DCS World Flight Modelling Principles - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2020, 03:39 PM   #41
SmirkingGerbil
Member
 
SmirkingGerbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fargo007 View Post
I've never taken a helicopter off or landed one in real life, but have substantial experience in DCS/VR.

I got over a half hour of time on a military 206C sim.

Not only was I able to "fly" it, I was able to do so very precisely, and even to hot dog with it. Turning about the nose, landing on top of a small building, on an LHA, all of it.

I was assured that flying this sim means I could fly the actual helo.

DCS works for this purpose, and it works well.
Another fella had the same experience you did - I wonder if it would be the same for us fixed wing peasants?

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=249291&page=4
__________________
Pointy end hurt! Fire burn!!
SmirkingGerbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2020, 03:58 PM   #42
fargo007
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmirkingGerbil View Post
Another fella had the same experience you did - I wonder if it would be the same for us fixed wing peasants?

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=249291&page=4
I would imagine yes it would be. Especially because flying fixed wing once airborne is orders of magnitude easier in a modern fighter aircraft.

Landing may be a bit of a different story though!

It's really a testament to the accuracy of the flight models in DCS, and the fidelity that they have put into the aircraft. Any one of the guys I fly with in squadron could have done the exact same thing.

At least as far as the basics, DCS can give you the monkey skills 100%. And DCS was superior in more ways than one.

Based upon what I saw, if they had a physical cockpit that lined up with what you see in VR, such that the pilot can actually flick the switches and turn the knobs physically, and modeled the hydraulic forces on the controls, it's game over for these multi-million dollar, huge hydraulic tractor-trailer sized sims.
__________________



Are you ready to take your chopper flying skills to the next level?
Then check out http://www.blacksharkden.com/ Or visit us on Discord https://discord.gg/kaayJ5z and talk to some of our awesome pilots today.
fargo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 09:59 AM   #43
CecileLind
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to CecileLind
Default

It's a pleasure to be able to open my eyes when I rarely see such useful things.
The article is very useful.
CecileLind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 08:38 AM   #44
Emmer
Member
 
Emmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On your six!
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David OC View Post
All the simulations are taken as far as possible of course. It's still not the real dynamic thing, so never 100% (Edge of flight envelope) on a home pc. Some seem to think you can achieve.

It's still the best on the market by far and possibly as good or better as D level sims irl.



These guy's talk about how there million dollar mill sims were still not quite right. There seems to be a few vocal military pilots that think DCS on a (home pc) should be as good or better than the sims they used in the military, without the budget.

Full video here
Agreed!
__________________
http://www.fulltimepilots.nl/Sigs/LLTM2014.jpg

Emmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 09:17 AM   #45
Hummingbird
Veteran
 
Hummingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Figaro9 View Post
FM is more accurate than your chart reading, try again.
That's pretty rich from someone who litterally doesn't understand what the chart says. I'd say learn to read such charts and understand what is ITR and what is STR before you criticize others of not reading it correctly. Getting a figure a tiny bit off (0.64 vs 0.67) is forgivable, but not even understanding what the chart is saying, like you, well sorry but spits you right out of the conversation.


RL ITR as pr. HAF manual:
26,000 lbs = 9.0 G @ 0.67
22,000 lbs = 9.0 G @ 0.62

This is what the DCS F-16 needs to match.

Last edited by Hummingbird; 07-31-2020 at 09:28 AM.
Hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 01:31 PM   #46
gavagai
Senior Member
 
gavagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,176
Default

Quote:
These guy's talk about how there million dollar mill sims were still not quite right. There seems to be a few vocal military pilots that think DCS on a (home pc) should be as good or better than the sims they used in the military, without the budget.
A little bird told me that they spend 5 million USD/year on a simulator at Edwards AFB, and none of the pilots want to use it.
__________________
Ryzen 2700x - AsRock x470 Master SLI/ac - 8gb EVGA 1070 - 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX ddr4 @3.2ghz - Win 10 - MSFFB2 - CH Pro pedals - TWCS throttle - Trackir 5
gavagai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 04:52 PM   #47
Shadow KT
Senior Member
 
Shadow KT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,978
Default

Can this be moved to the Community News section?
__________________
'Shadow'

Everybody gotta be offended and take it personally now-a-days
Shadow KT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 04:53 AM   #48
tusler
Member
 
tusler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hemet,CA
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow KT View Post
Can this be moved to the Community News section?
I second the motion!
__________________
Ask Jesus for Forgiveness before you takeoff !
PC=Win 10 HP 64 bit, Gigabyte Z390, Intel I5-9600k, 32 gig ram, Nvidia 1070 8gig video. TM HOTAS WARTHOG with Saitek Pedals
tusler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:35 PM   #49
Sarge55
Senior Member
 
Sarge55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 1,460
Default

Third
__________________

i7 10700K OC 5.1GHZ / 500GB SSD & 1TB M:2 & 4TB HDD / MSI Gaming MB / GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 / TrackIR 4 Pro / CH Pedals / TM Warthog
Sarge55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 10:31 PM   #50
Stearmandriver
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 61
Default

This is good stuff! I'm curious; has anyone found a way to modify the ground effect for a given aircraft? Just curious if I can mod (or comment out completely) the reversed ground effect as it currently affects the Hornet. I can't seem to find a parameter defined for ground effect, yet it seems it would have to be aircraft specific since not all DCS aircraft have the ground effect reversed?
Stearmandriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.