TPOD: ATRK vs. PTRK - Page 9 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2020, 07:18 PM   #81
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunny Clark View Post
SCS in the direction of the FLIR page will toggle point and area track, but the box will not be drawn in the middle unless the FLIR has a valid point track. No box could mean the FLIR is in point track but without a valid contrast lock.

Also, I believe that the FLIR on the MPCD is a WIP thing that isn't actually possible on the real jet. My understanding from another post is that the FLIR can only be assigned to the left or right DDI, and that the page should not be available on the MPCD.


It works on the ampcd fine, you need a tgt with at least a bit of contrast, as opposed to testing an area of empty water in the middle of the ocean.

Thanks for your answer to my lase timing question.
Also maybe I misunderstood what Chuck wrote just seemed weird having to transfer from TOO to PP as it works fine in TOO once acquired but as you mentioned it's a WIP.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 07:33 PM   #82
victorlima01
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunny Clark View Post
SCS in the direction of the FLIR page will toggle point and area track, but the box will not be drawn in the middle unless the FLIR has a valid point track. No box could mean the FLIR is in point track but without a valid contrast lock.

Also, I believe that the FLIR on the MPCD is a WIP thing that isn't actually possible on the real jet. My understanding from another post is that the FLIR can only be assigned to the left or right DDI, and that the page should not be available on the MPCD.
Hmm I did not know that. Always thought that FLIR imagery could be displayed on the MPCD. Hope someone can give us an answer. Perhaps this is one of those lot-specific things and older lots couldn't whereas newer lots had the ability.
victorlima01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 12:08 AM   #83
Notso
Member
 
Notso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: The Sandbox
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunny Clark View Post
Just to follow up on Notso's excellent explanation with a bit of rudimentary info in case you need it: while the TGP's laser is primarily used as a target illumination laser for laser guided weapons, it also functions as a laser range finder. When attacking a target using weapons that are not laser guided, firing the laser briefly before designating the target results in a much more accurately described designation point, as the range to the designation point is then very accurately known. If you do not fire the laser, then the Hornet will use the angle the pod is currently pointing and the radar altimeter to make a guess. Measuring the distance with the laser will always be more accurate than guessing.


I know it is modeled with the A-10C. I'm unsure of it is in the Hornet yet.
Thanks, and good add. I forget that its not obvious to all that lasers are both a designation as well as a ranging device. That's why most of the time it is commonly referred to as an "LRD" or Laser Rangefinder/Designator
__________________
i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, MSI Z390 GAMING PRO CARBON, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, Windows 10 Pro, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM T-flight Rudder pedals
Notso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 12:14 AM   #84
Notso
Member
 
Notso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: The Sandbox
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
When you say fire laser briefly, is that 1or2 seconds?


Also can you please tell me if this is accurate, as it works perfectly without transferring to PP:
"A neat feature of the targeting pod is that you can designate
targets with it even without a laser. The laser is used for laser-
guided weapons, so the GPS-guided units only need valid
coordinates. These coordinates can be obtained by designating a
target with the targeting pod while the JDAM/JSOW is in TOO
(Target of Opportunity) Mode. The coordinates are then
memorized, and simply switching to PP (Pre-Planned) mode will
automatically transfer these coordinates to the selected"
JDAM/JSOW.

This was from Chuck's manual p.199.
As long as you are getting valid ranging from the laser at the time the coordinates or designation is commanded, it can be 1-2 sec or longer depending on the atmospherics.

As to Chuck's guide, his wording is mostly correct. He is correct that you can designate without the laser using the pod angle trigonometry as I described earlier. But its not as accurate as when using the laser during the designation. He is correct that coordinates can be gathered by the TGP without the laser but again they will not be as accurate as when the laser is fired when those coordinates are being stored and memorized. The GPS bombs will only be as accurate as the coordinates sent to them. GIGO.
__________________
i9-9900K @5ghz, MSI 11GB RTX-2080-Ti Trio, G-Skill 32GB RAM, MSI Z390 GAMING PRO CARBON, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, Windows 10 Pro, Reverb HMD, Steam VR, TM Warthog Hotas Stick & Throttle, TM F/A-18 Stick grip add-on, TM T-flight Rudder pedals
Notso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 04:40 AM   #85
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notso View Post
As long as you are getting valid ranging from the laser at the time the coordinates or designation is commanded, it can be 1-2 sec or longer depending on the atmospherics.

As to Chuck's guide, his wording is mostly correct. He is correct that you can designate without the laser using the pod angle trigonometry as I described earlier. But its not as accurate as when using the laser during the designation. He is correct that coordinates can be gathered by the TGP without the laser but again they will not be as accurate as when the laser is fired when those coordinates are being stored and memorized. The GPS bombs will only be as accurate as the coordinates sent to them. GIGO.
I have tried some JSOW w/wo laser I'm not sure I'm getting the accuracy difference you mentioned.

On another note anyone ever see this happen. Upon lowering the landing gear I get a video of spinning slot machine wheels along with accompanied music in my left DDI

https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...1&d=1585715982

edit: I read it's a 4/1 Easter egg gag
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_200401_002841.png
Views:	18
Size:	1.27 MB
ID:	231250  

Last edited by fitness88; 04-01-2020 at 05:53 AM.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 05:59 AM   #86
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,732
Default

Notso, I've spent over an hour testing the benefit of tgt lasing using a 30+storey building, aiming for the second to top floor and the JSOW flew over the roof top and impacted the ground behind the building. It's not taking the hypotenuse but rather the angle right to where the ground co-ords would be expected.
I repeated these tests over and over.
My feeling is it's not modelled.

Last edited by fitness88; 04-01-2020 at 06:07 AM.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 07:57 AM   #87
Olmba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
I have tried some JSOW w/wo laser I'm not sure I'm getting the accuracy difference you mentioned.

On another note anyone ever see this happen. Upon lowering the landing gear I get a video of spinning slot machine wheels along with accompanied music in my left DDI

https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...1&d=1585715982

edit: I read it's a 4/1 Easter egg gag
Happens every time i lower the gear and mess up my CASE 1 where i need several attempt to hit jackpot to lower the gear..
Olmba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 03:13 PM   #88
Bunny Clark
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
It works on the ampcd fine, you need a tgt with at least a bit of contrast, as opposed to testing an area of empty water in the middle of the ocean.
Yes, in DCS right now it does, the thing is that it is not entirely realistic.

I've seen in other threads on this forum that in the real jet either the FLIR page cannot be displayed on the MPCD at all, or that if the FLIR is assigned to the MPCD that it still displays in green. I'm not sure which is correct for our Lot 20 Hornet. Either way, the grayscale FLIR on the MPCD is not realistic and will be going away eventually.
Bunny Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.