Are 2.5 release and 2.5(.1) basically the same now, only with updates lagging? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2018, 03:32 PM   #1
majapahit
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 755
Default Are 2.5 release and 2.5(.1) basically the same now, only with updates lagging?

Are 2.5 release and 2.5(.1) basically the same now, only with updates lagging?

If different I then would install a 2.5 release version also

If basically the same (for a while now) then why should I?

?
__________________
Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 16GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 40" 1080p TV | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:10 PM   #2
Eldur
Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by majapahit View Post
Are 2.5 release and 2.5(.1) basically the same now, only with updates lagging?
Exactly that is the case. No need to have a separate stable install.
__________________
Eldur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 04:50 PM   #3
Andy1966
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Delaware, usa
Posts: 318
Default

Hello, yes like Eldur said.

Also you can update to 2.5.1 from 2.5.0 or revert from 2.5.1 to 2.5.0 using the updater. see the post skatezilla made on the guides and toutorals section
Andy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 04:15 AM   #4
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,011
Default

I don’t understand the replies here. 2.5 release and 2.5.1 open beta most definitely are different.
2.5 is the ‘stable release’, and 2.5.1 is the beta we are reporting bugs on.
If you want a ‘stable release’, then you do need a separate install from the beta.
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 04:25 AM   #5
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,035
Default

The two builds are just close together at the moment in development, hopefully this will change soon moving forward. If you need to switch versions to the beta for the coming hornet and don't want two separate installs because of room etc.

You can switch any DCS build back and forth to any build, I have made a post HERE with pictures explaining all the different methods to do this.
__________________

i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero MB | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3466Mhz | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe
500G SSD | 2 X Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | Fractal Design R5 Case

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library. Awesome PDF guides for getting up to speed with aircraft quickly and great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing.

David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 04:20 AM   #6
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,011
Default

The release and OB builds are always close together. Usually, the OB build is released and if no major issues are reported then in a couple of weeks, that becomes the release version.
Nothing is different to the norm at the moment.
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 04:27 AM   #7
BlacleyCole
Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 664
Default

How do you update a stable version to an open beta I tried everything short of downloading open beta from the web sir]te to include the update link in the start menu and thru skatezilla’s app

I looked for beta update checkboxes but couldn’t find it
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram
Oculus Rift with \LeapMotion.
pro Flight Trainer Puma helicopter controls and VKB Gladiator II and pedals GameTrix JetSeat, TM WartHog HOTAS and speedmaster Flight
Kneeboard maker
Voice attack with Viacom pro plugin
Sim Shaker for aviators
Wanted:
VKB Gunfighter2 Pro with Modern Combat Grip Pro and extension and VKB Twin Engine Control System
BlacleyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 04:57 AM   #8
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlacleyCole View Post
How do you update a stable version to an open beta I tried everything short of downloading open beta from the web sir]te to include the update link in the start menu and thru skatezilla’s app

I looked for beta update checkboxes but couldn’t find it
BlacleyCole,

I have made a post HERE with pictures explaining ALL the different methods to change DCS Versions. It's under the advanced option in SkateZilla's Updater Utility see picture here.
__________________

i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero MB | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3466Mhz | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe
500G SSD | 2 X Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | Fractal Design R5 Case

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library. Awesome PDF guides for getting up to speed with aircraft quickly and great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing.


Last edited by David OC; 05-22-2018 at 05:00 AM.
David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 08:31 AM   #9
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by majapahit View Post
Are 2.5 release and 2.5(.1) basically the same now, only with updates lagging?

If different I then would install a 2.5 release version also

If basically the same (for a while now) then why should I?

?
The two versions are 2.5.0 (Release) and 2.5.1 Beta. They are definitely different, which is precisely what the version numbers denote. If you mine a little deeper, you can see that even more version numbers are tacked onto the end of 2.5.* which denote exactly which build you are using. The third digit will only really change with a major change. The devil is always in the detail.
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:14 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.