[MISSING TRACK FILE] F/A-18C NOT STRAPPING UP ON CATAPULT - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2020, 05:33 PM   #1
N0as
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Default [MISSING TRACK FILE] F/A-18C NOT STRAPPING UP ON CATAPULT

Hello,
I have a question regarding an issue I experience with the F-18. Are the any known reports of people not being able to hook up to the catapult since the last update? I run through my checklist that's been working for a year, press "U" but it won't hook up. I got all the parameters right, tried to rebind it but it just won't strap up. I talked to a féw guys in ingame chat and they experience the same problem.
N0as is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 05:36 PM   #2
docWilly
Member
 
docWilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 261
Default

Present workaround: tune carrier ATC and request T/O hit "u" again and voila it´s hooked plus deflectors go up.
__________________
my rig specs: i7-4790K CPU 4.50GHz, 32GB RAM, 64bit WIN10, NVidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti, SSD+

A10C, UH-1H, M2C, F5E, Gazelle, KA 50 DCS 1.5/2.5
docWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 11:20 AM   #3
jackdaw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 71
Default

This is Bug even using the radio command the deflector shield goes up and the catapult may or may not connect. tried to save atrack file but that seems to be broken as well.
jackdaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 05:15 PM   #4
Sickdog
Member
 
Sickdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 246
Default

Try connecting to CAT 3 after taking off and landing on ship to really have some fun.... yeah, still broken after update today.
(Update- sometimes you don’t even have to takeoff and land, first time hookup to 3 will launch you- it’s intermittent. And both SP and MP. I’ll upload a track...)


I can't post track in more than one thread, but here's a link to the thread where I just posted my track...
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=263442&page=3






__________________
TM Warthog, Oculus Rift, Win10...

Last edited by Sickdog; 02-20-2020 at 05:56 PM.
Sickdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 07:17 PM   #5
75th-VFS-Striker
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 652
Default

I can confirm it's broken. I had to keep tapping the U key after I was in position and it finally hooked me up even after I asked permission to take off.
Attached Files
File Type: trk VAF SUPT And Refueling-20200220-130148.trk (1.61 MB, 20 views)
__________________
Nvidia GTX-1080
Intel i7-4820K 3.7 Ghz
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Extreme MB
32 GB Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
75th-VFS-Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 07:51 PM   #6
padonis
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 381
Default

For me, trying to connect to the catapult (the "U" key) causes DCS and the dedicated server to crash if there are other players on it.
padonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 11:50 PM   #7
Ziptie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 1,178
Default

Yes, this is an issue. You now have to be quite properly lined up with the catapult, no longer can be aft of it at all (which I am completely ok with as that is how it should be).

However, even when on the correct frequency for the carrier, requesting startup - it often doesn't give you the option of requesting taxi to "runway" and often times requires multiple depressions of the "hook up key" which is U on the keyboard for factory binding.


Also, if you then retract the launch bar after being hooked up to the catapult - it will disconnect you from the launch bar. Not sure if that is correct IRL behavior, as we don't have the hold back bar currently and I have never launched from a carrier in real life (but could be somewhat sure that I have seen in cockpit videos of pilots toggling the launch bar back to the retract position after being hooked up to the catapult).


Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
Ziptie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 10:34 PM   #8
Bones1775
Member
 
Bones1775's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 107
Default here's another track of CV difficulties

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Gy...bqjbwbsOwkrKE_
Bones1775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 03:15 AM   #9
Callsign: JoNay
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 53
Default

Tap U about three times and it works.

Tapping twice gets the ATC to tell you to taxi back to the ramp. Pressing a 3rd time hooks up to the catapult.
Callsign: JoNay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 05:58 AM   #10
Ziptie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 1,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Callsign: JoNay View Post
Tap U about three times and it works.

Tapping twice gets the ATC to tell you to taxi back to the ramp. Pressing a 3rd time hooks up to the catapult.
This is exactly what it takes. Double tap of U (quickly) is what it takes to get the call to taxi to parking, then a single press of U to get the cat to hook up.


I can never understand why these types of things get labeled as "missing track file" or replied with "please post a track." This is incredibly easy to replicate, and can be tested in just as quick of time. I imagine that the devs/mods are currently using the new super carrier in their builds and are just unaware of this issue as they are "busy." That being said, things are being dropped, and in a relatively big way right now - a trend that really can't (or shouldn't) continue on the current direction. My .02, as someone who has alpha and beta tested numerous games.

I, along with numerous other people have experienced this issue and is clearly not an isolated incident.


Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
Ziptie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.