asynchronous reprojection weird problem - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2017, 07:11 PM   #11
BobFlex
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 38
Reputation power: 1
BobFlex is on a distinguished road
Default

What you're experiencing is literally the point of Reprojection. The game is only running at 45fps or so, but SteamVR is running outside of the game and based on the frames that it is getting is creating new frames in between to keep your head movements appearing smooth.

The thing is DCS is only running at 45fps (or whatever it shows), but because SteamVR is what is actually running your headset, it's creating extra frames so that your headset runs at 90fps. They're not perfect representations of what you should be seeing, there are artifacts even if they're difficult to see. DCS isn't able to and doesn't need to do that on its own, so DCS won't report on the frames that isn't creating.
BobFlex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 01:19 AM   #12
Wolf8312
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 141
Reputation power: 2
Wolf8312 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes but in 2.04 DCS does indeed report a solid 45-90 fps, and 1.5.5 and 6 do not. I think when DCS is working as it should it should be reporting 45-90 though don't quote me on that. Also for simple peace of mind and to know reprojection is actually working and it's nice to see the 45-90 fps! With 1.5.6 for me at least I'm really not sure it was hitting the required target.
Wolf8312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.