R828 Tuning - Hold tune button for a few secs - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2020, 06:05 PM   #1
Hunter_5E
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 51
Default R828 Tuning - Hold tune button for a few secs

Just thought I'd mention this as it might catch some people out and have them wondering what's going on.

If you only hold the tune button for one or two seconds you will not be on the desired preset frequency despite the tune light flashing very quickly after you pressed tune. You'll need to hold the tune button for at least 4 or 5 seconds to tune correctly.

I discovered this while testing out my radio panel after updating my Helios profile to 1.4. With holding the tune button for only a second each time (or less) I was getting a whole bunch of frequencies leading up to the correct one. Most channels took at least 3 or 4 presses of 1 sec to get to the right frequency, others took 9 presses. I even got a freaky negative number on one test - see screenshot below.

The delay has nothing to do with Helios as I was pressing the in cockpit tune button as well just to see what it did compared to Helios. Same with both. You need to hold the tune button for at least 4 or 5 seconds to get to the correct preset. Do this and it will be correct every time.

I wouldn't have spotted this without CaptZeen's VHF1 Frequency display which I borrowed from his Shark profile. A very nice addition, thanks Cap!

Hope this info is useful.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	R828 Neg Freq.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	22.8 KB
ID:	224958  
Hunter_5E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 01:04 AM   #2
Ranma13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 497
Default

Don't you have to hold down the button until the tune light goes out?
Ranma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 04:15 PM   #3
fudabidu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 51
Default

As Ranma said:
You turn the dial, hold the button, wait for the yellow light to extinguish, then release.

That's the correct way of doing it.
fudabidu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 06:51 PM   #4
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,681
Default

Yes. Hold until light out. I have been doing like this since 2009 when BS came out and never got the wrong freq. And it's kinda how it is explain in the manual I think.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 01:20 PM   #5
Hunter_5E
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 51
Default

For me, the light flashes very briefly, very soon after pressing the tune button but if I release the tune button at that point it is not on the correct frequency - made very evident if you have the frequency display window open and can keep an eye on it.

The manual is actually very vague about the method of operation - see screenshot.

It states - "5. (Tuner) automatic tuner indicator lamp. If the R-828 is under power and the automatic tuner button is pressed, this will light if the radio has not been tuned to the selected channel."
This is not true as it flashes briefly about half a second after pressing the tune button then goes out. It most definitely does not stay lit if not tuned correctly.

I just posted what I found and what I did to ensure correct frequency is obtained. Make of it what you will
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	R828 Manual Page.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	225144  

Last edited by Hunter_5E; 01-16-2020 at 01:26 PM.
Hunter_5E is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.