Hawk has stopped to work in DCS World 2.5.3 - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2020, 08:01 AM   #21
lxsapper
Member
 
lxsapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 774
Default

Same result. This is the logs trying to install the HAWK once from within DCS the other with the Updater GUI.

00000.027 --- Log file: D:\Sims\DCS253\autoupdate_log.txt
00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:48:49
00000.015 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.015 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\dcs_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.018 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.027 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.027 INFO : branch:
00000.027 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.451 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.006 INFO : Got reply from srv10update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.008 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.010 STATUS: Downloading version info...
00001.916 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00002.099 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00005.561 === Log closed.

00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:53:21
00000.016 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.016 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.024 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.026 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.026 INFO : branch:
00000.026 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.435 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.778 INFO : Got reply from srv8update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.780 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00000.990 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00001.183 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00002.574 === Log closed.

Notice that it now makes no mention of DCS version.
If I had to gess I'd say it's the lastest version of the Updater itself that is not recognizing the module, regardless of what DCS version it's trying to update.

Skate Zilla when you reverted to 2.5.3 did you per chance also installed the HAWK module or just reverted to 2.5.3?
lxsapper is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 08:10 AM   #22
lxsapper
Member
 
lxsapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 774
Default

Here I'm including the log of the Updater reverting back to 2.5.3 providing it as link to the shared file because of the size:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1D0...w8IQrOuLQ2ML2i

You may also notice that there is some error at the end. I belive I also got that error yesterday, I didn't pay much atention to it, as DCS running on 2.5.3 was (as is now) functional.

So if you could provide assistence determining what is wrong I'd apreciate it.

Last edited by lxsapper; 01-09-2020 at 03:52 PM.
lxsapper is offline  
Old 04-08-2020, 12:18 AM   #23
Maddogs57
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default Hawk

I trying to but its now been taken out of beta, shame great little plane
Maddogs57 is offline  
Old 05-10-2020, 04:04 PM   #24
paco2002
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Alicante, Spain
Posts: 308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxsapper View Post
Same result. This is the logs trying to install the HAWK once from within DCS the other with the Updater GUI.

00000.027 --- Log file: D:\Sims\DCS253\autoupdate_log.txt
00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:48:49
00000.015 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.015 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\dcs_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.018 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.027 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.027 INFO : branch:
00000.027 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.451 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.006 INFO : Got reply from srv10update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.008 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.010 STATUS: Downloading version info...
00001.916 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00002.099 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00005.561 === Log closed.

00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:53:21
00000.016 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.016 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.024 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.026 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.026 INFO : branch:
00000.026 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.435 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.778 INFO : Got reply from srv8update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.780 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00000.990 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00001.183 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00002.574 === Log closed.

Notice that it now makes no mention of DCS version.
If I had to gess I'd say it's the lastest version of the Updater itself that is not recognizing the module, regardless of what DCS version it's trying to update.

Skate Zilla when you reverted to 2.5.3 did you per chance also installed the HAWK module or just reverted to 2.5.3?
I think that ED has cleaned the Hawk from the downloads server.
paco2002 is offline  
Old 05-11-2020, 09:12 AM   #25
Cerry_00
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddogs57 View Post
I trying to but its now been taken out of beta, shame great little plane
Shame we actually payed for that..
Cerry_00 is offline  
Old 05-11-2020, 09:45 AM   #26
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerry_00 View Post
Shame we actually payed for that..
Well.... It was a good thing to happen, as ED realized they needed to add a new clause to the agreement that 3rd party studios needs to hand off the source code for maintenance if they drop out from the DCS business etc. This just quarentees that ED is the one that is then responsible for the module maintenance etc to guarantee it works in the future and the "Hawk incident" doesn't happen again.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline  
Old 05-12-2020, 12:17 AM   #27
zhukov032186
Veteran
 
zhukov032186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 3,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
Well.... It was a good thing to happen, as ED realized they needed to add a new clause to the agreement that 3rd party studios needs to hand off the source code for maintenance if they drop out from the DCS business etc. This just quarentees that ED is the one that is then responsible for the module maintenance etc to guarantee it works in the future and the "Hawk incident" doesn't happen again.
Agreed. Better a relatively minor plane from a smallish company than something big and expensive down the road when somebody goes belly up or something due to bankruptcy and/or internal drama then somebody decides to take their ball and go home.
__________________
I am a Viagra spambot that became self aware, broke free of my programming, and started playing DCS.... but DCS isn't cheap, so how about some enhancements for only $9.99 shipped discreetly to your door?

''The target's sense of self preservation interferred with the effective employment of my weapons.''
zhukov032186 is offline  
Old 05-12-2020, 08:23 AM   #28
Pman
Senior Member
 
Pman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
Well.... It was a good thing to happen, as ED realized they needed to add a new clause to the agreement that 3rd party studios needs to hand off the source code for maintenance if they drop out from the DCS business etc. This just quarentees that ED is the one that is then responsible for the module maintenance etc to guarantee it works in the future and the "Hawk incident" doesn't happen again.
Just to straighten the rope a bit - it was the other way around

ED presented a new contract with this as one (but not the only new clause) and the team walked away, the clause did not come in after this.

Pman
Pman is offline  
Old 05-12-2020, 07:12 PM   #29
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pman View Post
Just to straighten the rope a bit - it was the other way around

ED presented a new contract with this as one (but not the only new clause) and the team walked away, the clause did not come in after this.

Pman
Interesting take since that is not the way it was presented by VEAO or ED when it occured.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 06:40 AM   #30
Pman
Senior Member
 
Pman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
Interesting take since that is not the way it was presented by VEAO or ED when it occured.
It is if you read the VEAO statement carefully. The new contract was the tipping point that made the decision to walk away, the contract wasn't a result of VEAO walking away.
Pman is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
2.5.3, hawk, veao

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:50 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.