How Do You Operate FC3 Jet Systems? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2019, 12:49 AM   #1
Pilot905
Junior Member
 
Pilot905's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Default How Do You Operate FC3 Jet Systems?

If I understood correctly the jets included in the FC3 Module do not have clickable cockpits. Does this mean you have to use keyboard clicks or HOTAS assigned buttons to control procedures such as locking on ground weapons, operating navigation, starting engines, etc that would normally be handled by the clickable cockpit?

Assuming that this is true does this mean the cockpit procedures are simplified (since its just a few keyboard clicks) as compared to what you would normally have to do in a clickable cockpit?

Thank you in advance for your feedback.
Pilot905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 01:15 AM   #2
XtraChrisP
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 219
Default

Yep pretty simple and straight forward. One key press to turn on the electrics, a few key presses will get your engines turning, and then you're ready to taxi. Check your bindings. The number keys switch modes Nav/A2A/A2G etc. Ditto for cycling waypoints and weapons.

Simplified controls mean simplified systems, right? You can't do some of the more advanced things like set waypoints, program flight plans and weapons parameters, tune your radios. That kind of stuff. They still feel great to fly, but you're missing the full on system's interaction that you would get from, say, A-10C or F/A-18C. Less of a learning curve, and if you have a good stick, you can map pretty much anything you would need to your HOTAS. Great for VR!
XtraChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:47 AM   #3
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pocari Pocky
Posts: 4,399
Default

I find FC3 modules to be far more difficult in handling in-cockpit systems in the sense that a) remembering a plethora of keyboard combos, and b) finding those on the keyboard during a VR session makes it a real challenge (unless, of course, you map a ton of these to your HOTAS).

More "complex" modules with clickable buttons, switches and dials makes this a lot easier as you simply click where you need to in order to get things done (this also allows you to have more manageable HOTAS settings).

So the AHI (I made that up just now: Aircraft-Human-Interface) in FC3 is a lot more difficult compared to the full fidelity modules that DCS offers.
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.0GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | 32GB DDR4 RAM | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Glear: HP Reverb | Jetseat 908 | Monstertech MTX Sim Rig | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II w/ MCG PRO (center mount) | VKB Gunfighter /w SCG-R Premium (side mount)




rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 04:58 AM   #4
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 4,180
Default

Less control of systems but most of the keyboard commands are common to all the birds. So, once you know them... “G” (for instance) always raises the landing gear, if they are lowered, and lowers them, if they are raised, regardless of the aircraft.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:43 PM   #5
Pilot905
Junior Member
 
Pilot905's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Default

Is the documentation for where all the commands are bound posted in some sort of PDF that comes with FC3 or do you have to go into the DCS FC3 module and examine the HOTAS and keyboard mappings line by line? thanks.

Last edited by Pilot905; 09-21-2019 at 02:52 PM.
Pilot905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 03:24 PM   #6
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 4,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot905 View Post
Is the documentation for where all the commands are bound posted in some sort of PDF that comes with FC3...
Of course not. That would make it convenient.

There are keyboard maps around, I think, and some older stick mappings as well but the latter's usefulness would depend on your flight stick/gear, of course.


Quote:
...or do you have to go into the DCS FC3 module and examine the HOTAS and keyboard mappings line by line? thanks.
Yes, unfortunately. It'd be nice if the common mappings were all under one heading such as FC3 and only dissimilar items were under the individual aircraft but...
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.

Last edited by Ironhand; 09-21-2019 at 03:27 PM.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 03:40 PM   #7
-0303-
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 198
Default

The controls will NOT automatically be sensible (they NEVER are). The program takes a guess at your peripherals. I always get a dozen buttons tied to to my pedals which I have to delete.

You must go through the setup line by line. Obviously some commands are more important than others. Especially verify that all control axis (pitch, rudder, aileron) are correct. Look at the line left to right and see that they only are tied where they should be tied. Pulled my hair for a while before realizing the little joystick on top of the throttle had defaulted to rudder pedals. Kept touching this intermittently and couldn't understand why the rudders sometimes went crazy.

You can make an HTML file from inside the "Adjust Controls". Rightmost "Make HTML" will make an html file with commands listed.
-0303- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 09:04 AM   #8
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhand View Post
Of course not. That would make it convenient.
Just to be clear: There is a PDF manual (even multuiple manuals for each FC3 bird IIRC). I don't know if it lists the keybinds or not, but they are listed in the DCS control settings anyways.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 01:35 PM   #9
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 4,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
Just to be clear: There is a PDF manual (even multuiple manuals for each FC3 bird IIRC). I don't know if it lists the keybinds or not, but they are listed in the DCS control settings anyways.
I thought he was asking if there was a document listing the commands in a single place. True, each aircraft has a dedicated manual but none of the manuals list the commands in a single location. They are distributed throughout the manual based on the topic. And some have no mention at all.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 02:02 PM   #10
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhand View Post
I thought he was asking if there was a document listing the commands in a single place. True, each aircraft has a dedicated manual but none of the manuals list the commands in a single location. They are distributed throughout the manual based on the topic. And some have no mention at all.
Yes, my comment was just in case someone got the impression that there are no manuals at all
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:12 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.