Air to Ground radar? - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2019, 07:39 AM   #31
danvac
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 178
Default

@QuiGon Can you point to post which will prove that engineer working on that left company...

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Because it's difficult and a lot of work to implement. And because EDs original engineer for that task left the company.

Last edited by danvac; 09-17-2019 at 08:03 AM.
danvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 07:59 AM   #32
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danvac View Post
@QuiGon Can you point to post which will prove that engineer working on that left company or you are just trolling?
I'm not trolling, thanks...

I'm trying to find the original post where ED announced that their A/G radar engineer left the company, but it's giving me a hard time to find it again.
Here's a post of me and someone else talking about it a while ago: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...88&postcount=7


Edit: Still can't find the original announcement, but here's a post from Wags, where he mentions it too: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...0&postcount=80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wags View Post
Supporting tech like the A/G radar (we lost our original engineer on this) and an improved FLIR rendering system are in work and are fundamental to A/G radar implementation and the ATFLIR.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!


Last edited by QuiGon; 09-17-2019 at 08:01 AM.
QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:04 AM   #33
danvac
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 178
Default

Thanks, anyway if he was working just on core technology in engine itself it should not matter that much. (if that was completed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wags View Post
There is a difference between the core AG radar rendering technology and the implementation of that tech to a specific pod. The latter just started.

Thanks

Last edited by danvac; 09-17-2019 at 08:17 AM.
danvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:13 AM   #34
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danvac View Post
Thanks, anyway if he was working just on core technology in engine itself it should not matter that much.
Well, the respective core technology is a prerequisite for the actual implementation of the Hornet A/G radar.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 04:31 PM   #35
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danvac View Post
Thanks, anyway if he was working just on core technology in engine itself it should not matter that much. (if that was completed)
LOL... ASSuming he wrote understandable well documented code and some other guy can figure what sorts of simplifications from the basic physics he was trying to make based on whatever notes he did or didn't keep. My guess is they probably had to (mostly) start over.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 04:52 PM   #36
Hog_No32
Member
 
Hog_No32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
LOL... ASSuming he wrote understandable well documented code and some other guy can figure what sorts of simplifications from the basic physics he was trying to make based on whatever notes he did or didn't keep. My guess is they probably had to (mostly) start over.
Which we should be happy about because it significantly increases the chances for clean code provided the requirements you correctly stated would not be met!
Hog_No32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 07:46 PM   #37
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hog_No32 View Post
Which we should be happy about because it significantly increases the chances for clean code provided the requirements you correctly stated would not be met!
I'm just pointing out one of the many very common issues in the programming world that DCS has to deal with. Yes I know folks are supposed to comment their code etc. But how well that happens and how readable and logically its presented still tend to vary greatly in my experience depending both on the programmers and on the company culture and management to some extent.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:38 PM   #38
NevSmith
Junior Member
 
NevSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany / Duesseldorf
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpto View Post
It's in the works. And it is a factor making me not having it. Yet (give me a Viper, please )

See here a summary of what's done and to do.
https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...4&postcount=13
Cheers.
...

But it wouldn't be implemented in the Viper either at the first stages of development, or did I miss something ?!


Sorry, no offence, question comes just for clarification... .


All the best.
NevSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 09:07 PM   #39
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NevSmith View Post
But it wouldn't be implemented in the Viper either at the first stages of development, or did I miss something ?!


Sorry, no offence, question comes just for clarification... .


All the best.
Nope. Not in the viper at first. I'd hope the hornet got it first and then the Viper, that would save ED alot of PR headaches .

Interestingly Deka has shown a working ground mapping radar implementation for the JF17. But then again so does HB with the viggen.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.