[W.I.P]F/A-18C : no damage on the plane after some very hard deck landings !

RaiderOne

Without any damage to the Plane (nor the Landing Gear), and without breaking the wire caught,

... it is still possible to land the F/A-18C on the Deck of the Stennis with those data at the "impact" :

IAS : 200 Kts (instead of 125~135 Kts, the delta is 54%)

Glide Slope : -7.5° (instead of -3°, the delta is 150%)

Descent Rate : -2000 ft/min (instead of -700 ft/min, the delta is 185%)

:cry:

The worse is that a very lot of DCS F/A-18C Pilots down here, have got the habit to do bad deck landings without damages ... It will hurt a lot when this bug will be adressed !? :huh:

Edited by RaiderOne

The first two quantities shouldn't actually really matter. The last one does as this is your velocity in the vertical and needs to be absorbed by the landing gear. The first two quantities result in the third.

With that said, I'm no expert and didn't read some manuals that shall not be named here but are publicly available. However I'm pretty sure that the 700 ft/min number is not the structural limit of the landing gear but about the maximum descend rate when on glideslope (or so?, i don't remember correctly tbh). What really matters is the force that needs to be absorbed by the landing gear.

What does that mean? Well, the landing gear gets compressed during touchdown and the shock strut absorbs the momentum. This happens in a certain amount of time. During that time the aircraft is decelerated from its initial descend rate to zero, resulting in a certain deceleration (or negative acceleration as a physicist would call it). The actual force furthermore depends on the mass of the aircraft as F = m * a. Therefore a heavy aircraft can stand less vv [ft/min] than a light one. I don't know the actual limits but it doesn't necessarily mean that you break something.