Moving from cv1 to Reverb, what can I expect? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 06:19 PM   #1
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 879
Default Moving from cv1 to Reverb, what can I expect?

I'm playing with the thought to upgrade from my Rift cv1 to the HP Reverb, as I'm reading almost only positive things about it here. I wonder however if my system would still be up for the job.

As said, currently I'm using a cv1 and, as most people playing DCS in VR, it's a struggle to find a balance between decent framerates and reasonable visuals.

So, my first and uneducated guess would be, that my pc would struggle a lot more (maybe too much) when using a HP Reverb.
On the other hand I can imagine (again just guessing here) the default higher resolution of the Reverb would maybe allow me to run DCS with PD set to like 1.0 and still give a better overall sharpness.

Is there anyone here with approximately my system specs who went from the cv1 to the Reverb? What should I expect? Will I need to upgrade my system to even match the performance/quality I'm getting with my cv1?

Edit:
Oh and did I understand correctly that IPD can't be changed with the Reverb? Even the IPD setting within DCS?

My system specs:
8700k at default clock speed (overclocking would be my last resort as I don't have any experience with that)
GTX 1080ti
32GB DDR4 at 3000Hz
Z370
SSD
650W psu

My current DCS settings:
Textures High
Terrain textures High
Water Medium
Visible range High
Shadows Low
the rest set to minimum/off
PD 1.4 (to be able to kind of read gauges and stuff )
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat

Last edited by sirrah; 01-20-2020 at 07:21 PM.
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 10:04 PM   #2
Thor77
Member
 
Thor77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 156
Default

I am playing with the same idea - cv1 to reverb


Our systems are very similar, the only difference is that i have i5-9600k (also at stock freq at the moment). I am surprised though, that you don't have smooth gameplay as I my rig handles CV1 perfectly without and fps drops at PD1.5 and very similar settings to yours.
__________________
http://dcsskins.wordpress.com/
Your place for custom created DCS World skins.


Intel i5-9600K|Asus Z390F Strix|32GB RAM|ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix
24" Samsung P2470HD|TIR4pro|Oculus Rift CV1|Trustmaster HOTAS Warthog|CH Pro pedals|Logitech Performance MX


Thor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 10:23 PM   #3
Gunnars Driver
Member
 
Gunnars Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sweden
Posts: 385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
I'm playing with the thought to upgrade from my Rift cv1 to the HP Reverb,
Edit:
Oh and did I understand correctly that IPD can't be changed with the Reverb? Even the IPD setting within DCS?

My system specs:
8700k at default clock speed (overclocking would be my last resort as I don't have any experience with that)
GTX 1080ti
32GB DDR4 at 3000Hz
Z370
SSD
650W psu

My current DCS settings:
Textures High
Terrain textures High
Water Medium
Visible range High
Shadows Low
the rest set to minimum/off
PD 1.4 (to be able to kind of read gauges and stuff )
I upgraded my H/W Before getting the reverb, but I still have the CV1.
Same settings, much smoother ride with the reverb. Despite having PD1.0 and mostly 90 fps with the CV!, they get som stutter and rahter much ghosting. The reverb just doesnt, as long as you keep the load on the computer to keep at least 45fps. Almost no ghosting at all.

There is a guide that you have to follow when getting the reverb. vr4dcs.com, and the thuds guide on reverb. It not as simple as with oculus, but with the guide you'll get spot on on the first try. It is not difficult, its not whqt Im saying. But if you follow the guide the settings will be better to begin with and you save a lot of time.

For the overclock part, if you play DVS, overclocking is a almost needed part of the setup. Specially the CPU, that often reach the limit on one core. You should at least see to that the CPU is running att the turbo speed all the time, and not throttleing down when gaming.
There is small software that helps with automatic O/C of the GPU, that might give you 10% of performance(which you need all 11 % of…) for free.

IPD of reverb is softwaredriven, no Changes of lenses etc. It is sad to be ok if you dont have too much difference of you IPD from stock 63.7mm(or something like that). Im quite Close to that so I really dont know how bad it is if you are way off.
The IPD in DCS is said to not be a real IPD-setting but rather the total scale of the Picture you see in the vr headset. (lika zoom in or zoom out I guess, havent used it)
__________________
[T.M HOTAS Warthog Stick & Throttle + T.Flight pedals, HP Reverb pro, Oculus Rift]
[DCS Mirage 2K; Huey; Spitfire Mk IX, AJS 37, F-14, F-18, FC3 ]
i9 9900KS@5.2/32Gb@3200/ RTX2080ti@2080 11Gb 2Tb m2 SSD
Gunnars Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 02:17 AM   #4
DerekSpeare
Member
 
DerekSpeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boxx Town USA!
Posts: 993
Default

Turn your graphics down. You won't run the Reverb at any decent frame rates otherwise. I just went from CV1 => Reverb. The clarity is amazing, fortunately.
__________________
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare
derekspearedesigns.com 15,000+ Gaming Enthusiasts Trust DSD Components to Deliver!
i7-5930k| GTX1080ti | 32gb Ram | 1TB SSD | CV1/DK2/2xWMR | CH Pro Throt/Fighterstick Pro | 2 DSD Boxes
Falcon XT/AT/3.0/4.0 | LB2 | DCS | FI-P3D v2.5/3 | FI-FSX
My Hangar: FC3 | F-16 | C101 | M2000 | Mi8 | UH1 | F86 | L39 | A10C | NTTR | F5E | F/A-18 | Harrier
DSD TS Server: derekspeare.typefrag.com | PW = dsdftw!
Useful VR settings and tips for DCS HERE
DerekSpeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 08:22 AM   #5
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnars Driver View Post
I upgraded my H/W Before getting the reverb, but I still have the CV1.
Same settings, much smoother ride with the reverb. Despite having PD1.0 and mostly 90 fps with the CV!, they get som stutter and rahter much ghosting. The reverb just doesnt, as long as you keep the load on the computer to keep at least 45fps. Almost no ghosting at all.

There is a guide that you have to follow when getting the reverb. vr4dcs.com, and the thuds guide on reverb. It not as simple as with oculus, but with the guide you'll get spot on on the first try. It is not difficult, its not whqt Im saying. But if you follow the guide the settings will be better to begin with and you save a lot of time.

For the overclock part, if you play DVS, overclocking is a almost needed part of the setup. Specially the CPU, that often reach the limit on one core. You should at least see to that the CPU is running att the turbo speed all the time, and not throttleing down when gaming.
There is small software that helps with automatic O/C of the GPU, that might give you 10% of performance(which you need all 11 % of…) for free.

IPD of reverb is softwaredriven, no Changes of lenses etc. It is sad to be ok if you dont have too much difference of you IPD from stock 63.7mm(or something like that). Im quite Close to that so I really dont know how bad it is if you are way off.
The IPD in DCS is said to not be a real IPD-setting but rather the total scale of the Picture you see in the vr headset. (lika zoom in or zoom out I guess, havent used it)
Thanks for the feedback Gunnars
The guide on vr4dcs.com really looks helpful.
Reading you message, a few additional questions have arisen though
  1. I thought, and please correct me if I'm wrong, that my 8700K would automatically go into turbo mode (up to 4.7GHz iirc?) when it's nearing 100% usage. Also, because I have no experience with overclocking, I'd probably stay on the "safe" side when doing so, in which case I doubt if it'll bring anything worth the "risk".
  2. My IPD is about 67 (measured roughly using the mirror/ruler method), so can you, or anyone else maybe, still recommend the Reverb in this case?
  3. Checking out vr4dcs.com, do I understand correctly that the Reverb requires Steam VR (and thus playing DCS through Steam)? Asking this, because although I have most of my modules on both platforms, the UH-1H and A-10C I bought before DCS went to Steam, so that'd mean I wouldn't be able to play those with the Reverb?



Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekSpeare View Post
Turn your graphics down. You won't run the Reverb at any decent frame rates otherwise. I just went from CV1 => Reverb. The clarity is amazing, fortunately.
But if I turn down my graphics even further (guess I could set vis.range to medium, reduce tree and clutter ranges and reduce PD to 1.0), can I still expect a better overal image and experience with the Reverb?
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat

Last edited by sirrah; 01-21-2020 at 08:51 AM.
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:18 AM   #6
Gunnars Driver
Member
 
Gunnars Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sweden
Posts: 385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
  1. I thought, and please correct me if I'm wrong, that my 8700K would automatically go into turbo mode (up to 4.7GHz iirc?) when it's nearing 100% usage. Also, because I have no experience with overclocking, I'd probably stay on the "safe" side when doing so, in which case I doubt if it'll bring anything worth the "risk".
  1. The Intel standard for turbo mode is not a constant turbo speed over time. It vill go down to the ”normal speed”(3.7Ghz in your case I think).The reason is that the small stock coolers dtc may not be able to keep temperatures ok during longer times of turbo mode. There is a possibility that your mothercard already run the cpu att the higher speed constantly( even though the intel spec says ”not”). I dont know very mich of this because I have never used those standard settings.
    Make sure that your CPU runs at least at turbo mode(4.7) constant during gaming.
    The CPU usage tell you very little about CPU load in DCS. Only one core will be highly loaded( probably 85% or more) and this core will limit your DCS performance.
    The total will be shown as a much lower value( 8% in my i9 case, becase there is virtually 15 other cores/threads doing almost nothing).
    Check the cores individually in the recource monitor from the task manager.


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
  2. My IPD is about 67 (measured roughly using the mirror/ruler method), so can you, or anyone else maybe, still recommend the Reverb in this case?
  3. You would need to google an maybe search this forum, I dont know this answer, maybe anyone else knows?


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
  4. Checking out vr4dcs.com, do I understand correctly that the Reverb requires Steam VR (and thus playing DCS through Steam)? Asking this, because although I have most of my modules on both platforms, the UH-1H and A-10C I bought before DCS went to Steam, so that'd mean I wouldn't be able to play those with the Reverb?
You need WMR, steamVR for VMR and Steam. But you do not need Steam version of DCS
Steam is needed to make gaming via WMR work, nothing else than this.
I do not have the Steam DCS, I have the regular version starting from the shortcut on the desktop.



Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
But if I turn down my graphics even further (guess I could set vis.range to medium, reduce tree and clutter ranges and reduce PD to 1.0), can I still expect a better overal image and experience with the Reverb?
I guess so. I have only used the reverb with my upgraded computer.
__________________
[T.M HOTAS Warthog Stick & Throttle + T.Flight pedals, HP Reverb pro, Oculus Rift]
[DCS Mirage 2K; Huey; Spitfire Mk IX, AJS 37, F-14, F-18, FC3 ]
i9 9900KS@5.2/32Gb@3200/ RTX2080ti@2080 11Gb 2Tb m2 SSD
Gunnars Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:27 AM   #7
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnars Driver View Post
The Intel standard for turbo mode is not a constant turbo speed over time. It vill go down to the ”normal speed”(3.7Ghz in your case I think).The reason is that the small stock coolers dtc may not be able to keep temperatures ok during longer times of turbo mode. There is a possibility that your mothercard already run the cpu att the higher speed constantly( even though the intel spec says ”not”). I dont know very mich of this because I have never used those standard settings.
Make sure that your CPU runs at least at turbo mode(4.7) constant during gaming.
The CPU usage tell you very little about CPU load in DCS. Only one core will be highly loaded( probably 85% or more) and this core will limit your DCS performance.
The total will be shown as a much lower value( 8% in my i9 case, becase there is virtually 15 other cores/threads doing almost nothing).
Check the cores individually in the recource monitor from the task manager.
Thanks, I'll definitely look into this before moving on then.
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 10:27 AM   #8
boedha68
Senior Member
 
boedha68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,722
Default

I did.

I did build a new system for it.

I am waiting now for a new GPU probarbly in 6 months.

I have now good framerates 60 - 90 FPS with settings pretty steep.

I can all things see clear in the cockpit and have further sharp view in the envirement.

It's a huge bump up from CV1 but it's reccomend to build a new system, for benefit of the possibilities of the reverb as long as Vulcan not launched in DCS.

Good luck!

PS See the differnce in my old and new system.
__________________
New system:I9-9900KS, Kingston 64 GB DDR4 3200Mhz, RTX 2080(OC 2070 Mhz), Corsair H150 Pro RGB, Samsung 970 EVO 1 Tb, Scandisk m2 500 MB, 2 x Crucial 1 Tb, T16000M HOTAS, HP Reverb Professional

Old system:I7-4770K(OC 4.5Ghz), Kingston 24 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz,MSI RTX 2080(OC 2070 Mhz), 2 * 500 GB SSD, 3,5 TB HDD, 55' Samsung 3d tv, Trackir 5, Logitech HD Cam, T16000M HOTAS. All DCS modules, maps and campaigns

Last edited by boedha68; 01-21-2020 at 10:31 AM.
boedha68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 10:58 AM   #9
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boedha68 View Post
I did.

I did build a new system for it.

I am waiting now for a new GPU probarbly in 6 months.

I have now good framerates 60 - 90 FPS with settings pretty steep.

I can all things see clear in the cockpit and have further sharp view in the envirement.

It's a huge bump up from CV1 but it's reccomend to build a new system, for benefit of the possibilities of the reverb as long as Vulcan not launched in DCS.

Good luck!

PS See the differnce in my old and new system.
I can't justify spending €2000,- on building a new up to date pc. Heck, I will have to think of something really clever to explain to my girlfriend why I need to buy another €600+ HMD

Hence my initial question; will I be able to properly benefit from the HP Reverb, without upgrading my entire system?
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - HP Reverb - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 12:04 PM   #10
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 3,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
[*]My IPD is about 67 (measured roughly using the mirror/ruler method), so can you, or anyone else maybe, still recommend the Reverb in this case?
My IPD is 68 and I have no issues. The software adjustment goes to 67 max, but I really not sure what difference that setting makes.

I would say you don't need to worry on that score.

BTW, use the iOS app 'Eye Measure' to get a good value for your IPD.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Stick · 2 x Virpil WarBRD base · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:36 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.