A few Newbie questions..Do they go here?

MajBach

Hi, everyone. I've done a lot of reading so far on this forum, so glad it's here.

On one of my few posts I mentioned I'm a retired bush pilot - kinda; and, I discovered this game only a few months ago (just starting to realize just how much I've been missing) and I decided to buy yet another laptop but one for gaming specifically so I could play DCS. I know not ideal, but I'm with the Coast Guard now and I need the mobility.

Sad to read today that my 1060 6GB probably wont be enough to power a VR but so far I am happy with several monitors, and besides, by the time I am good enough to appreciate VR, they'll probably be available in the Dollar Stores.

I've just finished training on the Su-25 and it was enough to realize I'm going to really enjoy this game and so I've decided I want to download new modules. I think I will get the FC3 pak rather than jump in head first to clicky cockpits and giant PoHs, which brings me to my first question:

Why are clickable cockpits so much better? And, how to you operate within one? I can't fly stick with my left hand and using a mouse lefty is damn near impossible but the touchpad is do-able for my views along with the hats on the joystick. My understanding of the clicky cockpit is you have to activate the mouse cursor, move the pointer and click. Seems rather the long way to do just a keyboard shortcut so what am I missing.?

How popular are touchscreen monitors for this purpose? I read today I may be able to get one of my other laptops (that is a touch screen) set up as another monitor. Has anyone else tried this with success?

Do modules for DCS go on sale often or should I bite the bullet and pay full price?

Thanks for you time, I'm sure I'll have more questions in the near future and I promise to get to the point quicker next time.

Maj

**UPDATE**

Just thought of a few more:

Why does DCS periodically pause/resume? Like 1 second or less?