuff directly but only links to some sellers, that in the Reverbs- case actually do not offer it.


I contacted the shop, I usually buy from (and that offers the Reverb actually quite cheaply) yesterday, but they could not tell me, if the Reverbs they sell, are the updated version, since they just receive the items from their dealer upon someones order.

Is there a way so see from the outside of the package (therefore not opening it), if the item is an updated one? Like production week higher than XX, etc??


It somehow seems, that HP dont want to sell me their products! I contacted them some time ago via their webpage and they did not answer and I cant order from the directly to get a revised Reverb for sure. Along with my general uncertainty, if VR is the way for me (after only a mediocre frist impression of the RiftS), this does not help me decide.


I will contact another dealer this afternoon and if he supply a updated Reverb. If he cant, I will postpone the whole thing for another month or so...
Only way you can tell us by serial number. Should have a 932... Or higher Serial number with those digits.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 12:09 PM   #3815
Wali763
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Only way you can tell us by serial number. Should have a 932... Or higher Serial number with those digits.

Thx for the info!
__________________
Win 10, I5-9600K, RTX2070S, 32GB Ram, 512GB SSD, TrackIRpro 4, TM Warthog, VKB T-Rudder Mk IV
Wali763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 12:23 PM   #3816
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wali763 View Post
Thx for the info!
Although i don't know if we can be exact. My friend got one with a serial of 933 and he is returning his because it keeps going black intermittently and starts working again after a day or so.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 01:06 PM   #3817
Funflite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 6
Default

Ok,after reading your post here,i finally purchase a reverb pro.I hope that's will be good for DCS.Thank's a lot for your advices guys!

_________________________
MSI ACE Z390/I7 8700K/64GB DDR4 HyperX 3200/3 Samsung 970 pro 1TB/Zotac AMP 2080TI
Funflite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:44 PM   #3818
Der Hirte
Member
 
Der Hirte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Although i don't know if we can be exact. My friend got one with a serial of 933 and he is returning his because it keeps going black intermittently and starts working again after a day or so.
He must use a powered PCIe USB card or USB hub to eliminate the possibility that the unit isn't receiving enough power, did he?
Der Hirte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 09:01 PM   #3819
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Hirte View Post
He must use a powered PCIe USB card or USB hub to eliminate the possibility that the unit isn't receiving enough power, did he?
He mentioned he was just using the USB ports from his computer so most likely not a pcie card or powered hub. He had the consumer version too but that should not matter.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 02:49 AM   #3820
joebloggs
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 481
Default

Does anyone know if ED are going to do WMR native support for DCS? I have the HP Reverb for the last few days and while in the cockpit I keep losing tracking and it jumps about. I'm sure this is a DCS problem because I don't get headset tracking problems in other VR games like Fallout 4 etc.
joebloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.