Flight - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 11:51 PM   #11
Caramon6561
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: ohio
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
The Hornet trims to g , not attitude , in flight , and that very slowly . It only trims to attitude in landing configuration . The problem you describe is experienced by those taking off with flaps "auto" , rather than 1/2 , as they should be .
Actually I am in Free Flight mode but i noticed that when the sim statrs the throttles are in afterburner when i bring them back and fly at about 260 it is much easier to maintain level flight.

I am watching youtube to learn how to fly this thing and i came across one for Auto pilot. when i select auto pilot and BSEL mode the aircraft will not maintane altatude? in the HSEL mode it will change headings. is there something in the settings that needs to be set for these to work??
Caramon6561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 11:57 PM   #12
Caramon6561
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: ohio
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
The Hornet trims to g , not attitude , in flight , and that very slowly . It only trims to attitude in landing configuration . The problem you describe is experienced by those taking off with flaps "auto" , rather than 1/2 , as they should be .
Actually I am in Free Flight mode but i noticed that when the sim statrs the throttles are in afterburner when i bring them back and fly at about 260 it is much easier to maintain level flight.

I am watching youtube to learn how to fly this thing and i came across one for Auto pilot. when i select auto pilot and BSEL mode the aircraft will not maintane altatude? in the HSEL mode it will change headings. is there something in the settings that needs to be set for these to work??
Caramon6561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 12:03 AM   #13
Caramon6561
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: ohio
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzU View Post
What is your flap position before taking off?
Before Take off they are set to half
Caramon6561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 12:09 AM   #14
Caramon6561
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: ohio
Posts: 6
Default

When taking off my flaps are set to half after take off they go back to auto
Caramon6561 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 12:35 AM   #15
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,251
Default

No need to trim the F/A-18 unless you become asymmetrical.

I.E. You drop one bomb from only one wing and you are not symmetrical on each side.

The only other time to trim is when landing and trimming to on speed.

It takes a bit to get used to, but you point the plane to where you want it to go and that's it. When I first started flying the F/A-18 I started to try and trim it like flying the A-10C lol. These no need, just make sure to set a small dead zone so your stick is not messing with it and make sure the are no extra binds added in the control menu.
__________________

i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 32GB Corsair 3000Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Corsair HX850i Platinum 850W | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | VKB Gunfighter Pro

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 06:47 AM   #16
MAXsenna
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 384
Default

There is no need to set a dead one for the TM T.16000M unless there's something wrong with it.

Sent from my ANE-LX1 using Tapatalk
MAXsenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 07:06 AM   #17
bies
Member
 
bies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 333
Default

Looks like you have some axis binded to "pitch" except the 16000 stick.

In example your throttle axis - so when you increase the throttle you pitching up your nose and add power at the same time.

Go to settings -> controls -> F/A-18 Sim -> axis commands and verify you have nothing else binded to "pitch" except for the stick Y axis.

Game automatically bind different devices, it's a very common problem for new players. You call also check other axes; roll, rudder, throttle.
Every axis should have only one device binded.

Last edited by bies; 03-27-2020 at 07:11 AM.
bies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 03:59 AM   #18
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caramon6561 View Post
HI Eveyone,

I am haveing a hard time getting my aircraft to fly straight and level, i tried to use the trims but they dont seam to be working for me any suggestions??
If you're going to ask a question like that, you'll have to give us a LOT more information.

Don't leave everyone guessing and taking shots in the dark.

What plane?
What flight controls?
Checked your stick deadbands for proper centering?
Checked and assigned trim control for proper functioning?
That sort of thing.

Only Fly-By-Wire jets can be flown straight and level with your hands off the stick. Everything else requires careful trimming (with a trim control that works!) and a flight stick that centers properly. WW2 aircraft are pretty much hands-on all the time, too.

AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1080 Ti AMP Extreme Core Edition, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.