[WIP] Antenna elevation issues and TDC shown altitude coverage - Page 7 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2020, 07:26 AM   #61
Lymark
Member
 
Lymark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hong Kong/Seattle
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastRifleRound View Post
I know it's getting fixed later, just want to know what the current work-arounds are
Just place your lowest radar elevation to be at or above your target for now. So, If the target is flying at 20k ft, make sure the bottom elevation is at 20k ft too, if it still doesn't show up, increase the elevation by 5000ft. This method works pretty well for contacts within 40nm range scale. You might occasionally pick up targets at 80nm scale too, but it's too unreliable.

There's also a reported bug where If you pick up a contact on the radar, It'd disappear on F-16's D/L. Be aware of that If you're flying with a F-16 friend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaHeen-1 View Post
And they're visible on data link throughout. In fact I've learned the habit of keeping my radar off until it's time to throw sticks.
The tricky part about this is an enemy that's flying low with his radar off. I tend to scan an area myself instead of relying on D/L, and there were times where I knew someone was there, but nobody was scanning that specific spot and I didn't have my elevation setup correctly. Therefore, I try my best not to fly unless I got a friend flying along.
Lymark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 09:58 AM   #62
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 450
Default

I've yet to be surprised by anyone on data link. And I've yet to successfully surprise anyone by staying close to the ground and radar off. Awacs sees you coming. It might work if you fly A10 speed I guess but will take years and you'll get pissed if you still fail at the end XD
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 01:46 PM   #63
FALT691
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: US
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknetinium View Post
Keep up the good work Deka, dont forget J-11B Best wishes with everything.



Yes Deka, please don't forget about the J11-B if you release that one Deka will have to two most awesome planes in DCS! We will be patient because if the J-11B gets done we will all be too happy to remember how long it took!! Salute to you Deka and blessings during this time of emergency I pray that all is well soon.
FALT691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 02:23 PM   #64
mattebubben
Senior Member
 
mattebubben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...”
Posts: 2,153
Default

No mention of the Radar in the changelog =(.
mattebubben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 03:14 PM   #65
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 450
Default

I believe uboats has already said that radar work is going slow
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 05:23 PM   #66
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 1,809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaHeen-1 View Post
I've yet to be surprised by anyone on data link. And I've yet to successfully surprise anyone by staying close to the ground and radar off. Awacs sees you coming. It might work if you fly A10 speed I guess but will take years and you'll get pissed if you still fail at the end XD
It’s possible. Find out where their AWACS orbits and make sure there is terrain between it and you.

Wouldn’t it be great if we could jam AWACS......
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 05:26 PM   #67
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 450
Default

Wouldn't it be great if we could take 3 SPJ pods?
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 05:49 PM   #68
LastRifleRound
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 498
Default

Thanks for the advice guys.

In summary:
1. Keep elevation higher than desired scan zone
2. Unreliable over 40nm in all modes
3. D/L still ok
LastRifleRound is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 06:43 PM   #69
uboats
ED Tester / ED Moderator
 
uboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East Sierra
Posts: 5,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastRifleRound View Post
Thanks for the advice guys.

In summary:
1. Keep elevation higher than desired scan zone
2. Unreliable over 40nm in all modes
3. D/L still ok
to help narrow down the issues:
1. is it always to keep el higher?
__________________


My DCS Mods, Skins, Utilities and Scripts

| Windows 10 | i7-4790K | GTX 980Ti Hybrid | 32GB RAM | 3TB SSD |
| TM Warthog Stick | CH Pro Throttle + Pro Pedal | TIR5 Pro | TM MFD Cougar | Gun Camera: PrtScn |
uboats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 07:06 PM   #70
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 1,809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uboats View Post
to help narrow down the issues:
1. is it always to keep el higher?
That is what I have noticed at least. However I haven’t checked everything the manual antenna elevation indicator on the MFD says during transition to the TWS auto scan centering and STT, I can record a track if that helps.

Sometimes is seems the PL-5 slaved elevation is wrong, sometimes right. And the gunsight is definitely the right elevation.
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.