Aircraft cold start scramble - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2018, 06:02 PM   #1
RichardG+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 223
Default Aircraft cold start scramble

Im trying to do the simplest damn thing, but this editor is a nightmare.

I want AI Aircraft lined up on the ramp, cold, then then start up and takeoff when a condition is set.

Theres no way to edit aircraft behavior on waypoint "0" (zero) at startup, at least not that I can find. They start up and takeoff immediately.

I'm not writing lua scripts, so if there isnt a way to do it without that forget it.
RichardG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 06:15 PM   #2
Emmy
Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 651
Default

"Start" can be a triggered action
__________________

http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 06:45 PM   #3
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 333
Default

The editor has check boxes for 'Late activation', I believe, and 'Visible before start'. If you set them both, they will appear on your airbase but not move.
You can then activate them through a trigger.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 09:53 PM   #4
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,132
Default

Wrong-o....that only applies to ground units. Furthermore, just for your reference, the last time I checked ground vehicles that were started in this manner did not report their movement to client aircraft in multiplayer, meaning only the server sees the units move. For ground units, your best option is to use GROUP AI OFF/ON or GROUP STOP/RESUME depending on whether you want them to fire/react to threats.

For aircraft:

Place your group, program their flight plan, and set them to "takeoff from ramp"

Check the "uncontrolled" option. Do NOT check late activation.

Go to the triggered actions tab (next to advanced waypoint actions)

Click add -> perform command-> start

When the desired conditions are met, use the AI TASK PUSH trigger to start your groups.

Honestly we need a sticky explaining how to do this somewhere...this comes up at least once a month.

Last edited by feefifofum; 01-12-2018 at 09:57 PM.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 11:40 PM   #5
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 333
Default

Oh sorry, I always get those two mixed up.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:16 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.