TWS AUTO Azimuth - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2020, 09:01 PM   #1
Baikingu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default TWS AUTO Azimuth

Quick question.


When locking a target in TWS and on AUTO Azimuth centering.
Should the radar elevation also follow the target if it dives/climbs?

As of now it does not. And i can't adjust my radar elevation manualy either. When in AUTO Azimuth.
Baikingu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 11:00 PM   #2
Tholozor
Member
 
Tholozor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 802
Default

It does, the problem is that the numbers on the TDC aren't updating as it's tracking.
__________________
REAPER 51 | Tholozor
Tholozor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 01:21 AM   #3
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 2,191
Default

Like Tholozor says, it does work. Notice the elevation caret on the left side of the radar display, it goes up/down.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro, 970 Evo Plus, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 04:17 PM   #4
Baikingu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

The thing is that as soon as I see the target drop below or climb above my scan elevation I loose lock (after about 3 sec [hit memory]) and the contact disappears from the radar-scope. And its not because I get notched.
Baikingu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 10:48 PM   #5
hein22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 512
Default

A track would help us help you.
__________________
Stay safe
hein22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 01:21 AM   #6
Notso
Member
 
Notso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Viva Las Vegas
Posts: 651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikingu View Post
The thing is that as soon as I see the target drop below or climb above my scan elevation I loose lock (after about 3 sec [hit memory]) and the contact disappears from the radar-scope. And its not because I get notched.
I was seeing this a lot today too. I had two bandits locked up on the nose in TWS auto - with an L&S and a DT2. Inexplicably, the radar would drop lock and all I would get are the red surveillance track files from AWACS. And I could never get them back unless I went back to RWS and then locked them in STT. Very frustrating.
__________________
System HW: i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM TFRP pedals. SW: 2.5.6 OB
Notso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 01:24 AM   #7
hein22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 512
Default

Again, with a track we might prove to ED that we are in front of a bug. Without one is going to be difficult.
__________________
Stay safe
hein22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 01:26 AM   #8
Notso
Member
 
Notso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Viva Las Vegas
Posts: 651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hein22 View Post
Again, with a track we might prove to ED that we are in front of a bug. Without one is going to be difficult.
Ok I'll try to see if I can get a track tonight.
__________________
System HW: i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM TFRP pedals. SW: 2.5.6 OB
Notso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 07:45 PM   #9
Baikingu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

I did more testing and sure enough the elevation < does change with the target. But the TDC dosent update. So then I guess i lose lock because of sudden aspect change from the target maybe.
Baikingu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 08:10 PM   #10
hein22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikingu View Post
I did more testing and sure enough the elevation < does change with the target. But the TDC dosent update. So then I guess i lose lock because of sudden aspect change from the target maybe.
I also did many tests and the target is followed in elevation correctly. However I did lose lock sometimes for reasons unknown.
__________________
Stay safe
hein22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.