Axis Control for Manual Prop Pitch not working? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2017, 02:13 PM   #1
Weegie
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 311
Reputation power: 6
Weegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the rough
Default Axis Control for Manual Prop Pitch not working?

Related to the recent thread on Prop Pitch in manual, which drifted somewhat I cannot get the Engine RPM axis to do anything when assigned.

Tried on 2 different controllers

Works fine using the Page Down & Page Up

Anybody find the same thing?
Weegie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 02:23 PM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,487
Reputation power: 14
razo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nice
Default

confirm that the automatic governor is in the off position (pointing forward)
__________________
Maximus VII Ranger, 4790K @ 4.00 Ghz, ASUS GTX 1070 O8G, 16 GB non-oc RAM, 250 GB SAMSUNG EVO 850 SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10 64-bit
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 04:02 PM   #3
Whisper
Member
 
Whisper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 394
Reputation power: 14
Whisper has a spectacular aura aboutWhisper has a spectacular aura aboutWhisper has a spectacular aura about
Default

The real control in the 109 is in form of 2 buttons on the throttle that move the "prop pitch clock needle" up and down. It's not an axis, they are push buttons in the real plane, you should bind them on adequate controls on your HOTAS
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 05:28 PM   #4
Weegie
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 311
Reputation power: 6
Weegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the rough
Default

Despite what is in the real 109 according to the settings I can use an axis to control the prop switch according to the Settings, so that is what I want to do

The Governor is set to Manual (Auto switch forward) and the Ignition CB is IN, V100 I think.

So why is it not working?

Without changing anything but using the Page Down/Page Up I can adjust the prop pitch

All I am asking is if anybody else has tried to use it and does it work for them



Weegie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 07:13 PM   #5
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,087
Reputation power: 38
Frederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Frederf
Default

RPM is controlled by a 3-position paddle on the throttle handle. The "Engine RPM Setting" axis control while it animates the paddle position smoothly with axis value, the result is a one-speed increase, neutral, or decrease command based on if the electrical contact behind the paddle has been made.

It's essentially the paddle increase or paddle decrease buttons bound to an axis. And for me it functions as expected.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 08:05 PM   #6
Weegie
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 311
Reputation power: 6
Weegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the roughWeegie is a jewel in the rough
Default

Thanks Frederf

Now you point it out I see what it's doing it smoothly operates the paddle but although the paddle is moving the clock dial prop pitch indicator doesn't so I don't think it's quite right (in my game anyway)

All that said the way it's implemented makes it pretty useless, so I reckon I'll just bind it to the buttons instead

Thanks everybody
Weegie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 05:08 PM   #7
Sokol1_br
Senior Member
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,621
Reputation power: 29
Sokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Well, the possibility to set Engine RPM Setting on analog axis allow use that "useless" Warthog throttle slew control as an analog momentary "ON-OFF-ON switch".

https://youtu.be/qIpZAu61OM8?t=276

Last edited by Sokol1_br; 09-14-2017 at 05:32 PM.
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.