Getting real tired of extreme FOVs in different modules - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2017, 10:48 PM   #11
AbortedMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 169
Reputation power: 5
AbortedMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhukov032186 View Post
Just use 'zoom in slow' 'zoom out slow' on a hat switch, so you can adjust it on the fly. It's annoying but not too serious. Add the move back and forward command for extra 'comfy spot' finding :p
I'm using exactly this already. After zooming in it surprisingly takes a lot of cycles to get back to the normal FOV in the heat of flying.

In any case, there should be a FOV option slider for DCS as a whole or at least for each module.
AbortedMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 10:50 PM   #12
AbortedMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 169
Reputation power: 5
AbortedMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezle View Post
People with three monitors.


Do this, adjust it so the default position is where you like it.
I have three monitors and still don't use the default extremely wide FOV. It's like novelty joke wide!

Thanks for the axis tip.
AbortedMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 11:25 PM   #13
Deezle
Member
 
Deezle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: WA State
Posts: 617
Reputation power: 6
Deezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbortedMan View Post
I have three monitors and still don't use the default extremely wide FOV. It's like novelty joke wide!

Thanks for the axis tip.
Perhaps because you use the triple viewport instead of a single viewport. Except for the Mi8 with it's FOV slider option, I had to take the FOV to 160 for all the other modules, default is 140 IIRC, and was certainly not wide enough. I do agree with you though, all modules should have an FOV slider like the Mi8. You can get around the integrity check by adding the view info for each aircraft to the server.lua file, but often servers are running missions that force you to use the server side server.lua (and often the host has no idea they're doing it) and it disables your mod. It's one of the reasons I went to a single ultrawide, triple monitors sucks online since the integrity check.

A proper view like this was not possible with the default FOV all the way zoomed out.

__________________
Intel 4790K@4.8GHz, Gigabyte Z97, 32GB DDR3 2400MHz, EVGA GTX 1070, Custom Water Cooling, 850 EVO 500GB SSD, 2TB of Mechanical Storage

34" UltraWide 3440x1440 Curved Monitor, 21" MFD monitor, TIR5, Rift CV1

My Pit Build, VKB Gunfighter Pro w/WH Grip, MFG Graphite Crosswind Pedals, Cougar MFDs, Custom A-10C panels, Custom Helo Collective, SimShaker with Custom Transducer

Last edited by Deezle; 04-17-2017 at 11:31 PM.
Deezle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 11:47 PM   #14
mkiii
Member
 
mkiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Littlehampton, UK
Posts: 254
Reputation power: 5
mkiii is on a distinguished road
Default

I have said it before, and I'll say it again.... Setting the curve in your profile does NOT alter your min and max FOV.. it can only move the centre point nearer to one end or the other.

If the default is FOV as set by default in the lua files is not within the range you need to cater for your monitor setup, then you will not be able to get a good range without editing it.

If you use a slider, you ideally want the min to equal the min fov, the middle to equal the ideal fov, and the other end to equal the maximum fov.

In my case, the min is about 110 degrees, the mid is about 140 degrees, and the max is around 170 degrees. With a bit of leeway on all 3, but 140 is about right on my setup.

The default min/max in the luas is usually 20 to 140 degrees, with a default fov around 80 to 90 degrees, which means that you have to fly zoomed right out the whole time if you have a wide triple screen, and all you have is a really big zoom IN on your slider, so not much point to it.

I just wish those people who claim that you dont have to adjust your lua files would just do the math.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 11:53 PM   #15
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,290
Reputation power: 362
Mustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond reputeMustang has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Mustang
Default

I set my desired FOV in-pit by simply doing the following:

Press RCtrl + Pause x 2 so i can see the FOV in the top left corner of the screen, i gently tap the cockpit zoom in/out so i get the FOV i want (i like 95 degrees for my setup)

I then centre the view and press RAlt + Numpad 0 and it stores it for good.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 03:16 AM   #16
Frederf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 2,814
Reputation power: 36
Frederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Frederf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiii View Post
I have said it before, and I'll say it again.... Setting the curve in your profile does NOT alter your min and max FOV.
The curve? No, but if you adjust the saturation points you can set hard stops.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 03:36 AM   #17
Deezle
Member
 
Deezle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: WA State
Posts: 617
Reputation power: 6
Deezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiii View Post
I just wish those people who claim that you dont have to adjust your lua files would just do the math.
I don't care what the math says, it works, and it works fine. If you want to reduce your ability to see enemies by reducing your min FOV to 110º, that's your boggle, everyone else wants that zoom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
The curve? No, but if you adjust the saturation points you can set hard stops.
And this.
__________________
Intel 4790K@4.8GHz, Gigabyte Z97, 32GB DDR3 2400MHz, EVGA GTX 1070, Custom Water Cooling, 850 EVO 500GB SSD, 2TB of Mechanical Storage

34" UltraWide 3440x1440 Curved Monitor, 21" MFD monitor, TIR5, Rift CV1

My Pit Build, VKB Gunfighter Pro w/WH Grip, MFG Graphite Crosswind Pedals, Cougar MFDs, Custom A-10C panels, Custom Helo Collective, SimShaker with Custom Transducer
Deezle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 04:51 AM   #18
MadDog-IC
Member
 
MadDog-IC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 579
Reputation power: 9
MadDog-IC is a jewel in the roughMadDog-IC is a jewel in the roughMadDog-IC is a jewel in the roughMadDog-IC is a jewel in the roughMadDog-IC is a jewel in the roughMadDog-IC is a jewel in the roughMadDog-IC is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang View Post
I set my desired FOV in-pit by simply doing the following:

Press RCtrl + Pause x 2 so i can see the FOV in the top left corner of the screen, i gently tap the cockpit zoom in/out so i get the FOV i want (i like 95 degrees for my setup)

I then centre the view and press RAlt + Numpad 0 and it stores it for good.
I'm with you mustang, I use the save snapview controls to set the default FOV / zoom level for all my aircraft.

Regards, Ian.
__________________
Asus p877v-pro, Intel I7 3770k 4.0ghz, 16gb Ripjaw X ram, Gigabyte GTX-780, Samsung 32" TV, Saitek x52 pro Joystick and Combat rudder pedals, Track IR5
MadDog-IC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2017, 12:41 PM   #19
mkiii
Member
 
mkiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Littlehampton, UK
Posts: 254
Reputation power: 5
mkiii is on a distinguished road
Default

We are indeed in a post factual society. :/
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2017, 04:31 PM   #20
Deezle
Member
 
Deezle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: WA State
Posts: 617
Reputation power: 6
Deezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the roughDeezle is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiii View Post
We are indeed in a post factual society. :/
You can save the sanctimonious attitude for another time and place.

The *only* time you *need* to modify the luas is for single viewport triple monitor setups to increase the max FOV beyond what they allow, as 140º is not enough.

If all you want to do is change the default FOV to a value that's available from the stock luas, the slider tune method is a completely valid way to do that and many people are happy with it.

If you *prefer* to do it another way, good for you, but it doesn't make you better than me.
__________________
Intel 4790K@4.8GHz, Gigabyte Z97, 32GB DDR3 2400MHz, EVGA GTX 1070, Custom Water Cooling, 850 EVO 500GB SSD, 2TB of Mechanical Storage

34" UltraWide 3440x1440 Curved Monitor, 21" MFD monitor, TIR5, Rift CV1

My Pit Build, VKB Gunfighter Pro w/WH Grip, MFG Graphite Crosswind Pedals, Cougar MFDs, Custom A-10C panels, Custom Helo Collective, SimShaker with Custom Transducer
Deezle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.