JSGME - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2018, 06:27 PM   #1
DeadlyBilgeRat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Default JSGME

How long does it normally take to generate a snapshot of game files?


Mine has been running for half an hour and not moved passed two thirds.


Andy
DeadlyBilgeRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 06:38 PM   #2
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,168
Default

It takes longer than a repair does, which is the context you need
__________________
“Six better fuses and we would have lost.”
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 06:39 PM   #3
DeadlyBilgeRat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Default

got ya, I'll leave it go for a while
DeadlyBilgeRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 06:41 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,248
Default

I understand that JSGME is a 32 bit App that doesnt handle well files larger than 2 GB (like some of the Maps files are).


May I suggest OvGME as a more modern alternative tough, like JSGME, it is unsupported by its developer anymore.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 10:27 PM   #5
DeadlyBilgeRat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks Rudel, sent you a PM but my sent folder says 0 messages.


was asking if I took a snapshot of a clean install do I need to do it every time I load OVGME or is it saved and I just do it the once?


Also when I load OVGME and apply mods do I then need to leave OVGME running in the background while I play or can I close it and still play my DCS with mods applied.


kind regards


Andy
DeadlyBilgeRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 11:00 PM   #6
thrustvector
Member
 
thrustvector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Exeter uk
Posts: 640
Default

funny I use jsgme and snapshots are really quick in the seconds, used it forever with no probs, I think its easier than ovgme but whatever your used to is best, but usually itl only do it when you add a mod, and thatl only be to compare it to the original, so should be if like js very quick, I don't know as I don't use it, but itl only snapshot against new files, not your whole system again
thrustvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 11:03 PM   #7
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlyBilgeRat View Post
Thanks Rudel, sent you a PM but my sent folder says 0 messages.

Hi, got the message and I've just answered
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 04:32 PM   #8
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlyBilgeRat View Post
was asking if I took a snapshot of a clean install do I need to do it every time I load OVGME or is it saved and I just do it the once?

The purpose of snapshots is to be able to detect which files of a game have been changed by your applied Mods. Actually I never use this function, as in DCS it isnt really needed.

Quote:
Also when I load OVGME and apply mods do I then need to leave OVGME running in the background while I play or can I close it and still play my DCS with mods applied.

Any Mod is simply a set of files that have to be put on a game´s program folder in order to achieve a certain feature or behavior. Sometimes these files replace the original game's, other times they are new additional files. Thus, aplying the Mod is a one time affair.


The Mods managers are simply a means to automate the Applying / De-applying Mods, they dont need to run along with the game ... in essence they are just file-copiers


Best regards
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.