R-27ER Experiment & Findings

OB1

Well... This all started when I got really bored, however I think these findings should be shared, discussed and possibly have action taken to improve some aspects of the missile.

I am no missile expert and thus is why I'd like to get some input from people in the know or at least educated guesses/opinions on this matter.

I have attached 5 TacView tracks that you should have a look at to determine for yourselves if the experiment is valid. I was able to get consistent results for each.

Each experiment was conducted with an Su-27 as the launching aircraft and a drone using a Mirage M2000 on a static course deploying chaff.

Basically this shows the ineffectiveness of the R-27 and I believe to an unrealistic level. Furthermore I can only assume that the modelling of how the semi-active missiles track are incorrect, possibly on part of the radar's modelling.

Behaviour of the R-27 appears to mimic the behaviour of an active missile apart from requiring constant lock from the launching aircraft. The missile recognises all chaff and can guide to chaff that are not being illuminated by radar, chaff that are outside the radar cone. If someone can clarify this and has information on the area of radar illumination when the radar is in STT mode would be much appreciated.

In a 1v1 situation all the opposing aircraft is required to do is crank on gimbal limits at low cruise speed and chaff without any evasive manoeuvre while closing for the kill.

If someone has any history documentation on the testing of the R-27 would be awesome. I would assume the R-27 in testing would have hit chaff deploying non-manoeuvring drones with ease.

Thanks for your input.

TackView Tracks.zip

• Replies 482
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The alternative to the current modeling is basically a lot of extra work for ED and you'd get a very similar result.