Why is my wingman always running low on fuel? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2019, 11:22 PM   #1
spoon95
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: republic of China
Posts: 22
Question Why is my wingman always running low on fuel?

I'm flying su-25t, and I use the editor to edit the campaign in the game,
I gave 80 percent fuel to our wingman, and within 10 minutes of the battle, my wingman always ejected because he ran out of fuel.
That is to say, after deducting the time of flying to the battlefield, he will run out of fuel within 5 minutes of starting a war against the enemy.
I don't know why. How did that happen?
Before DCS was updated, my wingman could finish the battle with 70% fuel.
Now my wingman runs out of fuel in less than ten minutes. I wonder if other players will have this problem?
spoon95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 11:41 PM   #2
Mad_Max2
Member
 
Mad_Max2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 175
Default

I've noticed this a couple of times as well in the past. Haven't kept track of it well enough to be useful in a potential bug squash but you might be on to something.


That being said...SOME of those times I was left scratching my head about why they ran out of fuel was due to their tanks being shot. Check the tracks, if they got a big hole in 'em, that might be the problem lol. If not, then yeah, I would say something is wrong.
Mad_Max2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 01:09 AM   #3
Oceandar
Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 816
Default

Probably most of their fuel was burned to chasing you in formation.
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 01:28 AM   #4
grimm862
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceandar View Post
Probably most of their fuel was burned to chasing you in formation.
I would assume this is it.
grimm862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 03:47 AM   #5
joca133
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 164
Default

Flying the Mirage the wingman burns fuel like mad. They use afterburners 90% of the time, they have trouble with efficiency even when escorting a slower jet. With other aircraft, like a10, I normally put 30% less fuel on my aircraft, but on the mirage my solution is to fit external tanks and prevent them from jettisoning via editor. I wish AI was better, but its one more sad aspect of it.
joca133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 06:55 AM   #6
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoon95 View Post
I'm flying su-25t, and I use the editor to edit the campaign in the game,
I gave 80 percent fuel to our wingman, and within 10 minutes of the battle, my wingman always ejected because he ran out of fuel.
That is to say, after deducting the time of flying to the battlefield, he will run out of fuel within 5 minutes of starting a war against the enemy.
I don't know why. How did that happen?
Before DCS was updated, my wingman could finish the battle with 70% fuel.
Now my wingman runs out of fuel in less than ten minutes. I wonder if other players will have this problem?

I've noticed this exact thing a *lot*.

I always give my wingdudes a lot more fuel than myself. They still always run out of gas when I have plenty left, and it's especially a problem when flying any of the jets that have afterburners.

I've noticed that when I'm flying straight and level in the Flanker, Fulcrum or Eagle at maybe 85-90% RPM on the gauge, my wingmen always need full afterburner to try to catch up and join the formation. When they're doing that, they can barely climb and accelerate at full AB, and invariable use up all their fuel.

I know that AI aircraft use different flight models from the human-piloted aircraft, but the fuel consumption is much, much too high.

AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti AMP Extreme Core Edition, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 08:27 AM   #7
spoon95
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: republic of China
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joca133 View Post
Flying the Mirage the wingman burns fuel like mad. They use afterburners 90% of the time, they have trouble with efficiency even when escorting a slower jet. With other aircraft, like a10, I normally put 30% less fuel on my aircraft, but on the mirage my solution is to fit external tanks and prevent them from jettisoning via editor. I wish AI was better, but its one more sad aspect of it.
Before I gave orders, my wingman would fly after me, and I didn't use afterburners
This does not happen until DCS is updated.So I'm confused. What's the real reason?
spoon95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 08:32 AM   #8
spoon95
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: republic of China
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aluminum Donkey View Post
I've noticed this exact thing a *lot*.

I always give my wingdudes a lot more fuel than myself. They still always run out of gas when I have plenty left, and it's especially a problem when flying any of the jets that have afterburners.

I've noticed that when I'm flying straight and level in the Flanker, Fulcrum or Eagle at maybe 85-90% RPM on the gauge, my wingmen always need full afterburner to try to catch up and join the formation. When they're doing that, they can barely climb and accelerate at full AB, and invariable use up all their fuel.

I know that AI aircraft use different flight models from the human-piloted aircraft, but the fuel consumption is much, much too high.

AD
Obviously, other players have also encountered this problem
There was no such problem before DCS update
spoon95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 09:07 AM   #9
HiJack
Veteran
 
HiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,879
Default

Have you looked at Tacview file from the flight what the starting fuel and RTB fuel levels for the wingman was?
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit FTW!
My DCS Tools:
Quick Airfield information , Better trim with the X52 Pro , Tacview Glideslopes

Spoiler:

ASUS Z97-PRO, Socket-1150
Intel® Core i7-4770K Processor overclocked to @ 4.20 GHz
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz CL9 4x8GB
Sapphire Radeon TRI-X R9 390X 8GB "OC"
Samsung SSD 850PRO 1TB SSD
WD 2TB Black 3,5", SATA64MB Cache, Dual Processor, 7200RPM
Windows 7 64-bit
Philips 40" 4K LED BDM4065UC, ASUS 27” and Dell 24” screens
HiJack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 09:26 AM   #10
LooseSeal
Junior Member
 
LooseSeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoon95 View Post
Obviously, other players have also encountered this problem
There was no such problem before DCS update
Oh it's definitely existed for quite a while. I've seen this problem for the last couple of years at least. It's only going to happen on aircraft with afterburners, because the AI simply does not know how to use them efficiently. It mainly is going to happen when the AI is chasing you for formation after taking off (which is why you should loiter and wait for them, or fly very slowly to begin with) or after an engagement and they end up far away from you.

I'm fairly sure this will be fixed in the supposed AI overhaul being planned. Hopefully. Maybe.
__________________
- i7-7800k
- 32GB DDR4
- GTX 1080 8GB
- TM Warthog


DCS Modules - A-10C; M-2000C; AV8B; F/A-18C; Ka-50; FC-3; UH-1H; F-5E; Mi-28; F-14; Persian Gulf; NTTR
LooseSeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.