Real life A-10C mic switch operation - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2013, 01:10 PM   #1
JayPee
Member
 
JayPee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 796
Default Real life A-10C mic switch operation

I couldn't find this in the ED manual nor in the many tutorials for in-sim radio operation.

When the pilot switches the mic switch to one of the 3 radios, what happens then? Is it PTT in that the pilot has to hold it in order to transmit and will it pop back to neutral if he releases his thumb? Or is it an actual switch which remains in position and as long as it's there the pilot will continuously transmit everything he says?

Just wondering..
__________________
i7 4790K: 4.8GHz, 1.328V (manual)
MSI GTX 970: 1,504MHz core, 1.250V, 8GHz memory
JayPee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
Eddie
Veteran
 
Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the PG Map
Posts: 4,864
Default

It's a momentary PTT switch that only causes the radio to transmit as long as it is held.
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:45 PM   #3
JayPee
Member
 
JayPee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 796
Default

Thank you.
__________________
i7 4790K: 4.8GHz, 1.328V (manual)
MSI GTX 970: 1,504MHz core, 1.250V, 8GHz memory
JayPee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:50 PM   #4
mr_mojo97
Senior Member
 
mr_mojo97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,336
Default

So is mic switch UP used for anything in RL? Thanks
__________________
MSI M5 z270 | Intel i5 7600k (OC) 4.8GHz | MSI GTX1080ti Gaming X 11Gb | 250gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD | 500gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD (DCS and OS) | 250Gb HDD | 24Gb 2400MHz DDR4 - Crucial Ballistix | Be Quiet Silent Loop 240mm | NZXT H440 case |

Thrustmaster Warthog - 47608 | MFG Crosswinds - 1241 | Westland Lynx collective with Bodnar X board | JetSeat | Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 | VA |
mr_mojo97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 06:54 PM   #5
JayPee
Member
 
JayPee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 796
Default

Not yet.
__________________
i7 4790K: 4.8GHz, 1.328V (manual)
MSI GTX 970: 1,504MHz core, 1.250V, 8GHz memory
JayPee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:03 PM   #6
Shaman
Veteran
 
Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_mojo97 View Post
So is mic switch UP used for anything in RL? Thanks
Since it is not used by in-game DCS A-10C and real one, if you have a free hat on your controller to dedicate it as mic switch PTT for different communication channels, I recommend doing so.

Here I have some ideas for you, you may clone A-10C mic switch PTT functionality beside its in-game menus and make it corresponding to in-game menus in terms of voice actions you are taking.

My example:
I use Mic Switch UP held command as PTT in TeamSpeak3 to active channel. -- default communication way on active channels of TS3 throughout all servers
FWD held acts as TS3 whisper to ATC/GCI channel on Teamspeak3 depend on server. Still ingame it brings up the VHF AM menu to use with AI Allied flights, ATC, Ground etc... Additionally FWD is tied to VHF AM radio plugin TARS (TS3) as PTT for TARS enabled flights.
AFT held acts as TS3 whisper to GUARD/ALLIED(all flight & ground channels) on TeamSpeak3. Still brings up the VHF FM menu to use JTAC, ground... Additionally AFT is tied to VHF FM radio plugin TARS (TS3) as PTT for TARS enabled flights.
DWN held acts as TS3 whisper to assigned flight channel (set before mission) and is tied to VHF UHF radio plugin TARS (TS3) as PTT for TARS enabled flights...

Notice in almighty Thurstmaster Warthog throttle you can also PRESS the mic switch hat like a button and hold and this function I exploit too, it is bound via AutoHotKey script as PTT button simulated as F14 keyboard key which is captured by VAC profile to activate voice recognition as long mic switch hat is depressed, giving me absolute control over AI menus.

Maybe that is not what you are looking for, but it surely helps if you wanna have ergonomic and immerse and real communication and full-time use of your mic switch hat
__________________
51st PVO Founder www.51st.org (DEC2007-DEC2017)
100 KIAP Founder www.100kiap.org (DEC2018-)

:: Shaman aka Shamansky
tail# 44 (RU) or 444 (US)

Last edited by Shaman; 12-10-2013 at 09:08 PM.
Shaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:09 PM   #7
Snoopy
Veteran
 
Snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 5,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_mojo97 View Post
So is mic switch UP used for anything in RL? Thanks
Transmit on LARS V12 radio
Snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:19 PM   #8
mr_mojo97
Senior Member
 
mr_mojo97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,336
Default

Cheers, shaman, I use vac already, well not used it in a while cos it's quite infuriating as it doesn't understand me half the time and I don't have deep accent so sometimes it takes me 5 or so times for it to understand me. I've done the voice recognition software thing a few times without luck.
Also the mic up command in the throttle does something else on the joystick at the same time (can't remember what pac1 maybe) is that why you use auto hotkey?
As for TS3 I've only used it once but I've not played multiplayer for ages but do need it get back into it.
Thanks
Les
__________________
MSI M5 z270 | Intel i5 7600k (OC) 4.8GHz | MSI GTX1080ti Gaming X 11Gb | 250gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD | 500gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD (DCS and OS) | 250Gb HDD | 24Gb 2400MHz DDR4 - Crucial Ballistix | Be Quiet Silent Loop 240mm | NZXT H440 case |

Thrustmaster Warthog - 47608 | MFG Crosswinds - 1241 | Westland Lynx collective with Bodnar X board | JetSeat | Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 | VA |
mr_mojo97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:22 PM   #9
mr_mojo97
Senior Member
 
mr_mojo97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,336
Default

Thanks Paul, that's interesting could that be used in game for some kind of CSAR mission used in conjunction with CA
__________________
MSI M5 z270 | Intel i5 7600k (OC) 4.8GHz | MSI GTX1080ti Gaming X 11Gb | 250gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD | 500gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD (DCS and OS) | 250Gb HDD | 24Gb 2400MHz DDR4 - Crucial Ballistix | Be Quiet Silent Loop 240mm | NZXT H440 case |

Thrustmaster Warthog - 47608 | MFG Crosswinds - 1241 | Westland Lynx collective with Bodnar X board | JetSeat | Oculus Rift CV1 | Windows 10 | VA |
mr_mojo97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:28 PM   #10
JayPee
Member
 
JayPee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrkiii View Post
Transmit on LARS V12 radio

Isn't that post suite 3.3 stuff?
__________________
i7 4790K: 4.8GHz, 1.328V (manual)
MSI GTX 970: 1,504MHz core, 1.250V, 8GHz memory
JayPee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.