Can uncontrolled units far away affect the GPU? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2018, 08:51 AM   #1
Fisherman82
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default Can uncontrolled units far away affect the GPU?

I asked this in the section for bugs for the release version since I wondered if it was related to the memory issue but I got no answers so I thought I should try again in this section, it is because Im trying to figure out what I may have to upgrade.

Im running free flight missions with the Harrier in both Caucasus and Nevada with good frame rates and pretty high graphics settings, totally good enough for me. In Nevada Im flying up in the north above Rachel, pretty far from Nellis.

However, if I put many uncontrolled aircraft at the ramp at Nellis my frame rates drop from about 60-70 down to 23-30. Is this because I only have 16 GB RAM or due to my MSI GTX 970 4GB graphics card?

I know that the card is below recommended system specs but it seems strange that it should be the cause for the fps drop because the uncontrolled aircraft is very far from where Im flying and is not shown on my screen at any time.

Or is it because of that I only have 16 GB RAM, is a mission with many stationary uncontrolled aircraft regarded as a heavy mission and needs 32 GB RAM?
Fisherman82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 12:50 PM   #2
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisherman82 View Post
However, if I put many uncontrolled aircraft at the ramp at Nellis my frame rates drop from about 60-70 down to 23-30.
The AI (artificial intelligence) are managed by the CPU. What is your? Overclock the CPU.
You should monitor your system with MSI Afterburner/settings/monitoring.
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.

Last edited by Demon_; 04-16-2018 at 01:32 PM.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 01:57 AM   #3
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,017
Default

Is that ok?
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:15 PM   #4
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,017
Default

Hello! Where are you?
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:28 PM   #5
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,270
Default

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !! lol
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB-3?00 - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2101/12000 ( BalsaStick-Support ) - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.