[RESOLVED]Electric circuit problem - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2019, 12:07 PM   #11
para504
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 39
Default

Great write up, and very annoying bug. Does ED have a status on a fix?
para504 is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:09 PM   #12
fjacobsen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,043
Default Interim fix for "popping" CB's (at least when firing guns/cannons)

First and foremost I wonder why this hasn´t been fixed yet, since it has been around for quite some time.


But I have found an interim fix for the CB's to pop when firing the guns and cannons.


Find this file: G:\DCS World OpenBeta\Mods\aircraft\FW-190A8\Cockpit\Scripts\Systems\weapon_system.lua


Backup this file, then open it and change these values:


ElecConsumerParamsGunHeater = {80, true, 5, 7}
ElecConsumerParamsGunFireSolenoid = {24, true, 15, 17} <-- Change the value from 240 to 24
ElecConsumerParamsMachineGunLoader = {30, true, 15, 17} <-- Change the value from 300 to 30
ElecConsumerParamsCannonLoader = {35, true, 15, 17} <-- Change the value from 350 to 35
ElecConsumerParamsGunCamera = {20, true, 18, 19} -- 10 watt for camera, and 10 for camera heater
__________________
i7-3770K 3.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, GTX 960 4GB, Win7 Home 64bit
fjacobsen is offline  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:16 PM   #13
Magic Zach
Senior Member
 
Magic Zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,471
Default

It's not a bug. The guns overheat, and resist more. The Anton has a weak electric system, so it can't take the load and it pops.

Let the guns cool, and don't go hail Mary on the trigger
__________________
Magic Zach is offline  
Old 10-14-2019, 07:57 AM   #14
fjacobsen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,043
Default

It might had a weak electrical system, but I really doubt that it was this weak without being fixed IRL.
The CB's might have been popped occasionally, but not each and every time.


It´s not the guns overheating, but rather the electrical solenoids overloading the CB's.
If IRL the CB's had been this weak, then I´m sure that Kurt Tank had them replaced and upgraded the Generator to take the load.


Also it shouldn´t be the Gen and Bat CB's that would pop, but rater the CB's got the guns/cannons, since they would definitly be of a lower amp. rating that the "Main" Bat and Gen CB's.


Also the CB for the landing gear should be this weak. For me it pops 50% of the time regardless wether I keep airspeed during retraction below 250 km/h and keep the aircraft steady i.e not pulling any noticable G's.
__________________
i7-3770K 3.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, GTX 960 4GB, Win7 Home 64bit

Last edited by fjacobsen; 10-14-2019 at 09:25 AM.
fjacobsen is offline  
Old 10-14-2019, 02:18 PM   #15
iFoxRomeo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 572
Default

No chance this is in any way a realistic recreation. Must be a bug. The outer wing cannons could be replaced by a double cannon arrangement of the same type. So instead of 2+4 it could be equipped with 2+6. And the real Flightmanual doesn't say anything about maximum burst time. You can not reload all 6 guns at once, hence the additional little switch, but no burst limit. Such a vital information would have been in the manual.

Thanks fjacobsen

Fox
iFoxRomeo is offline  
Old 10-14-2019, 03:33 PM   #16
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,530
Default

If you know the units, then you could change them according to the technical specification found on the internet (see below, I hope the translation is correct)

MG151/20:

Operating Voltage: 22-29V
Consumption during firing: 4A
Power consumption during recharging: 1.5A at 24V
Power consumption of the electric lock during firing: 0.25A at 24V

MG131 is identical.

Last edited by razo+r; 10-14-2019 at 03:37 PM.
razo+r is offline  
Old 10-14-2019, 04:01 PM   #17
fjacobsen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
If you know the units, then you could change them according to the technical specification found on the internet (see below, I hope the translation is correct)

MG151/20:

Operating Voltage: 22-29V
Consumption during firing: 4A
Power consumption during recharging: 1.5A at 24V
Power consumption of the electric lock during firing: 0.25A at 24V

MG131 is identical.

Thanks


As far as I can see the values in the lua file are in Watt.


That means:


ElecConsumerParamsGunFireSolenoid = {116, true, 15, 17} <--- 4A x 29v = 116W
ElecConsumerParamsMachineGunLoader = {8, true, 15, 17} <--- 0.25 x 29v = 7.25W
ElecConsumerParamsCannonLoader = {8, true, 15, 17} <--- 0.25 x 29v = 7.25W




Nevertheless..
The system is still porked, since the Guns/Cannons CB's should trip rather than the Gen/Bat CB's.
Also the landing gear CB is also too weak, but I have not been able to find any variables for that.


Though it's still considere early acces, I have sned a support ticke, just to be sure that the developers are notified.
__________________
i7-3770K 3.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, GTX 960 4GB, Win7 Home 64bit
fjacobsen is offline  
Old 10-14-2019, 10:01 PM   #18
iFoxRomeo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
If you know the units, then you could change them according to the technical specification found on the internet (see below, I hope the translation is correct)

MG151/20:

Operating Voltage: 22-29V
Consumption during firing: 4A
Power consumption during recharging: 1.5A at 24V
Power consumption of the electric lock during firing: 0.25A at 24V

MG131 is identical.
In the technical manual I've got it's a little bit different:
Loading/charging the weapon; 0.8sec 8A-10A and 0.7sec 20-25A.
But same for firing: 4A

If I read that correctly, these values are per MG 151.


The values you posted are from the EDSK-B device, Part 3 in the MG151, MG151/20 Handbook

Fox
iFoxRomeo is offline  
Old 10-15-2019, 08:10 AM   #19
SMH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 79
Default

I'm pretty sure that breakers that are in series are both popping at the same time. Like guns and battery. How is that even possible? The first one to break should eliminate the load through the other one.

And thanks for the fix but I'm guessing that means no online play?
SMH is offline  
Old 10-15-2019, 05:51 PM   #20
fjacobsen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMH View Post
I'm pretty sure that breakers that are in series are both popping at the same time. Like guns and battery. How is that even possible? The first one to break should eliminate the load through the other one.

And thanks for the fix but I'm guessing that means no online play?

Exactly...

The Bat and Gen CB's are the rimary ones ones, while the 3 CB's for the guns and cannons are seconday and meant to trip before the Bat/Gen CB's if the guns/cannons overload or shortcu the electrical circuits.
Look in the manual page 32 for a schematic.
__________________
i7-3770K 3.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, GTX 960 4GB, Win7 Home 64bit
fjacobsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:37 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.