Warthog throttle query re AB point - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2020, 07:10 AM   #1
markturner1960
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 321
Default Warthog throttle query re AB point

Hi, is there a way to move the point at which the afterburner kicks in, in the sim forward physically on the throttle please? I have removed my physical detent and would like to make use of increased range of movement. Thanks
__________________
System specs: Scan 3XS i9 9900K @5ghz, 32GB Corsair veng DDR4 2666, EVGA GTX 2080ti Win 10. Rift CV1 , 40 inch Phillips monitor. Real simulator FSSB R3 with F-16 SGRH grip and warthog with F-18 grip, plus TM MFD's Tir5. Winwing F-18 throttle
markturner1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 07:20 AM   #2
Thinder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markturner1960 View Post
Hi, is there a way to move the point at which the afterburner kicks in, in the sim forward physically on the throttle please? I have removed my physical detent and would like to make use of increased range of movement. Thanks
I think you have setting curves on the Throttle axis like all other axis, you'll need to set it up so the A-B kicks-in at your desired throttle setting.
Thinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 07:33 AM   #3
gorky85
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 11
Default

Yes, you have to adjust throttle curves to match detent point. It's not complicated, just requires some messing around with manual curves, you will be done with it in 5 minutes max. This is the reason I love my Warthog throttle, that detent is making it so much easier to control AB usage.
gorky85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:33 AM   #4
Ant0ine
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: France - Nord - 59510
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markturner1960 View Post
Hi, is there a way to move the point at which the afterburner kicks in, in the sim forward physically on the throttle please? I have removed my physical detent and would like to make use of increased range of movement. Thanks
Yes..

Again,.. https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=250033

Sorry but I can not explain better than what I did there. If that is too hard, then just use the in game user response curve.
Ant0ine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 11:01 AM   #5
markturner1960
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 321
Default

Thanks, I am struggling with this so please bear with me. Antoine, I will try following your guide again later, as could not do it the first time.

I have been trying to see how adjusting the curves would move the point at which the AB kicks in, but have not managed to do anything that seems to affect this.
I am finding this somewhat frustrating, as I am not stupid, but just can’t seem to figure out what to do. I have watched Redkites guide and read Antoines thread several times, but am not getting it - to the point where I have had to do something else for an hour as it was really pissing me off!

Let’s just talk about the user curves here for now, as always good to start at the basics before diving into Antoines’ deeper waters......

So I have the black square which shows physically where the throttle currently is. How does DCS decide where 100 rpm or AB is then for a particular jet (and let’s just consider the hornet here)

If I want move my 100 rpm point nearer to the end of the travel range, exactly how would I do this within DCS? step by step, rather than just “adjust the curves”.
__________________
System specs: Scan 3XS i9 9900K @5ghz, 32GB Corsair veng DDR4 2666, EVGA GTX 2080ti Win 10. Rift CV1 , 40 inch Phillips monitor. Real simulator FSSB R3 with F-16 SGRH grip and warthog with F-18 grip, plus TM MFD's Tir5. Winwing F-18 throttle
markturner1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:05 PM   #6
CBStu
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 343
Default

I just wanted to match AB kick in to the detent position. I did a free flight and 'F2' view so I was looking at the back of the jet. I moved 'curvature' from zero to 8 or 9. There seems to be a little bit of slop in the system. When I first did it I set it at 10 and later realized it went into AB at the correct position but coming out of AB there would still be a partial AB when I pulled the throttle back just off the detent. So 8 or 9 fixed that.
CBStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 07:52 AM   #7
Ant0ine
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: France - Nord - 59510
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markturner1960 View Post
Thanks, I am struggling with this so please bear with me. Antoine, I will try following your guide again later, as could not do it the first time.

I have been trying to see how adjusting the curves would move the point at which the AB kicks in, but have not managed to do anything that seems to affect this.
I am finding this somewhat frustrating, as I am not stupid, but just can’t seem to figure out what to do. I have watched Redkites guide and read Antoines thread several times, but am not getting it - to the point where I have had to do something else for an hour as it was really pissing me off!

Let’s just talk about the user curves here for now, as always good to start at the basics before diving into Antoines’ deeper waters......

So I have the black square which shows physically where the throttle currently is. How does DCS decide where 100 rpm or AB is then for a particular jet (and let’s just consider the hornet here)

If I want move my 100 rpm point nearer to the end of the travel range, exactly how would I do this within DCS? step by step, rather than just “adjust the curves”.
Feel free to contact me directly on Discord, hon0#0570.
Or on the Hotas/Hosas/Simpit Discord, which is born from r/hotas.
https://discord.gg/szqaJE7

We could share our screen and it would be much easier for me to teach you how to do that weird curve things. With Target Script Editor or Joystick Gremlin.

Last edited by Ant0ine; 05-25-2020 at 07:10 PM.
Ant0ine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 06:19 PM   #8
markturner1960
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 321
Default

Thanks Antoine, really appreciate the offer, I think I will have some time on wednesday or Thursday during the day, if that works for you. never used discord, will look into this....
__________________
System specs: Scan 3XS i9 9900K @5ghz, 32GB Corsair veng DDR4 2666, EVGA GTX 2080ti Win 10. Rift CV1 , 40 inch Phillips monitor. Real simulator FSSB R3 with F-16 SGRH grip and warthog with F-18 grip, plus TM MFD's Tir5. Winwing F-18 throttle
markturner1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:32 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.