Flashlight with Red/Green/Blue filters - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2019, 02:01 AM   #1
DerekSpeare
Member
 
DerekSpeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boxx Town USA!
Posts: 949
Default Flashlight with Red/Green/Blue filters

A small request to help night vision (especially in VR). Can you do a flashlight that has either red, green or blue filters in addition to the white one? The user can cycle the color as he/she desires.
__________________
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare
derekspearedesigns.com 15,000+ Gaming Enthusiasts Trust DSD Components to Deliver!
i7-5930k| GTX1080ti | 32gb Ram | 1TB SSD | CV1/DK2/2xWMR | CH Pro Throt/Fighterstick Pro | 2 DSD Boxes
Falcon XT/AT/3.0/4.0 | LB2 | DCS | FI-P3D v2.5/3 | FI-FSX
My Hangar: FC3 | F-16 | C101 | M2000 | Mi8 | UH1 | F86 | L39 | A10C | NTTR | F5E | F/A-18 | Harrier
DSD TS Server: derekspeare.typefrag.com | PW = dsdftw!
Useful VR settings and tips for DCS HERE
DerekSpeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 03:29 AM   #2
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 2,546
Default

If it would work at all. Yesterday I checked for some texture errors I previously had and did this within a single mission, not in VR. First message in the top right was that I could press LAlt + L to turn the flashlight on, since it was still dark in the morn. It didn't work as it would in other planes. And I haven't been able to use this feature at all for over half a year now since I only fly in VR and there is no flashlight in VR as of yet... given you use the VR controllers instead of spending way too much time in the constant search for that mouse cursor.
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 11:22 AM   #3
=Panther=
Member
 
=Panther='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 950
Default

For whatever reason the flashlight in the Viper is tied to the battery. Would be super nice if they gave us a penlight which I believe is what the Hornet has. I know you don’t need electrical power in the hornet to turn it on...
__________________
Twitch Channel


Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster
Spoiler:
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO, i7 6700k, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB, 1080ti 11GB, Obutto R3Volution, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, TPR, Cougar MFDs, JetSeat, Oculus Rift S, Buddy-Fox A-10C UFC
=Panther= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 12:18 PM   #4
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,134
Default

The flashlight can already change to green, IIRC, as in the Hornet. Check the controls.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 12:48 PM   #5
DerekSpeare
Member
 
DerekSpeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boxx Town USA!
Posts: 949
Default

It is kind of self defeating to tie flashlight power to the aircraft batter power :/ I need the flashlight to find the power switch lolooloo


I'd like a red filter. It would ease eyestrain in VR at night.
__________________
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare
derekspearedesigns.com 15,000+ Gaming Enthusiasts Trust DSD Components to Deliver!
i7-5930k| GTX1080ti | 32gb Ram | 1TB SSD | CV1/DK2/2xWMR | CH Pro Throt/Fighterstick Pro | 2 DSD Boxes
Falcon XT/AT/3.0/4.0 | LB2 | DCS | FI-P3D v2.5/3 | FI-FSX
My Hangar: FC3 | F-16 | C101 | M2000 | Mi8 | UH1 | F86 | L39 | A10C | NTTR | F5E | F/A-18 | Harrier
DSD TS Server: derekspeare.typefrag.com | PW = dsdftw!
Useful VR settings and tips for DCS HERE
DerekSpeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:27 PM   #6
beppe_goodoldrebel
Senior Member
 
beppe_goodoldrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekSpeare View Post
It is kind of self defeating to tie flashlight power to the aircraft batter power :/ I need the flashlight to find the power switch lolooloo
+1

In every other aircraft you can use it without battery on.
It should be reported as a bug ( maybe ? ) .
beppe_goodoldrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:33 PM   #7
Majik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by =Panther= View Post
For whatever reason the flashlight in the Viper is tied to the battery. Would be super nice if they gave us a penlight which I believe is what the Hornet has. I know you don’t need electrical power in the hornet to turn it on...

This had me stumped for admittedly far too long when I tried a 4am start the other day. A penlight would definitely be helpful.
Majik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 03:16 PM   #8
=Panther=
Member
 
=Panther='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majik View Post
This had me stumped for admittedly far too long when I tried a 4am start the other day. A penlight would definitely be helpful.
I think they modeled the light that is in the cockpit, and mislabeled it as the flashlight. I hope we get a pen light or finger light soon. Night lighting is very sub par, so it would help to have an additional option.
__________________
Twitch Channel


Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster
Spoiler:
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO, i7 6700k, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB, 1080ti 11GB, Obutto R3Volution, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, TPR, Cougar MFDs, JetSeat, Oculus Rift S, Buddy-Fox A-10C UFC
=Panther= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 05:23 PM   #9
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,324
Default

Utility light is on battery bus the same as are cockpit spotlights (not floods). It would be cool to have the beam adjustment, white/NVIS selection, and even to "pick it up" and move it around the cockpit like a corded flashlight.

I don't actually know if F-16 pilots fly with battery powered flashlights. Probably they do because if nothing else it's nice for exterior inspection at night and very important if one finds themselves under parachute hundreds of miles from a nice warm bar stool.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 08:19 PM   #10
DerekSpeare
Member
 
DerekSpeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boxx Town USA!
Posts: 949
Default

I'd expect that pilots everywhere carry at least one flashlight with them.
__________________
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare
derekspearedesigns.com 15,000+ Gaming Enthusiasts Trust DSD Components to Deliver!
i7-5930k| GTX1080ti | 32gb Ram | 1TB SSD | CV1/DK2/2xWMR | CH Pro Throt/Fighterstick Pro | 2 DSD Boxes
Falcon XT/AT/3.0/4.0 | LB2 | DCS | FI-P3D v2.5/3 | FI-FSX
My Hangar: FC3 | F-16 | C101 | M2000 | Mi8 | UH1 | F86 | L39 | A10C | NTTR | F5E | F/A-18 | Harrier
DSD TS Server: derekspeare.typefrag.com | PW = dsdftw!
Useful VR settings and tips for DCS HERE
DerekSpeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:11 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.