spitfire - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2017, 03:03 PM   #1
amorak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Default spitfire

Hi folks,

I am somewhat new to DCS. Originally I had the beta A-10 but could never get it to work. The controls were sluggish, among other things. As a result I am little gun-shy to buy the Spit. I have Saitek Pro Flight yoke, Saitek throttle, Saitek rudder & Logitech Attack 3. The system I use to run DCS is a iBUYPOWER i3 530 CPU, 16 GB RAM, 64-bit on Windows 7. Graphics adapter is a NVIDIA GeForce GT 220.

Can anyone offer assistance to help get me off the ground with DCS?

Thanks. James Hellyer
amorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 03:20 PM   #2
artmustel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 138
Default

Hi James. I am pretty new to DCS as well, and i can tell you you'll find a lot of enthusiast help from many DCS pilots on this forum!

I would suggest that you ask more specifically what kind of help you need and you will have a lot of excellent advice.

Now, you are asking somewhat about the Spit. I would say if you are like I am (absolute newbe to planes) you better get some experience with the included free planes, specially the TF-51. I purchased the Spit some weeks go when it went on sale at half price, and i did just because the offer. At this point I am still struggling with the TF-51/P-51D, and it is much much easier than the Spit. So the spit is in its hangar, just waiting for me to become a better pilot.


To make this shorter, if you already mastered the TF-51D, go for the Spit. If not, get a good grip of the Mustang then go for the Spit (unless the spit goes again on sale).

Of course, if for whatever reasons all you care is for the Spitfire, go for it, and people here will be glad helping you with it.

Good luck, and welcome!
artmustel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 04:02 PM   #3
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,592
Default

I'd suggest that this issue was more likely to be down to your PC. The minimum and recommended specs for DCS World are:

Minimum system requirements: OS 64-bit Windows 7/8/10; DirectX11; CPU: Core i3; RAM: 8 GB; Free hard disk space: 30 GB; Video: 2 GB RAM card, DirectX11 - compatible; requires internet activation.

Recommended system requirements: OS 64-bit Windows 7/8/10; DirectX11; CPU: Core i5+; RAM: 16GB; Hard disk space: 30 GB; Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX780 / ATI R9 290 DirectX11 or better; Joystick; requires internet activation.

If you have a machine that matches of exceeds the above, then you will find that control responses are never an issue, and as far as the Spitfire module is concerned, I can safely say this is the best ever simulated Spitfire available in the world today. What more recommendation is there than that?
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 08:20 PM   #4
amorak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Default

thanks for answering me. it seem that my system meets your requirement. I am not new to sim flying, been using fsx & cfs3 since they came out, enjoy them very much.I fly a2a's spit p-51 p-47 b-17 also I am a licensed pilot. have flown real P-40, P-51, P-47. But wanted to move on to dcs as it sounds like great system. spit is my all time favorite, so guess I will take the plunge. I'm sure I will be asking many question and thank you all in advance for your help.
james
amorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 08:31 PM   #5
artmustel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amorak View Post
thanks for answering me. it seem that my system meets your requirement. I am not new to sim flying, been using fsx & cfs3 since they came out, enjoy them very much.I fly a2a's spit p-51 p-47 b-17 also I am a licensed pilot. have flown real P-40, P-51, P-47. But wanted to move on to dcs as it sounds like great system. spit is my all time favorite, so guess I will take the plunge. I'm sure I will be asking many question and thank you all in advance for your help.
james
Hehe, a real pilot, and I was suggesting you to master the TF-51!

You will love the Spit, James. It is awesome.
artmustel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 08:49 PM   #6
Krupi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artmustel View Post
Hehe, a real pilot, and I was suggesting you to master the TF-51!

You will love the Spit, James. It is awesome.
+1 Download and try the free TF-51 then decide

Great shout artmustel, forget about the TF-51 rep inbound

Amorak I would like to hear your opinions on the TF-51 given your experience
__________________
Windows 10 Pro | ASUS RANGER VIII | i5 6600K @ 4.6GHz| EVGA GTX 780 | 16GB Ram | Corsair H100i | Corsair Carbide 540 | Oculus Rift CV1 | MFG crosswind Pedals

Project IX Cockpit
Krupi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 11:25 PM   #7
amorak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Default

thanks guys. have flying skills, but its the computer skills that are lacking.
amorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 03:12 AM   #8
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,169
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amorak View Post
The system I use to run DCS is a iBUYPOWER i3 530 CPU, 16 GB RAM, 64-bit on Windows 7. Graphics adapter is a NVIDIA GeForce GT 220.
This GT220 VGA is very old (~2009) and weak model, headache use for DCS or other modern flight game.
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 04:31 AM   #9
Rangi
Senior Member
 
Rangi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alice Springs, AU
Posts: 1,943
Default

I. Don't think the GT220 will work at all with dcs as it's not DirectX 11 compatible, minimum would be a 500 series nvidia card and even then you would have to play at reduced graphics levels.
If you can afford a new pc the Spitfire is well worth the price of admission.
__________________
PC:
Spoiler:
6600K @ 4.5 GHz, 12GB RAM, GTX 970, 32" 2K monitor.
Rangi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 06:03 AM   #10
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,619
Default

James, something doesn't add up. If You have a 220, then You shouldn't be able to play DCS at all nowadays, as the card appears to be not DX11-compatible (judging from brief description I found on the net), thus it doesn't meet minimum hardware requirements. Unless You use some old DCS version (pre-1.5), but then You will not be able to install Spitfire on that one.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.