Intel Z3## build - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 11:12 PM   #21
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
two or three !!??




purchased early 2015: 2600k-->6700k-->7700k-->8700k


Built #4 and still going strong, tho..its only 4 years old this coming Xmas.
Not everyone upgrades as often as you and I, and until recently, upgrades often required more power. An upgrade every three years would still allow a top end PSU to be good for three upgrade cycles. Hell, I have an AX750 in a box on the shelf because I upgraded that machine to a more powerful PSU. I would sell it online except the weight makes the shipping not worth it to most people.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 08:25 PM   #22
Django
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 136
Default

OK so this is what I'm thinking on pulling the trigger on before Xmas:
GREEN = already owned

CPU
i7-9700K £400
H/S
Noctua NH-D15 £80
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz CL14-14-14-34 £405
M/B
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite £163
Storage
Samsung 860 Evo 500GB £72
Samsung 860 Evo 500GB £72
1TB SATA2 HD
PSU
Corsair RM750x £90
Case

Anidees AI8 Full Tower Case £90
Display
Acer Predator XB271HU 27" GSync IPS £600
Controllers
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS £110
CH Rudder Pedals
TrackIR

Other stuff
Windows 10 Home Retail £100
X-rite i1 Display Pro monitir calibrator £178
Display Port 1.4 cable 3m £10

= £2370

Q) What do you think?
Q) Should I wait until after Xmas (I think I might get a better deal on the Thrustmaster HOTAS)?
__________________
Regards Django. | DCS v1.5.8 + v2.5.3-OB | A10C | F18C | Harrier | FC3 | Tacview |
| FX-6350 3.9GHz | DDR3-1600 16GB | 2X SATA2 | GA-78LMT-USB3 | 750W |
CH Yoke + Pedals |
| GTX780Ti 3GB | Nvidia v417.22 + Inspector v1.9.7.8 | 32" TV 1080p 60Hz | TrackIR5 |

Last edited by Django; 12-12-2018 at 09:58 PM.
Django is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 01:41 PM   #23
Django
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 136
Default

I have come across RAM "T-topology" on Gigabyte Z390 Aorus boards.

Q) What difference does this make to the selection of RAM? For a 32GB 3200MHz kit would I be better off with 2x16 or 4x8?

Q) What about other Z390 manufacturers?

Q) Is T-topology chipset specific?
__________________
Regards Django. | DCS v1.5.8 + v2.5.3-OB | A10C | F18C | Harrier | FC3 | Tacview |
| FX-6350 3.9GHz | DDR3-1600 16GB | 2X SATA2 | GA-78LMT-USB3 | 750W |
CH Yoke + Pedals |
| GTX780Ti 3GB | Nvidia v417.22 + Inspector v1.9.7.8 | 32" TV 1080p 60Hz | TrackIR5 |
Django is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 05:10 PM   #24
j0nx
Member
 
j0nx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 330
Default

My Corsair HX1000 PSU is about 10 years old and has been serving me well since my 920 build. At least 3 or 4 upgrades in that time up to an 8700K I am about to upgrade to on that rig. Frankly every time I put a new board in that PC I am surprised that PSU is still ticking. It was also turned on 24/7 for at least 7 out of the 10 years it's been running. That being said, it will probably fail on me now!
__________________
SUPREME ROTORHEAD

Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7 | i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz | 16 GB DDR4 3000 | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | SanDisk 240GB & 480GB SSD, Seagate 2TB | Corsair 1000HX | Silverstone FT02-WRI | Nvidia 3D Vision Surround | Windows 10 Professional X64

Volair Sim Cockpit, Rift CV1, Saitek X-55 HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Microsoft FF2, OE-XAM Bell 206 Collective, C-Tek anti-torque pedals

UH-1, SA342, Mi-8, KA50, AV8B, P-51D, A-10C, L39, F86, NS-430, Nevada, Normandy, Persian Gulf
j0nx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 11:28 AM   #25
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,238
Default

T-style design is being used by many vendors, afaik Asus was the first one with DDR3-Z77 chipsets doing it that way.

The "T" stands for EQUAL length of circuits to either module, allowing more precise timing and thus better "highest" achievable overclocks etc...

T = good...and it is STANDARD on every new half-decent motherboard
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 02:16 PM   #26
Django
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 136
Default

I could put everything a on a 1TB NvMe drive but the price is prohibitive at the moment.
Q) So for SATA6 drives, 2x 500Gb vs a 1TB, any advantage?
__________________
Regards Django. | DCS v1.5.8 + v2.5.3-OB | A10C | F18C | Harrier | FC3 | Tacview |
| FX-6350 3.9GHz | DDR3-1600 16GB | 2X SATA2 | GA-78LMT-USB3 | 750W |
CH Yoke + Pedals |
| GTX780Ti 3GB | Nvidia v417.22 + Inspector v1.9.7.8 | 32" TV 1080p 60Hz | TrackIR5 |
Django is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intel, z370, z390

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:25 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.