Questions about offline use - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2018, 12:07 PM   #1
Robert31178
Senior Member
 
Robert31178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,117
Default Questions about offline use

Good morning,

I moved and my internet won't be up until next Monday. No biggie, I'll play offline right??

1) there's a doomsday clock with 4hrs left stating my credentials will run out. When it hits zero then what? No more offline gaming?

2) a friend mentioned that there is a thing to click in the menu for offline play. Is this true? If so where is it?

I planned on mission writing until next week, but if my security stuff is going to be an issue I'll stop. Can someone please explain, or link me to, an explanation of what I am seeing please?

Thank you in advance!!!

~Rob
Robert31178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 12:34 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,733
Default

Hi

currently offline mode is only in the beta install

to enter offline mode you need an internet connection. This is to tell ED's server you are offline, then you can continue offline for as long as you need to.

If you do not have a connection currently at home, but have a mobile try a tethered connection just to enable offline mode.

some notes:

when you enable online again it has to be from the same PC. you can not go offline on one machine and on with another.

Do not make any hardware changes while in offline mode.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K ( Cooled by H100i ), 16GB DDR3 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, TIR5, Trackclip pro, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 02:29 PM   #3
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post

Do not make any hardware changes while in offline mode.

What happens IF a part of your PC fails and is removed or replaced during this time ?
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 02:32 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Rico View Post
What happens IF a part of your PC fails and is removed or replaced during this time ?

If it changes the hardware ID of the machine you wont be able to go back online on your account and would need to contact support.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K ( Cooled by H100i ), 16GB DDR3 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, TIR5, Trackclip pro, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 03:32 PM   #5
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,234
Default

Can you detail how hardware ID is derived please?


With older protection systems that usd a hardware ID there was some grace
in what would trigger HARDWARE has been changed type things


eg disable or enable a virtual network device = no change
change the motherboard = CHANGE
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 10:22 PM   #6
Robert31178
Senior Member
 
Robert31178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,117
Default

Damn. So I am only online w/phone until Monday. Should I just not get on DCS? What happens if my doomsday clock reaches zero?
Robert31178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.