Some advice needed - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2017, 03:02 PM   #1
alejo68
Junior Member
 
alejo68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 47
Reputation power: 7
alejo68 will become famous soon enoughalejo68 will become famous soon enough
Default Some advice needed

Hi, here the situation.

Right now I`m not having too much space in my PC Disk, (I have a Kingston SSD of 450 gb space).
Ive got DCS 1.5 installed (being the Spit, Dora, 109 and M2000 the main addons I really like to fly, online or offline).
Now, I undersatand that Normandy map requires DCS 2.0 which I still dont have installed, and that this would require a separate install.
If I make the decition to switch to DCS 2.0, I would have to uninstall 1.5 and have 2.0 along with Nevada, Normandy + Assets, and the addons I already named.

I would really appreciate your advice and if this would be a good decition (switching to 2.0 and erasing 1.5) specially considering online play and general play and performance matters.

My spces are:
Intel I7 4790K, Ge force 970, 16 gb (kingston 1333mhz) ram, MoBo Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H.

Thx in advance.
alejo68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 06:21 PM   #2
Art-J
Senior Member
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 2,898
Reputation power: 17
Art-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of light
Default

First of all, are you aware of how big the 2.1.1 with mentioned maps and assets is. Roughly about twice the size of complete 1.5.7, so that's something to keep in mind in your situation.

As for the MP, 2.1.1 online scene is almost non-existent, partially because of Nevada map not being well suited for it, partially because of Normandy map being still rather unoptimized, while WWII assets are "few and far between", at least for now.

Also, with rendering changes introduced in 2.1.1, the game looks better, but hardware requirements are higher and performance is mediocre at best. Powerful cards might have a bit of an edge over 1.5.7, as they're utilized better, but your 970 would probably be strained quite a lot.

Personally I wouldn't be in hurry to switch just yet.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 08:28 PM   #3
Buzzles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northern Europe
Posts: 2,179
Reputation power: 14
Buzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really niceBuzzles is just really nice
Default

Advice:

Buy a bigger drive, or another one.
Buzzles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 09:20 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 862
Reputation power: 10
Rudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really nice
Default

Agree ... best option is to add a second SSD ... or if not enough budget even a traditional HDD would do, you could move over to it the less critical in order to leave space on the SSD for the two DCS versions.


As a guide, I have 2.1 with both Nevada, Normandy and the Assets Pack ... it uses 77 GB; while 1.5 with Caucasus and almost every DLC uses 38 GB.


Of course, the space that DCS uses on the Saved Games folder can be quite large, on my setup I use about 20 GB for both versions of DCS ... most of them are skins.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS Sierra
For Gaming: 24" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows Server 2012R2 - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:34 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.