Can anyone help? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2018, 10:05 PM   #1
No.54 FatBen (KL-F)
Junior Member
 
No.54 FatBen (KL-F)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 14
Default Can anyone help?

Hi all

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong and why I can't get auto pilot functions to work.

I don't have a force feedback stick and force feedback is turned off.

https://youtu.be/63ZUDRYaENY
No.54 FatBen (KL-F) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 10:37 PM   #2
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 1,619
Default

If you use autostart do you have the same issue. You need to work out why the "alarm" light is on maybe revise your startup procedure.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D GTX1080Ti@1.97GHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.4GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Frankensteined Cyclic Collective and Saitek Combat Pro Pedals.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 11:35 AM   #3
Drakoz
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 147
Default

The OP figured it out and commented on his Youtube Video. It is the common issue of having an analog axis tied to the throttle lever. If there is any jitter (due to a noisy pot) on the axis, the throttle lever will move just off full throttle. This causes several things to occur, but the most frustrating one is auto pilot won't engage. You should see a master warning light, and the AP light lit on the warning panel.

The solution is to add a 5% dead set in DCS for the axis you use to control the throttle. Set the dead zone at max throttle part of travel so that if the axis jitters, it will not exceed the dead zone and disengage auto pilot. There's no need, but I also put a dead zone in the lower 5% of travel just to prevent the throttle from having jitter issues there as well.
Drakoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 01:18 PM   #4
swatstar98
Member
 
swatstar98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakoz View Post
The OP figured it out and commented on his Youtube Video. It is the common issue of having an analog axis tied to the throttle lever. If there is any jitter (due to a noisy pot) on the axis, the throttle lever will move just off full throttle. This causes several things to occur, but the most frustrating one is auto pilot won't engage. You should see a master warning light, and the AP light lit on the warning panel.

The solution is to add a 5% dead set in DCS for the axis you use to control the throttle. Set the dead zone at max throttle part of travel so that if the axis jitters, it will not exceed the dead zone and disengage auto pilot. There's no need, but I also put a dead zone in the lower 5% of travel just to prevent the throttle from having jitter issues there as well.
Okay, good to see you solved it!
__________________
"parts are falling off the french helicopter.. IT IS A MISSILE YOU IMBECILE"\\
swatstar98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.