DCS World 2 SSD - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2017, 08:43 PM   #1
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 802
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default DCS World 2 SSD

Hi there!

I have one SSD 250gb with windows 10 and DCS 1.5 on it, I was thinking about getting another SSD 250gb for DCS world 2 but I wanted to ask you if you think I will run short on space.

Buying more than 250gb is a clear NO here in my country since more than 250gb are too expensive. So do you think a 250gb SSD will cover the future of DCS 2 and their maps? I dont even know how much the NTTR weights.

Is there a chance of using both ssd for one DCS 2?
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:50 PM   #2
Rudel_chw
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 777
Reputation power: 9
Rudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piston85 View Post
I have one SSD 250gb with windows 10 and DCS 1.5 on it, I was thinking about getting another SSD 250gb for DCS world 2 but I wanted to ask you if you think I will run short on space.

You should do fine .. I've three different versions of DCS installed on a 256 GB SSD, with Nevada, Normandy and all planes ... the space used is:


DCS 1.5.6; 33 GB
DCS 1.5.7 Openbeta; 39 GB
DCS 2.1 Openalpha; 78 GB


You should also consider space for the Saved Games folders, with setups, missions, etc ... I'm currently using 4 GB for this. On separate folders I have my Mods (6 GB) and Liveries (16 GB)


So, total space I use on DCS is 176 GB ... thus, you should be fine.

Quote:
Buying more than 250gb is a clear NO here in my country since more than 250gb are too expensive.

same on mine


Quote:
Is there a chance of using both ssd for one DCS 2?


Yes, you can split and put the DCS program files folder on one, and your Saved Games folder on the other.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS Sierra
For Gaming: 24" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows Server 2012R2 - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:56 PM   #3
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 802
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thanks amigo!
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:13 AM   #4
Woolfe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Perth
Posts: 13
Reputation power: 0
Woolfe is on a distinguished road
Default

Hello!
I have ssd size problems (currently only 5gb left), my DCS_updater_64bit folder is 24.6GB. Anyway to get rid/reduce the size of this.

Thanks!
Woolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:15 AM   #5
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 802
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default

what is that folder you talk about? dont know it
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 12:48 AM   #6
Woolfe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Perth
Posts: 13
Reputation power: 0
Woolfe is on a distinguished road
Default

Its sitting in my downloads folder?

C:\Users\woolfe\Downloads
Woolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:49 AM   #7
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 802
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default

ive never seen that folder, i dont have it and never did
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 04:31 AM   #8
j-tk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hot, Humid Mississippi
Posts: 87
Reputation power: 5
j-tk is on a distinguished road
Default

Or run two 120's in raid 0. Right now a few retailers are having sales on the 120 SanDisk ssds
j-tk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 04:32 AM   #9
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 802
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Dont know anything about raid
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 05:16 AM   #10
Woolfe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Perth
Posts: 13
Reputation power: 0
Woolfe is on a distinguished road
Default

Moved the file and it did not affect the game so now have and extra 30gb!
Woolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:31 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.