I'm new here.

AlpineGTA

Hi,

I'm new to DCS and flight sims in general (apart from playing Apache Gunship on a Commodore-64 back in the eighties and Ace Combat 7 in PSVR - which don't really count, obviously! :D ), but I've always been into aviation (I was an air cadet as a teenager) and having recently acquired a couple of old work PCs - one broken, one redundant, I decided to scrape something together from both and give DCS a try, after watching lots of YouTube vids over the past year or so.

I've not had a home PC for years, since I sit in front of one at work all day (I've always been a Playstation console gamer), so I'm not fully up to speed on what the latest PC tech is.

Anyway, I've cobbled together something running an i7 - not sure what version, 8GB DDR3 RAM; I don't know what the motherboard is but it's a 2012 Dell XPS PC upgraded from Windows 7 to 10. I didn't want to spend extravagant amounts of cash on it since I was just trying it out to see if I got the taste for it, but I've upgraded the power supply to 700W, added a 500GB SSD and upgraded the graphics card with a XFX - AMD Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 8GB GDDR5, which is I believe a reasonable mid-range card.

At the moment I'm using a Thrustmaster T.Flight Hotas that I bought for Ace Combat 7, which feels a bit imprecise and tricky to use in DCS. I'm thinking of upgrading to a T16000M.