ME: Radio Transmission Issue - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2018, 01:25 AM   #1
SpecterDC13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Exclamation ME: Radio Transmission Issue

So I was creating a mission and was setting up a trigger for a radio transmission to be played and when I selected "open" to select an audio file I clicked on the wrong one which was not an .ogg file and did not realize it until I tried to press play to preview it. When I tried to click "open" again to select a new file it will not open the file menu.

I already tried closing DCS and reopening it and even tried repairing it.

Does anyone else have this problem and if so do you have a fix? Or do I just wait for the next update?
SpecterDC13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 02:52 AM   #2
doodenkoff
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 411
Default

Did you try deleting the trigger and recreating it?
__________________
Win 10 | i7 4770 @ 3.5GHz | 32GB DDR3 | 6 GB GTX1060
doodenkoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 10:13 AM   #3
SpecterDC13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doodenkoff View Post
Did you try deleting the trigger and recreating it?
Yes I have tried that multiple times. The mission editor allows me to click "open" and pulls up the file selector for .lua files, but as far as Radio Transmissions or Sounds it will not let me open the file selector for .ogg files for some strange reason.


I have tried creating new missions with all new triggers and the same thing still happens.
SpecterDC13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 11:44 AM   #4
Hardcard
Member
 
Hardcard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 206
Default

Make backup copies of your key mappings, custom missions, etc. then delete your DCS folder over C:\Users\UserName\Saved Games\DCS

Also, you can try repairing your DCS installation using cmd:

Code:
Gamedir\bin>DCS_updater.exe repair
See if that does the trick.
Hardcard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 08:18 AM   #5
SpecterDC13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcard View Post
Make backup copies of your key mappings, custom missions, etc. then delete your DCS folder over C:\Users\UserName\Saved Games\DCS

Also, you can try repairing your DCS installation using cmd:

Code:
Gamedir\bin>DCS_updater.exe repair
See if that does the trick.
Alright I will give it a try and let you know if that works.
__________________
My setup: Alienware 17 R5 / GTX 1080 OC / i9 8950HK 5GHz / 32GB RAM / 500GB M.2 / 1TB HDD / 1440p 120Hz G-Sync Display / TM Warthog HOTAS / TM Cougar MFD's / TM TFRP Rudder Pedals / TrackIR
SpecterDC13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 09:45 AM   #6
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,410
Default

You could try to open the .miz file with a compress software (I use WinRar), locate the wrong sound file within it and delete it from there. Make a backup of the .miz first, just in case.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 03:56 PM   #7
beppe_goodoldrebel
Member
 
beppe_goodoldrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 396
Default

had the same issue 3 days ago. try "sound to xxx" command with the same ogg file.
I know it's not the same command but for me it worked.

I think something was wrong in the ogg file format with RADIO TRANSMISSION.
beppe_goodoldrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:18 AM   #8
SpecterDC13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Default

So I tried everything and ended up deleting it all together and redownloading DCS it worked at first but then I ran into the same issue this time with an actual .ogg file. Soooooooo yeah I am at a lost now.
__________________
My setup: Alienware 17 R5 / GTX 1080 OC / i9 8950HK 5GHz / 32GB RAM / 500GB M.2 / 1TB HDD / 1440p 120Hz G-Sync Display / TM Warthog HOTAS / TM Cougar MFD's / TM TFRP Rudder Pedals / TrackIR
SpecterDC13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 10:25 PM   #9
SpecterDC13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Default

So using notepad++ I found the line that had the bad mp3 audio and deleted and it fixed it now I can open up the file selector again and choose the correct file.
__________________
My setup: Alienware 17 R5 / GTX 1080 OC / i9 8950HK 5GHz / 32GB RAM / 500GB M.2 / 1TB HDD / 1440p 120Hz G-Sync Display / TM Warthog HOTAS / TM Cougar MFD's / TM TFRP Rudder Pedals / TrackIR
SpecterDC13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mission editor, mission editor issues

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.