Carrier Launch after trapping? - Page 6 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2018, 04:11 PM   #51
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 6,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erautour View Post
I'm just trying to help people so they don't need to use F2. Calm down
I wasnt flipping, I use F2 too.
__________________
AWAITING ED NEW DAMAGE MODEL IMPLEMENTATION FOR WW2 BIRDS

Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 04:12 PM   #52
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mezelf View Post
I managed to land on the deck, taxi to catapult nr 2 and hook up to the catapult with "U". Tower immediately gave me permission for T/O. Blast deflectors raised up. I hit full throttle with afterburners.
Yet the catapult refuses to launch. With my afterburners I manage to move forward a couple of inches, but even after 10 seconds full AB I fail to get a launch. Once I put throttle to IDLE the catapult pushes me back to my starting position.


What's going on?
You also need to map Launch Bar Control Switch Extend/Retract.

Once you are lined up on the catapult, press this switch to extend.
Then press U which will hook it up and you will get take off clearance.
After that press the Launch Bar Control Switch again to retract ( will retract after takeoff I believe).

You should then be able to set your trim ( I use take off trim), apply half flaps, and apply full afterburner and go.
I did several of these successful this morning and had a blast.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |

Last edited by dburne; 06-21-2018 at 04:17 PM.
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 04:14 PM   #53
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 6,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mezelf View Post
I managed to land on the deck, taxi to catapult nr 2 and hook up to the catapult with "U". Tower immediately gave me permission for T/O. Blast deflectors raised up. I hit full throttle with afterburners.
Yet the catapult refuses to launch. With my afterburners I manage to move forward a couple of inches, but even after 10 seconds full AB I fail to get a launch. Once I put throttle to IDLE the catapult pushes me back to my starting position.


What's going on?
Are you sure you are in afterburners? I mean they removed continuous throttle and added both button option for ab detent and checkbox in special for continuous throttle without button for ab. make sure your parking brake is off too.
__________________
AWAITING ED NEW DAMAGE MODEL IMPLEMENTATION FOR WW2 BIRDS

Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 05:26 PM   #54
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSS_Sniper View Post
When you spawn ready to take off the TO trim is set to 16. If you land and set yourself up to takeoff again, the TO Trim button will only set your pitch trim to 12. You have to set it to 16, or whatever weight you are, yourself. That's the current state of things.
Yes, after landing you need to adjust, manually. That was why I was talking about first start... I am not sure if this is how it works in the real plane.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 05:46 PM   #55
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,421
Default

Is there an actual cockpit switch for this or is it just a DCS mod?


"U" Catapult Hook-Up General
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carrier, f18, landing, launch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:05 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.