Track replay is bugged... - Page 17 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2018, 08:45 AM   #161
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 632
Reputation power: 5
bbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagrat View Post
If you don't have wind in the mission it likely plays correct.
Thanx for the quick reply and the tips, but as mentioned before, even in missions without any wind a simple traffic pattern with the MiG-21 or Viggen doesn't replay correctly most of the time.

I'm lucky that the F-5 is my preferred plane because for some reason, regardless of the maneuvering involved, its tracks always replay correctly.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 08:54 AM   #162
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,281
Reputation power: 49
shagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrz View Post
Thanx for the quick reply and the tips, but as mentioned before, even in missions without any wind a simple traffic pattern with the MiG-21 or Viggen doesn't replay correctly most of the time.

I'm lucky that the F-5 is my preferred plane because for some reason, regardless of the maneuvering involved, its tracks always replay correctly.
Leathernecks ultra realistic dynamic tear & wear modeling? Your plane performs a tad bit different every time?
I recorded a quick demonstration in a Bf.109 yesterday (Win10 Game Recording feature... Shitty like hell) and used the Track to record the externals, directly after the flight, no problem there, either...
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.2GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat
TM HOTAS Warthog
custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |
a hand made UFC and an AHCP
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 02:08 PM   #163
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,319
Reputation power: 43
Ironhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to all
Default

Ran across this this morning: Minkonet 3D replay.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 02:41 PM   #164
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 632
Reputation power: 5
bbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the roughbbrz is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagrat View Post
Leathernecks ultra realistic dynamic tear & wear modeling? Your plane performs a tad bit different every time?
Nope. This has nothing to to with tear and wear. Fly a pattern in clear weather without wind with e.g. the MiG-21 and replay the flight just a single time.
(Never tried to replay a track twice if it doesn't resemble the actual flight).

Chances are that
a) the MiG crashes already during takeoff due to leaving the runway.
b) it does takeoff but during the final turn it grossly overshoots the centerline and lands a runway width or even more displaced in the dirt.
c) it does perform a flight without crashing with a similar track replayed as actually flown.

The L-39 replays do work rather reliable, like the F-5, but the L-39 is way too underpowered to be fun to fly for me.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 03:14 PM   #165
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,319
Reputation power: 43
Ironhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to allIronhand is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrz View Post
Nope. This has nothing to to with tear and wear. Fly a pattern in clear weather without wind with e.g. the MiG-21 and replay the flight just a single time.
(Never tried to replay a track twice if it doesn't resemble the actual flight).

Chances are that
a) the MiG crashes already during takeoff due to leaving the runway.
b) it does takeoff but during the final turn it grossly overshoots the centerline and lands a runway width or even more displaced in the dirt.
c) it does perform a flight without crashing with a similar track replayed as actually flown.

The L-39 replays do work rather reliable, like the F-5, but the L-39 is way too underpowered to be fun to fly for me.
The MiG-21 is an odd duck. Half the time, when you enter the cockpit, you roll slightly forward during a runway takeoff start and then stop. The replay never shows it happening, however. And, as you say, no MiG-21 track plays back correctly, regardless of how simple. Even a simple takeoff has errors by the time you reach rotation speed.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 05:07 PM   #166
Delta99
Member
 
Delta99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 187
Reputation power: 2
Delta99 will become famous soon enoughDelta99 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhand View Post
Ran across this this morning: Minkonet 3D replay.
Lots of games have this built in to their engine already and have for many years.
__________________
My Missions: Valley Patrol Mission :: Valley Escort Mission :: A2A Engagements
Delta99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 05:11 PM   #167
Delta99
Member
 
Delta99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 187
Reputation power: 2
Delta99 will become famous soon enoughDelta99 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrz View Post
As I've never used shadowplay, fraps etc. I have to ask; Is it possible to change views during the replay when using shadowplay etc.?

It doesn't make much sense if you fly e.g. a full aerobatic sequence from the VC and you can't replay it e.g. from an external view afterwards.
I usually record using OBS from my in-game perspective. Then if the track replay works at all I grab some external footage etc. But lately I can't even be bothered with even wasting my time as 99.9% of the time the track replay will not work reliably enough. Its just a waste of time trying.
__________________
My Missions: Valley Patrol Mission :: Valley Escort Mission :: A2A Engagements
Delta99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 07:06 PM   #168
WytchCrypt
Junior Member
 
WytchCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: South Puget Sound WA
Posts: 54
Reputation power: 1
WytchCrypt is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WytchCrypt View Post
I tested FC2 and even simple, short missions (perfectly lined up 5Km away from carrier landing, perfectly lined up runway rocket attack, etc) played back wrong. Even without time compression or unusual weather, same thing. Sometimes the exact same track played back correctly once and then incorrectly the next try...maddening.
Wanted to follow up something interesting I've noticed, this is specific to FC2 though it may also have carried through to DCS. I've been testing track recording on a very simple mission with an Su33 and the Kuznetsov, no AI units in the mission.

1) Simple mission with Su33 beginning in the air, already lined up with carrier and landing: Track recording incorrect virtually 100% of the time...successful traps consistently become the Su33 lined up about 10 meters wide of the carrier.

2) Same mission as above but with AI rather than player assigned to Su33: Track recording correct 100% of the time. Time acceleration makes no difference, track always records properly.

3) Player controlled Su33 takes off from land base and then lands on carrier: Track recording correct 100% of the time! Time acceleration and extreme control inputs have no negative effects on recorded track.

I haven't tested every possible thing obviously, but it sure seems that carrier traps from a player controlled land base record much better than traps beginning in the air.

Also, it's been said the development team uses tracks as a debugging tool. Since incorrect tracks seem to have begun in the first FC release, the team has likely spent hundreds of hours dealing with this and it would be incredibly helpful if someone from the development team could share their experiences on what things make the track recordings inaccurate
__________________
MSI GT72VR Dominator: i7-7700HQ, 16GB Ram, 128GB SATA SSD + 1TB HD, Nvidia GTX1070 8GB, Windows 10, CH Eclipse...
WytchCrypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 11:19 PM   #169
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,281
Reputation power: 49
shagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to all
Default

The recording likely isn't inaccurate, the replay seems to cause erratic results.

This is not about being pedantic, but an important fact to understand, where the root cause is located. When playing back the system tries to replicate the exact same inputs and controls... That is where something changes the result in the sim, it seems.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.2GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat
TM HOTAS Warthog
custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |
a hand made UFC and an AHCP
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 01:10 AM   #170
WytchCrypt
Junior Member
 
WytchCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: South Puget Sound WA
Posts: 54
Reputation power: 1
WytchCrypt is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagrat View Post
This is not about being pedantic, but an important fact to understand, where the root cause is located. When playing back the system tries to replicate the exact same inputs and controls... That is where something changes the result in the sim, it seems.
Ya, you're right. I was just hoping that by trying many different approaches I could make some sense out of why a track goes bad to know how to work around it. I was just messing with this more today and while I'm sure it's not the magic bullet, it definitely seems my replays are more likely to be inaccurate if I start the mission in the air rather than taking off from a land based airfield
__________________
MSI GT72VR Dominator: i7-7700HQ, 16GB Ram, 128GB SATA SSD + 1TB HD, Nvidia GTX1070 8GB, Windows 10, CH Eclipse...
WytchCrypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:06 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.