jtac won't lase - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2018, 11:38 PM   #1
colubridae
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cheshire, england
Posts: 163
Default jtac won't lase

Hello.


I've been trying a simple mission to practice using the LMAV with a JTAC.


But for some reason my JTAC won't lase.
don't know what i'm doing wrong.
at the nine line it says 'no mark'; on wags tutorial it said 'lase with code 1688'

please help


mission attached.

Attached Files
File Type: miz jtac emav practice.miz (182.0 KB, 8 views)
colubridae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 11:42 PM   #2
S
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: KINT
Posts: 48
Default

Do you have an FAC command on your JTAC?


Cheers!
S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 11:55 PM   #3
colubridae
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cheshire, england
Posts: 163
Default

Do you mean in the advanced waypoint bit?

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk
colubridae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 11:58 PM   #4
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,660
Default

Yes. You should be able to specify the type of mark he uses with the FAC- Assign group waypoint action.

You must also use a unit capable of lasing (for example an unarmed humvee) and ensure he has a clear line or sight to the target
feefifofum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 11:29 PM   #5
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 1,167
Default

It's bit of a pain to set JTACs up...

Had the same issue with "no mark, 1688" and the ME told me the distance should be under 10km. Well, at least from the first waypoint on it was under 8km and the second is similar. But the ME takes into account the initial WP which was too far away, so I had to move the drone up to an airstart close enough. Would totally appreciate if this was fixed somehow. Want them to take off and go there and be able to lase from higher distances which probably would be possible with the real things. Right now we have to mess around with invisible and immortal to make them even work properly because of the ridiculously low range that's been accepted by the ME...

Also, I'd like to provide them the same callsigns the ground bases JTACs use, but the ME limits those units to the few default callsigns for airborne units.

And I couldn't find out how to set their laser code... I was planning to have multiple JTACs up there with different codes and try out if I can call more than one to activate their lasers at the same time on different targets.

There also comes the problem that they won't tell me their exact target and I can't choose except for making them shift through until I might get the right one. In my mission there's "SAM, Zeus, SA-8" reported... I'd prefer if he'd at least designate the most dangerous ones first, which are the SA-8.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS 2018-11-11 00-10-13-87.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	641.3 KB
ID:	197561   Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS 2018-11-11 00-12-09-04.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	649.1 KB
ID:	197562  
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 11:35 PM   #6
colubridae
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cheshire, england
Posts: 163
Default

Don't know what I did but it works ok now.

Thanks for the advice.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk
colubridae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 03:17 AM   #7
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 1,167
Default

In my example I now got "TERMINATE. No mark." - happens when the drone turns around (LH turn at WP2 to go back to WP1) and gets out of it's 10km radius to the target. That limit clearly is too strict. Lasing capability won't come back by itself, I've got to run through the NineLine, remarks, readback and stuff all over again to make him lase again. Now I have to find a way to make him circle around the target area instead of race-tracking to make sure he stays in range...
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.