Making AI Bomb Target - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2020, 01:06 AM   #1
Bunny Clark
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 128
Default Making AI Bomb Target

I'm being frustrated by the AI again.

I'm trying to have a flight of AI Hornets blow up an early warning radar.

I've tried the Bombing task, Attack Map Object task, Attack Unit task, and Attack Group task with a combination of Mk.84s, JDAMs, and HARMs. Every option I've tried causes the units to fly to the waypoint with the attack task, then turn around and fly home without firing a shot.

They also spend their whole time flying to that waypoint at 800ft in full burner, when they're set to fly at 10,000ft and 350knts.

It's an unimportant bit of a mission that's just supposed to add a bit of environment, but I'm pulling out what little hair I have out trying to get these guys to actually blow something up.
Bunny Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 01:23 PM   #2
CougarFFW04
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Default

Hi,


I thinks it's actually buggy and doesn't work at all...


At least for the Attack Map Object (see https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=260336) and I am wondering if someone as already reported this possible bug to ED...
CougarFFW04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 03:22 PM   #3
MBot
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,364
Default

Sounds like this is causes by the setting Reaction to Threat - Allow Abort Mission (which is the default behaviour). I always change this to Evade Fire for every group. This way they will go defensive if fired upon but otherwise do what they are being told. In my opinion that is the most reasonable setting.
MBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 03:29 PM   #4
CougarFFW04
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Default

Hi Mbot,


Quote:
Originally Posted by MBot View Post
Sounds like this is causes by the setting Reaction to Threat - Allow Abort Mission (which is the default behaviour). I always change this to Evade Fire for every group. This way they will go defensive if fired upon but otherwise do what they are being told. In my opinion that is the most reasonable setting.

Will try that thanks.


Did you try them to sucessfully strike different Map Object with this option ?
Unless I made something wrong they just hit the dust but do not target objects around as they are supposed to do according to the documentattion.
CougarFFW04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 03:38 PM   #5
MBot
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,364
Default

Letting a single group attack multiple map objects simultaneously is not possible in default DCS, but it can be solved with custom scripting.
MBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 03:45 PM   #6
CougarFFW04
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBot View Post
Letting a single group attack multiple map objects simultaneously is not possible in default DCS, but it can be solved with custom scripting.

Isn't it what this mean (from the doc) ?
"GROUP ATTACK. When checked, the entire flight group will participate in the attack of the target. By default, each aircraft in a flight group is assigned one target."
CougarFFW04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 03:52 PM   #7
MBot
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,364
Default

No, default behaviours is: leader will attack until out of ammo or target is destroyed, then wingman 1 will attack until out of ammo or target is destroyed, then wingman 2 will attack etc. The documentations seems wrong.

Group attack means that everyone attacks the same target simultaneously.
MBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 04:32 PM   #8
CougarFFW04
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBot View Post
Letting a single group attack multiple map objects simultaneously is not possible in default DCS, but it can be solved with custom scripting.
Any details about it ?


I do not see any DCS scripting function that would allow a specific target to a specific wigman...
So should be sort of workaround I guess


Thanks

Last edited by CougarFFW04; 01-14-2020 at 04:34 PM.
CougarFFW04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 09:21 PM   #9
Bunny Clark
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBot View Post
Sounds like this is causes by the setting Reaction to Threat - Allow Abort Mission (which is the default behaviour). I always change this to Evade Fire for every group. This way they will go defensive if fired upon but otherwise do what they are being told. In my opinion that is the most reasonable setting.
I'll give this a try tonight. There's no threat to the aircraft in the area so I didn't think to set it, but maybe they're being skittish anyway.
Bunny Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:50 AM   #10
Hardcard
Member
 
Hardcard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 720
Default

You should be able to push a scripted attack unit task... with the right parameters and the right loadout.

https://wiki.hoggitworld.com/view/DCS_task_attackUnit

Note: Contrary to what the wiki says, I don't think attackQty parameter is optional.



If the AI aircraft RTB instead of performing the attack, that might be due to either weapon incompatibility with the selected task or incorrect parameters.
__________________

Last edited by Hardcard; 01-15-2020 at 03:55 AM.
Hardcard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.