Some optimizing for Jester needed - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2019, 11:52 PM   #1
Larkis
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 180
Default Some optimizing for Jester needed

1. Jaster Menu will allways display on the front. No problem with that. But the headtracking set the current position of your head as centerpoin.


For example i look to the right to 2oclock and open the jester menu. The menu spawn in front 12oclock, so i move my head into that direction. But that head movement is still tracked for the menu so i am not able to select something cause the head-"line" goes much to far and maek the menu unusable.


2. Often i open the menu per accident, but cant close it without pushing some jester Buttons and give silly ordcers just to let the menu dissapear. A menu closed button would be very good.


3. On Tacan Selection, please show the name of the airport and not the code.



4. A "what did you see jester" Button would be cool. Maybe it exist and i missed it but i could really use it. Sometimes when flying with a wingman and i lost visual and cant establish visual again (cause of crappy VR Eyes) it would be cool to call Jester what plaes are in his line of sight.
Larkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 12:00 AM   #2
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 6,122
Default

I totally agree on point 1! This is really annoying ...

Regarding #2: Agree here as well, although you can close the menu without selecting any option by "selecting" the center of the menu. But a dedicated button for that would probably more ergonomic.
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *


Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 12:01 AM   #3
A Hamburgler
Member
 
A Hamburgler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 179
Default

+2 for both the first and second one.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Killer SLI/ac, I5 8600k @4.5 GHz, Evga Gtx 1080TI SC2, G.SKILL Sniper X Series 32GB DDR4 3200, WD 2TB Performance HDD, Win10, Thrustmaster Warthog, Samsung Odyssey.

MCGM - Massive Combat Game Mode A dynamic campaign for MP/SP
A Hamburgler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 08:37 PM   #4
ivo
Member
 
ivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fighter town
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larkis View Post
1. Jaster Menu will allways display on the front. No problem with that. But the headtracking set the current position of your head as centerpoin.


For example i look to the right to 2oclock and open the jester menu. The menu spawn in front 12oclock, so i move my head into that direction. But that head movement is still tracked for the menu so i am not able to select something cause the head-"line" goes much to far and maek the menu unusable.


2. Often i open the menu per accident, but cant close it without pushing some jester Buttons and give silly ordcers just to let the menu dissapear. A menu closed button would be very good.


3. On Tacan Selection, please show the name of the airport and not the code.



4. A "what did you see jester" Button would be cool. Maybe it exist and i missed it but i could really use it. Sometimes when flying with a wingman and i lost visual and cant establish visual again (cause of crappy VR Eyes) it would be cool to call Jester what plaes are in his line of sight.
+100 we need to axis control for jester menù
__________________
cpu:I7-6700k Z170 16GB Ram DDR4 Gtx 1080 8Gb DDR5 11GBs SSD 500 Gb 2 HDD 1Tb Evga supernova G2 850w Case Bequiet series 800 Silent base Win 10 pro 64 bit

My wishlist: F16C/F-35/B-17G/F4U Corsair/Yak-3/P-40C Tomawhak

ivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 11:30 PM   #5
Rlaxoxo
Senior Member
 
Rlaxoxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Croatia, Split
Posts: 1,598
Default

We need a button to "Close" the jester menu or go back 1 step
__________________

Youtube
Reddit
Rlaxoxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 11:43 PM   #6
LooseSeal
Junior Member
 
LooseSeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 99
Default

I don't think you have to give Jester an order just to close the menu..? Just (if you have Trackir) aim in the center, ie: not any of the radial options, and click the Jester button again and it closes.

My gripe at the moment is the position of 'abort start-up' right beside some of the contextual options during assisted start-up. Quite a few times now I've accidentally aborted in the middle of a start-up.
__________________
- i7-7800k
- 32GB DDR4
- GTX 1080 8GB
- TM Warthog


DCS Modules - A-10C; M-2000C; AV8B; F/A-18C; Ka-50; FC-3; UH-1H; F-5E; Mi-28; F-14; Persian Gulf; NTTR
LooseSeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:30 AM   #7
fmedges
Member
 
fmedges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 131
Default

I would like the jester menu to be red when the cockpit lights are on. It kills night vision big time.
fmedges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:43 AM   #8
VampireNZ
Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 664
Default

Sometimes if you are looking away from ctr and hit the Jester Menu button - you could be in a position that you can't look far enough from where you are to get back to the ctr to close the menu in VR.

I have had that happen and just had to look as far as I could, hit the button and hope I managed to hit a menu item to get it closed again lol.


+1 for the Jester night mode.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K 4.50Ghz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB | 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | Oculus Rift CV1 |


VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 08:15 AM   #9
davidp57
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Metz, France
Posts: 285
Default

Not sure it's been reported or not, but a bug in Jester makes him really annoying when tanking : 20-30 sentences are read one after the other as soon as I clip !
__________________
Zip - VEAF
davidp57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.