Stennis carrier netcode needs improvement - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2019, 05:12 AM   #11
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper2097 View Post
Sorry, I don't want to be salty, but DCS really needs to get their homework done.
What do you think the reason in offering an Open Beta version of DCS World is for? It is for just this type of issue. If you don't want to supply tracks, that is fine, but don't report issues either, we know there are issues, but having more data is better than less.

This report was on a specific issue, related to the Carrier, of course, a track, and in this case, a Server and client(s) track would be appreciated. As I have said many times before, we appreciate all those that take the time to test and report, but if it's not your thing, then that is fine as well, but please don't come dump on the process. When it comes to MP, there are soooo many more variables.

So before anyone else posts, this is a bug report, unless you have something to add to this specific issue, such as tracks, please don't muddy up the waters.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 07:27 AM   #12
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post

So before anyone else posts, this is a bug report, unless you have something to add to this specific issue, such as tracks, please don't muddy up the waters.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 02:06 PM   #13
IceFire
Member
 
IceFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central US
Posts: 269
Default

I understand the need for a track file and I will certainly be getting you fellas very many here very soon from my own experiences. But I can tell you the following.

A. my server is run on a dedicated fiber 1gb/s up/down
B. regardless of ping it happens

Now I'm not gonna sit here and complain without a simple solution either.

Wanna know how you fix this? Code in an invulnerable state for say, 10 seconds upon spawn in. Like Super Mario Brothers of old. Warp all you want to, you will just pass right through everyone else with no harm done.
__________________


Matt "IceFire" Schuette
Commander Air Group
Virtual Carrier Air Wing Eleven
IceFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 02:09 PM   #14
nighthawk2174
Member
 
nighthawk2174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 191
Default

Or just for the whole time on the carrier really.
nighthawk2174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 02:22 PM   #15
IceFire
Member
 
IceFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central US
Posts: 269
Default

That wouldn't necessarily be a good thing, that removes the ability to kill people on the carrier if you want to and removes gameplay. 10 seconds is enough for the connection to stabilize I'd say.
__________________


Matt "IceFire" Schuette
Commander Air Group
Virtual Carrier Air Wing Eleven
IceFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 03:43 PM   #16
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,087
Default

That is a decent idea IceFire, not sure if ED has ever thought of that, I think one of the big reasons with the Stennis is also how parking works, it's just a hunch on my part of course, but because there is no real assigned parking, I wonder if that adds to the chaos when you have a number of aircraft spawning in at once.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 03:58 PM   #17
IceFire
Member
 
IceFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central US
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
That is a decent idea IceFire, not sure if ED has ever thought of that, I think one of the big reasons with the Stennis is also how parking works, it's just a hunch on my part of course, but because there is no real assigned parking, I wonder if that adds to the chaos when you have a number of aircraft spawning in at once.
Guarantee that it does.. I also attempted a workaround in the following post.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=247569

Posted tracks. If that trigger could be repaired the workaround would be viable until ED fixes the parking. It's a pain in the rump to trigger but it would absolutely work.
__________________


Matt "IceFire" Schuette
Commander Air Group
Virtual Carrier Air Wing Eleven
IceFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 08:20 AM   #18
Maverick87Shaka
Member
 
Maverick87Shaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Italy, Milano
Posts: 369
Default

I can confirm this is a common problem that we are facing both on our 24/ servers and on mission server that we use for our squadron training/custom mission.
When we are usual to do a mission for example we started with paused games, we need to pick only one slot per carrier at the "unpause" event, if we have already picked up all the slot on the carrier, and then we unpause the server, we're going to have this kind of "lags" between us almost 10/10 times, colliding each other and stuff like that.

For the turning carrier and falling down problem, based on my experience, seems also related to the carrier speed itself, much speed much "sliding" effects on the deck even with chocks in place, doesn't change anything :-(

Unfortunately I don't have the .trk at the moment, I'll try to collect it in the next mission since it's pretty common problem.
__________________
FlighRIG => CPU: RyZen 2700x | RAM: 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz running at 2600Mhz (Damn RyZen!) | GPU: nVIDIA RTX 2080 FE | OS Storage: SSD NVMe Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, DCS Storage: SSD SATAIII Crucial MX300 750GB | Device: VirPil T-50, ThrustMaster TWCS Throttle and Pedals, TrackHat, MFD Cougar.
Server => [ITA] Banshee | PersianConquest PvE | Live Map&Stats & [ITA] Banshee | Krasnodar - PvE
Maverick87Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 09:20 AM   #19
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,553
Default

I really really really would avoid using Pause on a server, it has a natural desync moment the server has to sort out quite quickly. Much better to load people in in an organised way.
  • Give people a cat to go to and have a person dedicated to the deck traffic and organise the load order.
  • If there are both Tomcat's and Hornets you need to sort the Tomcat's first due to their size.
  • Put the Tomcat's on the cats first, wings in oversweep until they are to be launched.
  • If a Hornet spawns in on an elevator, keep him there with the chocks on to force a spawn elsewhere. He is safe and out of the way.
  • If a Hornet spawns on a Cat move him, because it will bug the launch, they nosedive for some reason. Move them to the "street", lining up from behind Cat 2 at a slant so they can be taxied around.
  • Dont have the carrier turning whilst setting up cats and spawning in. if using a script to control it, establish it's wind over deck first.
  • Dont have more than 7kts wind in game for carrier ops. There's a sweet spot around there, any more and turning on deck becomes 'odd', causes the "vibrating RIO" and deck roll slippage to get very dangerous.
  • When the cats are filled, move Hornets specifically one at a time to behind their starting cat to release more space.


You can load way more folks into the Stennis than you think, enough for the largest of squadrons, but who would have guessed it, you need to be organised!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick87Shaka View Post
I can confirm this is a common problem that we are facing both on our 24/ servers and on mission server that we use for our squadron training/custom mission.
When we are usual to do a mission for example we started with paused games, we need to pick only one slot per carrier at the "unpause" event, if we have already picked up all the slot on the carrier, and then we unpause the server, we're going to have this kind of "lags" between us almost 10/10 times, colliding each other and stuff like that.

For the turning carrier and falling down problem, based on my experience, seems also related to the carrier speed itself, much speed much "sliding" effects on the deck even with chocks in place, doesn't change anything :-(

Unfortunately I don't have the .trk at the moment, I'll try to collect it in the next mission since it's pretty common problem.
__________________
Whilst some parrots may jabber,
"To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often". (W.Churchill)
=============================================
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 09:32 AM   #20
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,553
Default

Spawn immunity might be interesting, I'm not sure if they can do that simply, it seems to be these types of effects are global in nature. However I'd definitely like to see Statics having no collision model on the carrier. A lot of people are using them to fill the deck and that creates even more issues.


I dont think this has anything to do with netcode, netcode is global, it cares not where people are in the game. The issues stem from the modelling of wind over the deck and how the rolling carrier doesn't plant the object fast to the deck, but at a fixed position above the sea. I'm not sure how the Hornet is better than the Tomcat for staying still, but this is a factor of the very core of the game's physics design and the reason you get a story of stickiness to the deck when doing touch and goes. If ED create a sim that can handle some of these legacy issues, it will be a great day. For now, best to work around them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
That is a decent idea IceFire, not sure if ED has ever thought of that, I think one of the big reasons with the Stennis is also how parking works, it's just a hunch on my part of course, but because there is no real assigned parking, I wonder if that adds to the chaos when you have a number of aircraft spawning in at once.
__________________
Whilst some parrots may jabber,
"To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often". (W.Churchill)
=============================================
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.