DCS P51 Campaign: Mission 7: Navigation --> Fail to reach 20,000 feet

Captn Courget

Hey everyone,

im kinda new to DCS.

Im learning the p51 mustang via its manual, spending time in its cockpit and doing the campaign.

But i have an issue while attempting the 20,000 feet gate in the 7th campaign mission.

I almost reached it the other day but i was pushing hard on my engine and it shut off few feet bellow the gate.. raging.

I am probably doing this wrong as i only use the throttle and the propeller control and my navigation controls (i can start the beast, take off, land and stuff, but i have a poor knowledge in its engine management).

So my question is the following: what am i doing wrong ? what should i do that I'm not doing ?

what would you do to climb safely at high altitudes ?

please let me know, i can't wait to master this plane ! thanks :D

I recall one of the gates was indeed difficult to reach, margins for error were tight, maybe it was the 20k one. You can reach it while flying at max climb power settings and recommended speeds, but only just.

Mind You, with current P-51 "oil bug", still not fixed in 1.2.14, the engine is more prone to failures when pushed, so You're somewhat justified :D. Just out of curiosity I'll try to fly the mission later the way I did it before the bug appeared and I'll see what happens.

i7 9700K @ stock speed, single GTX1070, 32 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win10.

I just had a go in the current version, and 20k feet is, as it should be, not something the Mustang even breaks a sweat over.

Due to the concerns about the current modelling of the oil system, I kept a higher than normal climb speed of 160 mph indicated all the way up and left the radiators fully open manually. Apart from that, 46"/2700 rpm got me there with a good rate of climb and no issues.