Accurate map for DCS 2.5 Caucasus theatre - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2019, 11:11 PM   #21
Flappie
Member
 
Flappie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 792
Default

I have some good news: the PDF version will happen! It's only a matter of time.
Flappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:20 AM   #22
Svsmokey
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 3,091
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flappie View Post
I have some good news: the PDF version will happen! It's only a matter of time.
__________________
9700k , Aorus Pro wifi , 32gb 3200 mhz CL16 , 1tb EVO 970 , EVGA 1070 FE , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Hotas on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , RiftS

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 08:17 PM   #23
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,783
Default

Hi Flappie!
So what's up with the mbtiles or pdf version?
__________________
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 08:42 PM   #24
Flappie
Member
 
Flappie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 792
Default

Hey mate ! I've been flying a lot on DCS, mainly as an F-14B RIO for my fellow pilot. But Heatblur is not to blame for the delay, I am.

The PDF process is what I would call pretty ugly. I'm not quite satisfied by the result, that is why I haven't published any of it. In fact I'd much rather publish an online vector version of the map (i.e. on Google Maps or so). This summer, I've been searching for the right tool to publish my vector map, to no avail. But some days ago, I found this, simply called MapServer. It's exactly what I wanted. This would require a dedicated server to run, but it's not an obstacle.

Now, I need some time to read the docs, create a Linux virtual machine and give this a try.
Flappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 09:25 PM   #25
Holton181
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 1,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flappie View Post
... some days ago, I found this...
I had a quick look, and it seems (if I interpret what I read correctly) to support WMS. If we can get access to your map by WMS or similar standard, one can use our favorite maping app on our phone/tablet together with my own DCS add-on "DCS-to-GPS" and have a great moving map for Caucasus, not forced to use real world maps or occupie a big part of the device memory with the downloaded version from Combatflight.
I really hope to see this!
Good luck!
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenBeta
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2019, 07:57 PM   #26
Flappie
Member
 
Flappie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 792
Default

Thank you.
The VM is up, let's get to it...



Flappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 07:10 AM   #27
chromium
3rd Party Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Milan
Posts: 3,677
Default

Fantastic. Brilliant work!
__________________

The thing is, helicopters are different from planes. An airplane by it's nature wants to fly, and if not interfered with too strongly by unusual events or by a deliberately incompetent pilot, it will fly. A helicopter does not want to fly. It is maintained in the air by a variety of forces in opposition to each other, and if there is any disturbance in this delicate balance the helicopter stops flying; immediately and disastrously.
chromium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 03:57 PM   #28
Flappie
Member
 
Flappie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 792
Default

Thank you, chromium !

I've learnt how to write a MapServer "MapFile". I've been through the obvious error messages and got away with it, but I'm now having a hard time trying to display the vegetation layer. For an unexplained reason, MapServer rejects it.
Here's what my current work looks like :




The (ugly) map you see is dynamically created through a standard WMS request. I'll deal with the ugly raster later, because I really want that trees to show up first.
Flappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:11 PM   #29
Holton181
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 1,510
Default

You will find a way, I'm sure of it!
Really looking forward to this
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenBeta
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 07:51 PM   #30
Flappie
Member
 
Flappie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 792
Default

Splash one!

Flappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.