Carrier Script Test - Page 6 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2018, 07:54 AM   #51
mwd2
Senior Member
 
mwd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,836
Default

It is possible to AAR in a circle.

From NAVAIR 00-80T-105, July 2009

The recovery tanker shall maintain a rendezvous circle oriented on the CV (Figure 6-13). The rendezvous circle shall contain four reference points. Minimum pattern altitude shall be 1,500 feet. This pattern is a left-hand circle within 5 nm of the CV during launch and recovery operations.
When the last jet is aboard, the tanker shall climb to prebriefed altitude and switch to assigned frequency for control.

page 6-32




page 6-36
__________________
Waiting for:DCS: F/A-18C, DCS: SoH & DCS: Mi-24 Hind, ...
Intel i5-7600K @4.1GHz, 16GB DDR4 @2400MHz, GTX 1070 Gigabyte Gaming OC 8GB DDR5, WIN 10 64Bit Prof.
"Do you know the way to Chak Chak?."


GSPB Squadron "Serious Ugly"

Ghost0815

mwd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 11:38 PM   #52
Wrench
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 297
Default

I have tried, and I have failed.
I can't get the tanker to fly a reasonable circle. The problem is the track gets all wonky as it has to move to follow the carrier. I think the best I'll be able to do is to have it race-track around the carrier a few miles.
Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 10:10 AM   #53
mwd2
Senior Member
 
mwd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,836
Default

Okay.
In the Missioneditor, i setup for the Tanker two waypoints (WP), on the first WP - i setup the Orbit Circle Option under Advance WP Action. The 2nd define the racetrack length.

Would it be possible to get access to the position of the WPs and move these with the moving CSG (Carrier Strike Group)?
__________________
Waiting for:DCS: F/A-18C, DCS: SoH & DCS: Mi-24 Hind, ...
Intel i5-7600K @4.1GHz, 16GB DDR4 @2400MHz, GTX 1070 Gigabyte Gaming OC 8GB DDR5, WIN 10 64Bit Prof.
"Do you know the way to Chak Chak?."


GSPB Squadron "Serious Ugly"

Ghost0815

mwd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 02:14 AM   #54
Wrench
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 297
Default

So I did some 'research' (asked Grimes) and he told me it's a long-standing bug that AI will only treat waypoints created during a mission as fly over waypoints. I'll have a look at scripting a racetrack pattern, but that comes with another problem:

I need some way for the tanker to call the script again.

Right now, I've been setting up 4 waypoints for him to follow and setting a waypoint action (via script) to re-run the function and generate 4 new waypoints.

The problem with orbit/racetrack waypoints is that they never 'complete', meaning tasks assigned to them will never be carried out, i.e. running the script.

I've attempted a workaround by scheduling the script to run itself every <x> seconds, but if there is any error in the time it takes to complete an orbit vs. the time taken to run the script again, (and there always will be) the error processes and the route gets more and more out of sync.
Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 10:41 AM   #55
mwd2
Senior Member
 
mwd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,836
Default

Thanks for the deeper look into it.

Would it be possible to use 2 waypoints, with an option on the 2nd. wp to loop back to the first wp? This would give us something like a circle.

In a case of 'out of fuel' for the tanker, where will be the respawn? Back at the start (ME position) or the new calculation position, close to the carrier?
__________________
Waiting for:DCS: F/A-18C, DCS: SoH & DCS: Mi-24 Hind, ...
Intel i5-7600K @4.1GHz, 16GB DDR4 @2400MHz, GTX 1070 Gigabyte Gaming OC 8GB DDR5, WIN 10 64Bit Prof.
"Do you know the way to Chak Chak?."


GSPB Squadron "Serious Ugly"

Ghost0815

mwd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:43 PM   #56
Wrench
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 297
Default

That's basically what I've tried. There is a bug regarding how the airport interperets those waypoints. I'm looking into a workaround now.

As for the fuel state, the tanker will rtb on bingo and respawn. If you start it on deck in the mission editor, it will take off and then follow the route again.
Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 02:54 AM   #57
Shadow.D.
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 271
Default

Could you explain how you achieved this:-


Version 0.3 Uploaded
Added TACAN bug workaround- acts autonomously


I see you have the TACAN activated in the triggered actions, how is that being triggered?

Last edited by Shadow.D.; 07-27-2018 at 02:59 AM.
Shadow.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 03:35 AM   #58
Wrench
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 297
Default

trigger.action.pushAITask
https://wiki.hoggitworld.com/view/DCS_func_pushAITask

Make sure that "Activate TACAN" is set as a triggered action for the group in the ME, and call this with the group and index of the action.
Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:09 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.