Request regarding main compass - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2017, 07:29 PM   #11
Tekkx
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Germany, Erfurt
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 3
Tekkx has a spectacular aura aboutTekkx has a spectacular aura aboutTekkx has a spectacular aura about
Default

Is here some place for a dream?

What about Export to a separate monitor? I ("some" others maybe also) have plenty of them here for the A-10C.
Tekkx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 08:24 PM   #12
VinnieJones
Member
 
VinnieJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 295
Reputation power: 5
VinnieJones has a spectacular aura aboutVinnieJones has a spectacular aura aboutVinnieJones has a spectacular aura aboutVinnieJones has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekkx View Post
Is here some place for a dream?

What about Export to a separate monitor? I ("some" others maybe also) have plenty of them here for the A-10C.
Great idea. There is one such for CloD called Virtual Cockpit. It's just the sort of thing we need for the DCS Spit.
__________________
Win 10 64 bit
2T Hard Drive
ASUS P67 motherboard
Intel i7 3.4ghz Processor
GTX 1070 Graphics Card OC
24GB Ram
Track IR5
49" 4K 60hz
MS FFB2 Stick
CH Pedals
Saitek Throttle/Prop/Mixture
Cougar MFDs
Gametrix Seat
Sim Shaker for Aviators
VinnieJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 09:21 PM   #13
Sokol1_br
Senior Member
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,493
Reputation power: 26
Sokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of lightSokol1_br is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

We are forgetting one thing, the main reason in use P-8 Compass is for calibrate DG (DI) and secondarily set a course, so the big question is: DG(DI) became uncalibrated?

For what I test, after a series of rolls, looping, high G breaking, inverted flight, very little difference between DG and compass reading (in CloD the DG went crazy after the first maneuvers).

I conclude that don't worth worry with compass, just look at DG, clear visible middle of panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnieJones View Post
Great idea. There is one such for CloD called Virtual Cockpit. It's just the sort of thing we need for the DCS Spit.
Just ask this guy for include Mk. IX there:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.mihaig.bf109

Last edited by Sokol1_br; 01-09-2017 at 09:24 PM.
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 04:35 PM   #14
DieHard
Senior Member
 
DieHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Near West Point, NY
Posts: 1,209
Reputation power: 11
DieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really nice
Default

Nice discussion. Dam_ nice video! (Where and how did you find that?) See at 7:15 into this video for setting the compass and Directional Gyro.
================================================== ========================================
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQWZ...youtu.be&t=427
-
-
Is Chuck's .pdf Guide WRONG ??

See Page 58 .

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-u...xfZDNaOVk/view

To check >>> see the supplied airports' guide in the kneeboard as to a runway's compass heading.
-
-
Have not tried to digest the supplied Spit 9's Flight Manual just yet.
__________________

Last edited by DieHard; 09-07-2017 at 07:07 PM.
DieHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 07:23 PM   #15
Schwarzfeld
Member
 
Schwarzfeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 179
Reputation power: 5
Schwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the roughSchwarzfeld is a jewel in the rough
Default

*waits patiently for a Helios export for the Spit so I can actually look at that compass one day*
Schwarzfeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 01:01 AM   #16
Catseye
Member
 
Catseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 531
Reputation power: 8
Catseye is a jewel in the roughCatseye is a jewel in the roughCatseye is a jewel in the roughCatseye is a jewel in the roughCatseye is a jewel in the roughCatseye is a jewel in the roughCatseye is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sokol1_br View Post
We are forgetting one thing, the main reason in use P-8 Compass is for calibrate DG (DI) and secondarily set a course, so the big question is: DG(DI) became uncalibrated?

For what I test, after a series of rolls, looping, high G breaking, inverted flight, very little difference between DG and compass reading (in CloD the DG went crazy after the first maneuvers).

I conclude that don't worth worry with compass, just look at DG, clear visible middle of panel.



Just ask this guy for include Mk. IX there:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.mihaig.bf109

Interesting - my understanding is that the DG will go off settings when maneuvering hard and it requires checking the compass to reset the DG. It is possible that the DG is not working correctly at this time?
Catseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 06:48 PM   #17
DieHard
Senior Member
 
DieHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Near West Point, NY
Posts: 1,209
Reputation power: 11
DieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sokol1_br View Post
By modify a snap view and you have fast and practical access. Although a toggle view will be more practical in flight.


This view allow set "Red on red" calibrate DG and set altimeter.

But normally you don't use the compass to navigate - unless learn read their scale inverted.
Use for calibrate DI (DG).

My snap-view is almost the same as Sokol's.

If you need mapping coordinates, just ask.

I just remapped my setup from 1.5.7 to 2.1.1 by just inputting the same SnapViews.lua under Saved Games by inputting same manually using Notepad++ .
__________________
DieHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 02:09 AM   #18
DieHard
Senior Member
 
DieHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Near West Point, NY
Posts: 1,209
Reputation power: 11
DieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really niceDieHard is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 56RAF_Talisman View Post
Thanks for posting )

I am using TIR so not using snap views. Are snap views possible with TIR? I hope it is not anything ultra complicated to set up; as a customer, I don't want to be going in and changing files on the c drive. It would be much better to have the compass view catered for as a toggle as it is in rather a difficult positon for a PC pilot to access in flight.

No idea how you have achieved this view to be flashed up for use whilst in flight, how is this possible?

So, looks like you are heading 220, correct?

Thanks again.

56RAF_Talisman
YES!

I map 2 keys on my CH Products Fighterstick :

One to Pause Track-IR and another one to re-center its position.

Then I mapped a joystick button for a glance view to my Pro Throttle using a Snap View.

Interesting thing is, in 2.1.1 is almost impossible to get that view. I took the Snap View coordinates from my 1.5.7 setup, then inputted it manually using Notepad++ . Then copied my SnapViews.lua and stashed it in my My Documents under my Spitfire saves for backup.
__________________
DieHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 07:45 AM   #19
Screamadelica
Member
 
Screamadelica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Posts: 163
Reputation power: 5
Screamadelica is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieHard View Post
If you can find a new one:

Get yourself a Logitech G510 keyboard with its 3 modes of 18 each mode programmable G-keys.

That's what I use.
Great keyboard that one. Use it myself.
The three sets of macros make it handy for switching between flight sims, and is perfect for all those radio commands.
Highly recommended.
Screamadelica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:12 AM   #20
Zilch
Member
 
Zilch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 336
Reputation power: 7
Zilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really niceZilch is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Screamadelica View Post
Great keyboard that one. Use it myself.
The three sets of macros make it handy for switching between flight sims, and is perfect for all those radio commands.
Highly recommended.
In case anyone is in love with their keyboard but still wants highly customized binds, I *highly* recommend the Logitech G13. Hell, I'd recommend it to any gamer of any genre. Hell, any PC user. It's really top notch especially at that price point. Pretty handy for every single DCS module.
__________________

Zilch79's YouTube Channel:
A-10C Guides
F-15C Guides
F-5 Engagements
My Cheap and Easy Sim Cockpit
Zilch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.