DCS and Pimax - Page 81 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2018, 05:23 PM   #801
pegon
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 140
Default

I have decided to wait until we have something that is confirmed to run DCS on the 5k+. Not only is the 2080ti expensive, AMD has a 7nm card in the pipeline.
__________________
Intel Core i7­6700K, 32GB DDR4, 512GB PCIe SSD + 2TB HDD, GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
pegon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:31 AM   #802
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,245
Default

Yup. I'm in the 3,000 range of KS. And I'm going with 5K+ with the $100 credit. I use VR for DCS, so the clarity of 5K+ is more important.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 06:54 AM   #803
AeriaGloria
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 43
Default

Only thing that turns me off on 5k+ is the ppi is similar to rift, some reviewers said with the wide FOV individual pixels were visible. And Pimax is no compromises right? Just think I’ll regret not going with the modular more demanding 8k(probably years until we get reliable foveated rendering). Either way I’ll be happy as hell right?
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 07:10 AM   #804
ram0506
Member
 
ram0506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 974
Default

Biggest problem I see for both Pimax headsets in DCS will be the performance. Getting constant 91Hz for the 5K+ or 80Hz for the 8K will be nearly impossible, no matter which hardware you use. And having lower fps will cause noticeable stuttering. SweViver told me, that a 60Hz mode is planned. As we don`t have any infos yet about the actual situation of other performance aids, like brainwarp, ASW or foveated rendering with eye tracking, I have high hopes on this 60Hz mode.
__________________
I7 6700K @ 4,4Ghz, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming, EVGA GTX1080Ti SC, 32 GB DDR4 @ 3000, Win10 64, 2560x1080 LG 34UM65-P, VKB Gunfighter II MCG Pro, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals, Oculus Rift CV1
ram0506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 09:37 AM   #805
Boris
Senior Member
 
Boris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ram0506 View Post
Biggest problem I see for both Pimax headsets in DCS will be the performance. Getting constant 91Hz for the 5K+ or 80Hz for the 8K will be nearly impossible, no matter which hardware you use. And having lower fps will cause noticeable stuttering. SweViver told me, that a 60Hz mode is planned. As we don`t have any infos yet about the actual situation of other performance aids, like brainwarp, ASW or foveated rendering with eye tracking, I have high hopes on this 60Hz mode.
While we don't know how much it will help, we do know that Brainwarp and further software improvements are coming and that they will help to a lesser or greater extent.

Even then, I fear that a 2080ti will be needed for acceptable performance. I'm a late backer (6000+), so I have a little more time and I hope that the 2080ti will go down in price somewhat in the months after launch.
__________________
PC Specs / Hardware: MSI z370 Gaming Plus Mainboard, Intel 8700k clocked to 5GHz, MSI 1080 Ti 11G, 32GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM
Displays: Philips BDM4065UC 60Hz 4K UHD Screen, Oculus Rift CV1
Controllers / Peripherals: VPC MongoosT-50, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, modded MS FFB2/CH Combatstick, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Gametrix JetSeat
OS: Windows 10 Home Creator's Update
Boris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:51 PM   #806
hideki2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 163
Default

According to this review at 2.23.20 The performance in DCS is terrible.
https://youtu.be/bcZ0CXP0qgU?t=2h23m20s
hideki2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:00 PM   #807
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hideki2 View Post
According to this review at 2.23.20 The performance in DCS is terrible.
https://youtu.be/bcZ0CXP0qgU?t=2h23m20s

Keep in mind he isn't a huge DCS player... not sure if he had his settings done correctly. Looks like his SS is set to possibly 2.0? That is nuts... on top of that steam 30% SS.



I think we will get a much better idea once primary DCS players get their hands on it, like Jabbers.
__________________
i7 6700k - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:14 PM   #808
Boris
Senior Member
 
Boris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StandingCow View Post
Keep in mind he isn't a huge DCS player... not sure if he had his settings done correctly. Looks like his SS is set to possibly 2.0? That is nuts... on top of that steam 30% SS.



I think we will get a much better idea once primary DCS players get their hands on it, like Jabbers.
Exactly, Sweviver is having such significant framerate issues because he is supersampling a already huge resolution.
He says that you need to supersample in order to get a good image, but I don't see why you couldn't comfortably play it at a PD of 1.0. Surely even this must still look better than on the Rift?
__________________
PC Specs / Hardware: MSI z370 Gaming Plus Mainboard, Intel 8700k clocked to 5GHz, MSI 1080 Ti 11G, 32GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM
Displays: Philips BDM4065UC 60Hz 4K UHD Screen, Oculus Rift CV1
Controllers / Peripherals: VPC MongoosT-50, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, modded MS FFB2/CH Combatstick, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Gametrix JetSeat
OS: Windows 10 Home Creator's Update
Boris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:21 PM   #809
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boris View Post
Exactly, Sweviver is having such significant framerate issues because he is supersampling a already huge resolution.
He says that you need to supersample in order to get a good image, but I don't see why you couldn't comfortably play it at a PD of 1.0. Surely even this must still look better than on the Rift?
One would think so, but also keep in mind it is displaying a much larger image area so I would think that would affect the image quality to some degree.

I am looking forward to hearing reports from regular DCS players once they get their hands on the units.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Elite |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|Windows 10 64 bit
dburne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:30 PM   #810
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boris View Post
Exactly, Sweviver is having such significant framerate issues because he is supersampling a already huge resolution.
He says that you need to supersample in order to get a good image, but I don't see why you couldn't comfortably play it at a PD of 1.0. Surely even this must still look better than on the Rift?
Quite.i thought the key point to the pimax was it’s res, thus allowing a PD of 1, but at hires, compared to a Rift at Pd 1.5, but pants res
__________________
System: i5 2500@3.8Ghz, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, VPC T50/Mongoose, CH Throttle, MFG Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.