[RESOLVED] Nozzles not closing in SEC mode

bkthunder

According to Natops (and the F-16 as well - same engine), in SEC mode the nozzle closes completely and there is a slight rise in RPM. This is not currently modeled in the F-14.

Edited by IronMike

Windows 10 - Intel i7 7700K 4.2 Ghz (no OC) - Asus Strix GTX 1080 8Gb - 16GB DDR4 (3000 MHz) - SSD 500GB + WD Black FZEX 1TB 6Gb/s

According to Natops (and the F-16 as well - same engine), in SEC mode the nozzle closes completely and there is a slight rise in RPM. This is not currently modeled in the F-14.

Agreed. I made post about this a few days ago. Someone said they’d take a look at it. Hopefully fix incoming soon.

It’s in HB’s own manual also. I was actually investigating the engines yesterday and noticed Secondary Mode doesn’t appear to be implemented, among other odd behaviors.

I never worked on the F-14, but I have a lot of engine run experience with F-110’s, in test cell and on the F-16. The cockpit engine tapes in the 14 don’t react how I’d expect at all to throttle movements. The RPM tape stays at 100% through a wide range of throttle positions, FF barely rises with AB, and so on.

The 14 and 16 could be rigged and scheduled totally different though so who knows.

(Aside, did ED ever properly model T5 Override on their TF-34’s? It hadn’t been by the time I stopped playing.)

SEC mode is modeled, this just sounds like a nozzle bug.

Thanks for chiming in!

I think a rise in RPM should also happen when the nozzle closes, so it doesn't seem to be just a visual bug.

Windows 10 - Intel i7 7700K 4.2 Ghz (no OC) - Asus Strix GTX 1080 8Gb - 16GB DDR4 (3000 MHz) - SSD 500GB + WD Black FZEX 1TB 6Gb/s

Thanks for chiming in!

I think a rise in RPM should also happen when the nozzle closes, so it doesn't seem to be just a visual bug.

Do you have a source for that? I haven’t read anything indicating the RPM should rise outside of increased windmilling speed.

Systems Engineer & FM Modeler

Heatblur Simulations